Firefox3 rebuild

IRIX/Nekoware development, porting and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
diegel
Donor
Donor
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby diegel » Sun May 10, 2015 1:34 pm

mapesdhs wrote:Btw, what's the difference between the pre and non-pre files? And is one better off using
the slightly newer glib? (which I'm assuming is built with MIPS Pro instead of gcc?)

I removed the non pre build now. The pre build is the faster one. You can use the glib of your choice gcc or mipspro. I will upload the packages to nekoware beta after I checked every package again.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2513
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby mapesdhs » Sun May 10, 2015 2:32 pm

Ok thanks dude!! 8)

Presumably, from what else I've read, trying to port any significantly newer version is proving very difficult, yes?

I recently had to stop using my Fuel for internet banking, which was a shame (browser version too old, now blocked
by my bank), and it's become increasinly difficult to use the Fuel for eBay stuff (inevitably much more productive with
a 5GHz 2700K). Would be great if a newer version could be done some day.

Ian.
I'm working on a charitable PC build for the Learn Engineering YouTube channel. Please PM/email/call if you'd like to contribute!
Donations of any kind of item I can sell to provide funds are also most welcome.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)7434 635 121

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6575
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby foetz » Sun May 10, 2015 2:47 pm

mapesdhs wrote:I recently had to stop using my Fuel for internet banking, which was a shame (browser version too old, now blocked
by my bank)

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-Us/firefo ... -switcher/

it's become increasinly difficult to use the Fuel for eBay stuff

yeah ebay got absolutely awful. which is even more ridiculous given that all ebay has to show is a couple of tables. the current ebay site is a nasty example of how to bloat a page up for no reason at all

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10433
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby hamei » Sun May 10, 2015 6:40 pm

foetz wrote:yeah ebay got absolutely awful. which is even more ridiculous given that all ebay has to show is a couple of tables. the current ebay site is a nasty example of how to bloat a page up for no reason at all

You should try taobao :( About a year ago it was fine but oh no, the children running these nitwit places just have to add jumping bunny rabbits, flashing stars, popup "would you like to super-size that?" crap &c &c ad infinitem.

It really makes you want to slap somebody ....
I spent a fortune on booze, birds, and fast cars ... the rest I just squandered

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2092
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun May 10, 2015 7:27 pm

I'd still like to take a shot at 3.6, at least, but my time is being consumed by TenFourFox (which has higher priority) and my Master's degree (which the job insists I finish). Perhaps I shall do this around the time my marriage to Scarlett Johansson is nigh.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

diegel
Donor
Donor
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby diegel » Mon May 11, 2015 3:48 am

ClassicHasClass wrote:I'd still like to take a shot at 3.6, at least, but my time is being consumed by TenFourFox (which has higher priority) and my Master's degree (which the job insists I finish). Perhaps I shall do this around the time my marriage to Scarlett Johansson is nigh.


I can prepare a firefox3.6 patch for you. The only thing you have to do is debugging.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2092
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon May 11, 2015 11:04 am

Details, details ;)

On the other hand no harm in generating the patch now, since nothing's happening on the 1.9.2 branch. The real money would be getting Fx4 up. Fx5 will be troublesome, I suspect, because it requires libxul (no more static or separate component libraries).
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2513
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon May 11, 2015 12:39 pm

Sounds like key elements keep changing with each release, so presumably something a lot more up to date like V35 is totally out of the question.

Edit: just updated an Indigo2 to your builds, diegel. One minor note, had to update sqlite3 first. I guess a few packages have been updated since I last checked.

Ian.
I'm working on a charitable PC build for the Learn Engineering YouTube channel. Please PM/email/call if you'd like to contribute!
Donations of any kind of item I can sell to provide funds are also most welcome.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)7434 635 121

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2092
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon May 11, 2015 5:08 pm

You would not believe the amount of work getting it to still work on a Power Mac. And that's with the TenFourFox project being generally well regarded at Mozilla ...
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10433
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby hamei » Mon May 11, 2015 6:57 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote: ... that's with the TenFourFox project being generally well regarded at Mozilla ...

Is that like a thumbs-up from Forrest Gump ? :P
I spent a fortune on booze, birds, and fast cars ... the rest I just squandered

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6575
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby foetz » Mon May 11, 2015 7:16 pm

mapesdhs wrote:just updated an Indigo2 to your builds, diegel

so you're running a gtk2 firefox on an indigo :shock:
now that's brave :P

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby vishnu » Tue May 12, 2015 1:21 am

That's like rolling a bowling ball from the top of a hill with a smooth paved road that's got three inches of thickened molasses glommed onto it... 8-)
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby Trippynet » Tue May 12, 2015 1:24 am

foetz wrote:so you're running a gtk2 firefox on an indigo :shock:
now that's brave :P


It does run slow, I must admit. I usually try and stick with Dillo for web browsing on my Indigo2, but sometimes Dillo's rendering engine just won't cut it on certain pages. The latest FF3 build is at least much more on a par with the performance of SeaMonkey. Slow on an old R10000, but sometimes slow is better than nothing :)
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

diegel
Donor
Donor
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby diegel » Tue May 12, 2015 3:04 am

Trippynet wrote: Slow on an old R10000, but sometimes slow is better than nothing :)
When I remember the 90th with Internet backbone capacities of 2 mbit or less and dialin modems with 33,6kbit/s, compared with that even a ff3 running on an old R10000 is fast. With today's technology everything is much faster of course, but is it also better? Some days ago I used the web without noscript and adblocker with a current system and I was shocked about poor performance and the amount of advertising, I love entering a time capsule by using my old computers.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2513
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Firefox3 rebuild

Unread postby mapesdhs » Tue May 12, 2015 3:41 am

foetz wrote:so you're running a gtk2 firefox on an indigo :shock:
now that's brave :P


Ach it's not that bad given the CPU is only an R10K/195.

diegel, I hear ya on the modern web. I remember the early 90s at uni, fast(ish) net link, not really any advertising back then.

Ian.


Return to “SGI: Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest