SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with errors.

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Jake_teh_fox
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:43 am

SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with errors.

Unread postby Jake_teh_fox » Thu Jun 14, 2012 6:35 pm

When I record video from the side panels with mediarecorder on my SGI o2, only a tiny portion is encoded when done recording and I get this error:

"Cannot map buffer for image conversion.
DM_IMAGE_COMPRESSION"

I'm using SGI JPEG, 30fps, full NTSC.

I'm using it on a 175mhz r10k with 128mb RAM and IRIX 6.5.30 btw, and it encodes fine for a sec or 2.

diegel
Posts: 302
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with error

Unread postby diegel » Thu Jun 14, 2012 11:59 pm

That's what I wrote in your other thread. If I remember correctly, I have seen the the same error when I tried this with Irix 6.5.30. It works for me with Irix 6.5.22, but I also have 1GB RAM installed.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

Jake_teh_fox
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:43 am

Re: SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with error

Unread postby Jake_teh_fox » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:52 am

diegel wrote:That's what I wrote in your other thread. If I remember correctly, I have seen the the same error when I tried this with Irix 6.5.30. It works for me with Irix 6.5.22, but I also have 1GB RAM installed.

I just downgraded to 6.5.15 and it's still crapping out with the same settings....I'd put more ram in it but all the ram on eBay is so expensive.

SAQ
Posts: 5771
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with error

Unread postby SAQ » Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:52 am

I know that I've heard 150MHz R10k had video capture issues, and I have a lingering suspicion that 175 might have as well.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3044
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with error

Unread postby josehill » Fri Oct 12, 2012 8:39 am

SAQ wrote:I know that I've heard 150MHz R10k had video capture issues, and I have a lingering suspicion that 175 might have as well.

It's been a long time, but that's my recollection, too. IIRC, for the R10k, 195 MHz was the minimum workable configuration.

User avatar
canavan
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:19 am

Re: SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with error

Unread postby canavan » Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:37 am

Indeed, the 195MHz is the minimum for an R10k O2 to reliably capture video, according to e.g. Alexis Cousein:
http://groups.google.com/group/comp.sys ... 093dbed7b0

I think I still have a spare 195MHz CPU somewhere in a drawer, you can have it for 10 EUR plus shipping from germany...

SAQ
Posts: 5771
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with error

Unread postby SAQ » Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:18 am

canavan wrote:Indeed, the 195MHz is the minimum for an R10k O2 to reliably capture video, according to e.g. Alexis Cousein:
http://groups.google.com/group/comp.sys ... 093dbed7b0

I think I still have a spare 195MHz CPU somewhere in a drawer, you can have it for 10 EUR plus shipping from germany...



Note that I'm not saying that the CPU is definitely the problem here, just that it's pointless to spend a lot of time troubleshooting an error on something that's known not to work anyway. He may still need to mess around with it even after upgrading.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5312
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: SGI o2 only capturing a tiny portion of video with error

Unread postby recondas » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:05 pm

A couple of years ago kshcsuf created an alternative O2 video capture app called pjcap.

No specific mentions 175Mhz O2s, but pjcap seems to have been reasonably well-received at the time. At the time it was offered was I no longer using an O2 (so I can't offer personal experience).

The original d/l links look dead - but neko attached a copy to a post (on the second page): viewtopic.php?f=16&t=16722588
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest