Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 3:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:11 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Macungie, PA USA
Perhaps somebody can help?

I'm trying to build PHP 5.1.5 (also tried 5.2.0 with same result) and the configure is bombing on the MySQL stuff.

I have MySQL 4 built exactly like the mips4 neko package.

Here's all the info.

The MySQL sock is in the proper location, as is MySQL itself (/usr/nekoware/mysql4). Maybe someone can explain the problem?

Environment variables I'm using:
Code:
export CC=c99
export CFLAGS='-O3 -mips3 -I/usr/nekoware/include -OPT:Olimit=0:roundoff=3'
export CXXFLAGS=$CFLAGS
export CPPFLAGS='-I/usr/nekoware/include'
export CXX=CC
export F77=f77
export LDFLAGS='-L/usr/nekoware/lib -rpath /usr/nekoware/lib'
export PKG_CONFIG=/usr/nekoware/bin/pkg-config
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH='/usr/nekoware/lib/pkgconfig'
export PKG_CONFIG_LIBDIR='/usr/nekoware/lib'
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH='/usr/nekoware/lib'
export LD_LIBRARYN32_PATH='/usr/nekoware/lib'
export LD_LIBRARY64_PATH='/usr/nekoware/lib64'
export GNOME2_DIR='/usr/nekoware'
export GNUMAKE='/usr/nekoware/bin/make'
export PATH=/usr/nekoware/bin:$PATH
export PYTHONHOME=/usr/nekoware
export PYTHONPATH=/usr/nekoware/lib/python2.4
export PERL=/usr/nekoware/bin/perl     
export QTDIR=/usr/nekoware/qt4


Configure flags:
Code:
--prefix=/usr/nekoware/php5 \
--with-apxs2=/usr/nekoware/apache2/bin/apxs \
--disable-cgi \
--enable-tokenizer \
--enable-dio \
--enable-aggregate \
--enable-memory-limit \
--enable-dba=shared \
--enable-dbx \
--with-inifile \
--with-flatfile \
--enable-calendar \
--enable-bcmath \
--enable-shmop \
--enable-sysvshm=yes \
--enable-sysvsem=yes \
--enable-track-vars=yes \
--enable-url-includes \
--enable-memory-limit \
--enable-wddx \
--enable-soap=shared \
--with-config-file-path=/usr/nekoware/etc/php5 \
--with-libxml-dir=/usr/nekoware \
--with-expat-dir=/usr/nekoware \
--with-png-dir=/usr/nekoware \
--with-jpeg-dir=/usr/nekoware \
--with-freetype-dir=/usr/nekoware \
--with-zlib-dir=/usr/nekoware \
--with-zlib \
--with-curlwrappers \
--with-curl=shared,/usr/nekoware \
--with-openssl=shared,/usr/nekoware \
--with-mysql=shared,/usr/nekoware/mysql4 \
--with-mysql-sock=/usr/nekoware/var/run/mysql4 \
--enable-embedded-mysqli=shared \
--with-mysqli=shared,/usr/nekoware/mysql4/bin/mysql_config \
--with-pdo-mysql=shared,/usr/nekoware/mysql4 \
--with-bz2=shared,/usr/nekoware \
--with-iconv-dir=/usr/nekoware \
--enable-ftp=shared \
--enable-sockets=shared \
--with-gd=shared \
--enable-sqlite-utf8 \
--with-sqlite=shared \
--enable-exif=shared \
--enable-dbase=shared \
--enable-pcntl=shared \
--enable-mbstring=shared \
--with-gmp=shared,/usr/nekoware \
--with-db4=/usr/nekoware \
--with-gettext=shared,/usr/nekoware \
--with-ncurses=shared,/usr/nekoware \
--disable-xmlreader \
--disable-xmlwriter \
--with-xsl=shared,/usr/nekoware \
--enable-sigchild


The relevent configure output:
Code:
checking for MySQL support... yes, shared
checking for specified location of the MySQL UNIX socket... /usr/nekoware/var/run/mysql4
checking for MySQL UNIX socket location... /usr/nekoware/var/run/mysql4
checking for mysql_close in -lmysqlclient... no
checking for mysql_error in -lmysqlclient... no
configure: error: mysql configure failed. Please check config.log for more information.


