Writing Games For IRIX?

IRIX/Nekoware development, porting and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
electrithm

Writing Games For IRIX?

Unread postby electrithm » Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:58 pm

Hi, I want to write games for IRIX, I know that SimCity 1989 was rewritten in Tcl/Tk for Unix workstations, but the languages I have experience in are Java, C#, and C/C++.

jimmer
Donor
Donor

Re: Writing Games For IRIX?

Unread postby jimmer » Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:39 am

And your question is?

TruHobbyist

Unread postby TruHobbyist » Sat Aug 06, 2016 3:27 am

I'm not a games developer but have done some compiling/porting to IRIX. Regarding programming languages/APIs, you have plenty of choices:

1. MIPSPro

MIPSPro compilers from SGI include at least Fortran, C/C++ and Pascal. You'd have to lookup exactly what versions of MIPSPro provide which compilers. The latest version is MIPSPro 7.4.4m and includes frontends for at least C/C++ (C89, C99) and Fortran (77, 90). Older versions of MIPSPro supported Pascal too (7.2.* ???).

A pic of the MIPSPro 7.4.4m CDs is attached.

2. GCC

To get started I'd recommend downloading gcc from nekoware and, if C/C++ is not enough for you, use it to compile any other frontend/version you need.

3. Java

Java 1.4.1_06 is the latest version available for IRIX. You can get it here. Again, if that's not enough for you, you can try compiling a much newer version. But beware Java is a huge project and compiling it yourself could take you many months of hard work. That's probably not what you want.

4. GL/OpenGL

The latest version for SGI/MIPS I am aware of is 1.2 (my Octane with V6) but my O2 and Indigo 2's are at 1.1. I'd recommend just sticking to 1.1.

5. SDL