Page 3 of 7

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 1:34 pm
by diegel
mapesdhs wrote:Btw, what's the difference between the pre and non-pre files? And is one better off using
the slightly newer glib? (which I'm assuming is built with MIPS Pro instead of gcc?)

I removed the non pre build now. The pre build is the faster one. You can use the glib of your choice gcc or mipspro. I will upload the packages to nekoware beta after I checked every package again.

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 2:32 pm
by mapesdhs
Ok thanks dude!! 8)

Presumably, from what else I've read, trying to port any significantly newer version is proving very difficult, yes?

I recently had to stop using my Fuel for internet banking, which was a shame (browser version too old, now blocked
by my bank), and it's become increasinly difficult to use the Fuel for eBay stuff (inevitably much more productive with
a 5GHz 2700K). Would be great if a newer version could be done some day.

Ian.

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 2:47 pm
by foetz
mapesdhs wrote:I recently had to stop using my Fuel for internet banking, which was a shame (browser version too old, now blocked
by my bank)

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-Us/firefo ... -switcher/

it's become increasinly difficult to use the Fuel for eBay stuff

yeah ebay got absolutely awful. which is even more ridiculous given that all ebay has to show is a couple of tables. the current ebay site is a nasty example of how to bloat a page up for no reason at all

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 6:40 pm
by hamei
foetz wrote:yeah ebay got absolutely awful. which is even more ridiculous given that all ebay has to show is a couple of tables. the current ebay site is a nasty example of how to bloat a page up for no reason at all

You should try taobao :( About a year ago it was fine but oh no, the children running these nitwit places just have to add jumping bunny rabbits, flashing stars, popup "would you like to super-size that?" crap &c &c ad infinitem.

It really makes you want to slap somebody ....

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 7:27 pm
by ClassicHasClass
I'd still like to take a shot at 3.6, at least, but my time is being consumed by TenFourFox (which has higher priority) and my Master's degree (which the job insists I finish). Perhaps I shall do this around the time my marriage to Scarlett Johansson is nigh.

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 3:48 am
by diegel
ClassicHasClass wrote:I'd still like to take a shot at 3.6, at least, but my time is being consumed by TenFourFox (which has higher priority) and my Master's degree (which the job insists I finish). Perhaps I shall do this around the time my marriage to Scarlett Johansson is nigh.


I can prepare a firefox3.6 patch for you. The only thing you have to do is debugging.

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 11:04 am
by ClassicHasClass
Details, details ;)

On the other hand no harm in generating the patch now, since nothing's happening on the 1.9.2 branch. The real money would be getting Fx4 up. Fx5 will be troublesome, I suspect, because it requires libxul (no more static or separate component libraries).

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 12:39 pm
by mapesdhs
Sounds like key elements keep changing with each release, so presumably something a lot more up to date like V35 is totally out of the question.

Edit: just updated an Indigo2 to your builds, diegel. One minor note, had to update sqlite3 first. I guess a few packages have been updated since I last checked.

Ian.

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 5:08 pm
by ClassicHasClass
You would not believe the amount of work getting it to still work on a Power Mac. And that's with the TenFourFox project being generally well regarded at Mozilla ...

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 6:57 pm
by hamei
ClassicHasClass wrote: ... that's with the TenFourFox project being generally well regarded at Mozilla ...

Is that like a thumbs-up from Forrest Gump ? :P

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 7:16 pm
by foetz
mapesdhs wrote:just updated an Indigo2 to your builds, diegel

so you're running a gtk2 firefox on an indigo :shock:
now that's brave :P

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 1:21 am
by vishnu
That's like rolling a bowling ball from the top of a hill with a smooth paved road that's got three inches of thickened molasses glommed onto it... 8-)

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 1:24 am
by Trippynet
foetz wrote:so you're running a gtk2 firefox on an indigo :shock:
now that's brave :P


It does run slow, I must admit. I usually try and stick with Dillo for web browsing on my Indigo2, but sometimes Dillo's rendering engine just won't cut it on certain pages. The latest FF3 build is at least much more on a par with the performance of SeaMonkey. Slow on an old R10000, but sometimes slow is better than nothing :)

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 3:04 am
by diegel
Trippynet wrote: Slow on an old R10000, but sometimes slow is better than nothing :)
When I remember the 90th with Internet backbone capacities of 2 mbit or less and dialin modems with 33,6kbit/s, compared with that even a ff3 running on an old R10000 is fast. With today's technology everything is much faster of course, but is it also better? Some days ago I used the web without noscript and adblocker with a current system and I was shocked about poor performance and the amount of advertising, I love entering a time capsule by using my old computers.

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 3:41 am
by mapesdhs
foetz wrote:so you're running a gtk2 firefox on an indigo :shock:
now that's brave :P


Ach it's not that bad given the CPU is only an R10K/195.

diegel, I hear ya on the modern web. I remember the early 90s at uni, fast(ish) net link, not really any advertising back then.

Ian.