The error in the configure.log:

Code:
configure:57767: checking for specified location of the MySQL UNIX socket
configure:57824: checking for MySQL UNIX socket location
configure:58014: checking for mysql_close in -lmysqlclient
configure:58033: c99 -o conftest -I/usr/include -O3 -mips3 -I/usr/nekoware/include -OPT:Olimit=0:roundoff=3 -I/usr/nekoware/include -D_XPG_IV -Wl,-rpath,/usr/nekoware/mysql4/lib/mysql -L/usr/nekoware/mysql4/lib/mysql -L/usr/lib -L/usr/nekoware/lib -L/usr/nekoware/lib -rpath /usr/nekoware/lib -Wl,-rpath,/usr/nekoware/lib -L/usr/nekoware/lib conftest.c -lmysqlclient  -ldb-4.3 -lz -lm  -lxml2 -lz -liconv -lm -lxml2 -lz -liconv -lm 1>&5
ld32: FATAL   12 : Expecting n32 objects: /usr/lib/crt1.o is o32.
configure: failed program was:
#line 58022 "configure"
#include "confdefs.h"
/* Override any gcc2 internal prototype to avoid an error.  */
/* We use char because int might match the return type of a gcc2
    builtin and then its argument prototype would still apply.  */
char mysql_close();

int main() {
mysql_close()
; return 0; }
configure:58254: checking for mysql_error in -lmysqlclient
configure:58273: c99 -o conftest -I/usr/include -O3 -mips3 -I/usr/nekoware/include -OPT:Olimit=0:roundoff=3 -I/usr/nekoware/include -D_XPG_IV -Wl,-rpath,/usr/nekoware/mysql4/lib/mysql -L/usr/nekoware/mysql4/lib/mysql -Wl,-rpath,/usr/nekoware/lib -L/usr/nekoware/lib -L/usr/lib -L/usr/nekoware/lib -L/usr/nekoware/lib -rpath /usr/nekoware/lib -Wl,-rpath,/usr/nekoware/lib -L/usr/nekoware/lib conftest.c -lmysqlclient  -ldb-4.3 -lz -lm  -lxml2 -lz -liconv -lm -lxml2 -lz -liconv -lm 1>&5
ld32: FATAL   12 : Expecting n32 objects: /usr/lib/crt1.o is o32.
configure: failed program was:
#line 58262 "configure"
#include "confdefs.h"
/* Override any gcc2 internal prototype to avoid an error.  */
/* We use char because int might match the return type of a gcc2
    builtin and then its argument prototype would still apply.  */
char mysql_error();

int main() {
mysql_error()
; return 0; }


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 3:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
Yep, I've run into this before:

Code:
ld32: FATAL   12 : Expecting n32 objects: /usr/lib/crt1.o is o32


Here is my fix:

Edit configure.in; find the following:

*mips*)
CPPFLAGS="$CPPFLAGS -D_XPG_IV";;

Change to:

*mips*)
CPPFLAGS="$CPPFLAGS -D_XPG_IV -L/usr/lib32";;

Afterward, rebuild 'configure' with 'buildconf --force'. You may need to edit the buildconf script to change the 'make' references to 'gmake' depending on how your paths are set up.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 3:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Posts: 2223
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
nekonoko wrote:
Yep, I've run into this before:
...

Afterward, rebuild 'configure' with 'buildconf --force'. You may need to edit the buildconf script to change the 'make' references to 'gmake' depending on how your paths are set up.


Rebuilding the configure only works when you already have the right versions auf autoconf/automake/bison/flex available. It also takes some time..... on our old machines.

I always edit the configure in thoses cases. The config log shows the exact line where the configure check was executed. I replace the line with a modified hardcoded string :)

regards
Joerg

_________________
http://www.irixworld.net
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:11 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Macungie, PA USA
Well, I have autoconf and bison installed already, but following nekonoko's advice yeilds this error:

Code:
root@INDIGO:/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0# ./buildconf --force
Forcing buildconf
using default Zend directory
buildconf: checking installation...
buildconf: autoconf version 2.59 (ok)
buildconf: Your version of autoconf likely contains buggy cache code.
           Running cvsclean for you.
           To avoid this, install autoconf-2.13.
make: file `build/build2.mk' line 32: Must be a separator (: or ::) for rules (bu39)
make: file `build/build2.mk' line 32: Syntax error
*** Error code 1 (bu21)


Perhaps I should follow joerg's advice and just edit the configure script?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
dkedrowitsch wrote:
Code:
make: file `build/build2.mk' line 32: Syntax error
*** Error code 1 (bu21)


Perhaps I should follow joerg's advice and just edit the configure script?


Yep, as I said, you may need to change 'make' to 'gmake' in the buildconf script. It's calling the system supplied 'make' which won't work.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Posts: 2223
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
dkedrowitsch wrote:
Well, I have autoconf and bison installed already, but following nekonoko's advice yeilds this error:


Be sure that you put /usr/nekoware/bin at first place in your $PATH when building stuff and as already say'd...you need the right ones[tm].

Same was true when try to build MYSQL from the bitkeeper.

regards
Joerg

_________________
http://www.irixworld.net
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:11 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Macungie, PA USA
Right, duh, I had to modify the buildconf script to use gmake. :)

Buildconf seems to be doing it's thing as we speek. Hopefully it doesn't bomb. 8)

As for putting nekoware first in my path, it's been done (see my environment variables at the top of the thread). I just copied them right from the relnotes (yours, joerg, if I recall correctly). But unless I rename gmake to make, it won't help I don't think. Or could I simply do alias make=gmake?

Quote:
It also takes some time..... on our old machines.


What are you saying, my 200MHz R4400 is slow? Maybe I just need some 8mm plug wires and a piece of plastic in the fan as a noise maker. Oh and a Type 'R' sticker. :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Posts: 2223
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
dkedrowitsch wrote:
Right, duh, I had to modify the buildconf script to use gmake. :)

Buildconf seems to be doing it's thing as we speek. Hopefully it doesn't bomb. 8)

As for putting nekoware first in my path, it's been done (see my environment variables at the top of the thread). I just copied them right from the relnotes (yours, joerg, if I recall correctly). But unless I rename gmake to make, it won't help I don't think. Or could I simply do alias make=gmake?


Hmmm... and how can it be happens that buildconf uses the wrong make? Ah... i remember :)

Code:
[o2k]:~ $ ll /usr/nekoware/bin/make
lrwxr-xr-x    1 root     sys           23 Juni 29  2005 /usr/nekoware/bin/make -> /usr/nekoware/bin/gmake



Our neko_make only comes with a gmake binary and i have created a symlink to it. This in combination with usr/nekoware/bin first in your $PATH will fix those problems.

regards
Joerg

_________________
http://www.irixworld.net
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 6:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5057
gnumake should always be named gmake.

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 6:29 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 5:10 am
Posts: 2931
Location: Maryland, USA
foetz wrote:
gnumake should always be named gmake.


On all platform! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5057
squeen wrote:
foetz wrote:
gnumake should always be named gmake.


On all platform! :D


and especially on those having a native, proprietary make already.

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 6:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:11 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Macungie, PA USA
Ok, configure finishes now and finds MySQL correctly.

New problem. :)

gmake runs for a while then rapidly chews up all my RAM (Indigo2 R4400 maxed out to 384 megs) and bombs.

Does it really need more RAM to compile or is something wrong? If it requires more RAM I'm screwed because these boxes won't take more then 384 megs.

Code:
/bin/sh /usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/libtool --silent --preserve-dup-deps --mode=compile c99 -Iext/date/lib -Iext/date/ -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/date/ -DPHP_ATOM_INC -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/include -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/main -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0 -I/usr/nekoware/include/libxml2 -I/usr/nekoware/include -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/date/lib -I/usr/nekoware/include/freetype2 -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/mbstring/oniguruma -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/mbstring/libmbfl -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/mbstring/libmbfl/mbfl -I/usr/nekoware/mysql4/include/mysql -I/usr/nekoware/include/ncurses -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/TSRM -I/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/Zend  -I/usr/nekoware/include -D_XPG_IV -L/usr/lib32  -I/usr/include -O3 -mips3 -I/usr/nekoware/include -OPT:Olimit=0:roundoff=3   -c /usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/date/lib/parse_date.c -o ext/date/lib/parse_date.lo
### Compiler Error in file /usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/date/lib/parse_date.c (user routine 'scan') during Global Optimization -- Dead Code Elimination phase:
### Out of memory in Allocate_Block
c99 INTERNAL ERROR:  /usr/lib32/cmplrs/be returned non-zero status 1
gmake: *** [ext/date/lib/parse_date.lo] Error 1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 7:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
dkedrowitsch wrote:
Ok, configure finishes now and finds MySQL correctly.

New problem. :)

gmake runs for a while then rapidly chews up all my RAM (Indigo2 R4400 maxed out to 384 megs) and bombs.

Does it really need more RAM to compile or is something wrong? If it requires more RAM I'm screwed because these boxes won't take more


You could try dropping the optimization down a bit (remove -OPT:Olimit=0:roundoff=3 from CFLAGS). That level of optimization can be very memory intensive.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:11 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Macungie, PA USA
Ok, I switched to -02 and removed -OPT:Olimit=0:roundoff=3.

Bummer, now I get:

Code:
"/usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/date/lib/parse_date.c": Warning: Olimit was exceeded on function scan; will not optimize.
        To optimize use -OPT:Olimit=0 (off) or -OPT:Olimit=33353

### Assertion failure at line 1951 of ../../be/cg/cgemit.cxx:
### Compiler Error in file /usr/people/dieter/php-5.2.0/ext/date/lib/parse_date.c during Assembly phase:
### branch offset 134784 doesn't fit; try recompiling with -CG:longbranch_limit=[try values smaller than 124000]
c99 INTERNAL ERROR:  /usr/lib32/cmplrs/be returned non-zero status 1
gmake: *** [ext/date/lib/parse_date.lo] Error 1


Isn't 02 supposed to use less RAM then 03? Maybe I can get away with 02 -OPT:Olimit=0?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 10:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:11 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Macungie, PA USA
--> UPDATE: <--

It's seems to be compiling fine with -O2 -OPT:Olimit=0. It didn't use nearly as much RAM (about 100 megs less) at the same spot where it would run out of memory before, and seems to be chugging along fine now. I'll check on it in the morning to see how it did (assuming it finishes by then).

How much of a performance hit, if any, should I expect when using -O2 rather then -O3?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group