beta test: firefox3.0.19

IRIX/Nekoware development, porting and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10426
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby hamei » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:44 am

Here is maybe a slightly better clue than usual about what might be causing my std::bad alloc crashes :

Code: Select all

(firefox-bin:5637): Gtk-CRITICAL **: file gtkdnd.c: line 3044: assertion `GDK_IS_DRAG_CONTEXT (context)' failed
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::bad_alloc'
  what():  std::bad_alloc
moz_run_program[36]: 5637 Abort

And then again, it could just be a false pregnancy ....

btw, it wasn't doing anything when this happened. I was outside walking, getting a little air and patrolling the block in case there were any dangerously weak bra straps that might fail and hurt some inocent bystanders. When I got back, Fireflop had left the building.

diegel
Donor
Donor
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby diegel » Mon Jul 01, 2013 1:22 am

hamei wrote:Here is maybe a slightly better clue than usual about what might be causing my std::bad alloc crashes :

Code: Select all

(firefox-bin:5637): Gtk-CRITICAL **: file gtkdnd.c: line 3044: assertion `GDK_IS_DRAG_CONTEXT (context)' failed
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::bad_alloc'
  what():  std::bad_alloc
moz_run_program[36]: 5637 Abort
Does anyone else have ever seen this kind of error? I use firefox3 every day, in rare cases I see a bus error, but I have never seen a bad_alloc crash.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6466
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby foetz » Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:34 am

do you have multiple versions of gtk or related programs installed by any chance?

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10426
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby hamei » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:22 pm

foetz wrote:do you have multiple versions of gtk or related programs installed by any chance?

gtk1 and gtk2 ... that should not be a problem tho ?

User avatar
thegoldbug
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: AZ, hot like Crematoria
Contact:

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby thegoldbug » Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Thanks for all the hard work getting Firefox 3 working.
thegoldbug
:ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :OnyxR: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :320: :320: :320: :320: :Indy: x5 :Indy: x2 :1600SW: x5 :Indigo: x7
Vault L, 6-1200s, Fibre Hub, Dials, Boards, spares, 3 Sun Blade 2000s, Sun Fire V480, 2-Hero 2000 Robots, 5-Hero 1 Robots

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6466
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby foetz » Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:34 am

hamei wrote:
foetz wrote:do you have multiple versions of gtk or related programs installed by any chance?

gtk1 and gtk2 ... that should not be a problem tho ?


yup that's fine as long as only one of each major version is in the paths

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1910
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Tier 3 ports: heaven forbid we should help you any

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Jul 14, 2013 1:21 pm

On a somewhat related point, this is the typical attitude I get from Mozilla on stuff that doesn't benefit Tier-1 or -2 ports:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=881882#c16
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10426
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Tier 3 ports: heaven forbid we should help you any

Unread postby hamei » Sun Jul 14, 2013 8:25 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=881882#c16

We have to face facts, Classy - Mozilla is nothing but a group of worthless loser assholes. If they caught fire, I wouldn't walk across the street to piss on them. End of story.

Concerning the std::bad_alloc crashes, they seem to have gone away. I upped glib, pixman and gtk2. Pixman probably didn't matter, glib maybe. The gtk2 to 2.13.2 made an improvement in the appearance and seems to have stopped most of the crashes I was getting.
all the leaves are brown and the sky is grey ...

diegel
Donor
Donor
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Tier 3 ports: heaven forbid we should help you any

Unread postby diegel » Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:22 pm

hamei wrote: Mozilla is nothing but a group of worthless loser assholes. If they caught fire, I wouldn't walk across the street to piss on them. End of story..
If you don't like it, don't use it. If you know better, make it better. If you can't make it better, who the wothless looser?
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10426
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Tier 3 ports: heaven forbid we should help you any

Unread postby hamei » Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:11 am

diegel wrote:If you don't like it, don't use it. If you know better, make it better. If you can't make it better, who the wothless looser?

Denial is not just a river in Egypt :D
all the leaves are brown and the sky is grey ...

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1910
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Jul 16, 2013 6:38 am

I got some traction with that bug, finally. Maybe reviving a MIPS JIT might be possible at some point, but I'm doing PowerPC first.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4238
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby GeneratriX » Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:12 am

Works fine with IP30 / IRIX 6.5.30m, and it looks faster than FF2.

Now, I know maybe this is a dumb question because things like API recent changes and/or things like that... but... -anyone knows if it could be persuaded to work along with the NekoWare GNash?

All the best,
Diego

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10426
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby hamei » Wed Jul 24, 2013 6:03 pm

GeneratriX wrote: -anyone knows if it could be persuaded to work along with the NekoWare GNash?

I have no idea about gnash - it seems like most gnu projects, the children got bored with it and gave up - but I found the latest version of plugger, built it and installed. That works for a lot of helper applications. MPlayer, xpdf and some others work that I know of.
all the leaves are brown and the sky is grey ...

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4238
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby GeneratriX » Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:23 pm

hamei wrote:I have no idea about gnash - it seems like most gnu projects, the children got bored with it and gave up -


:)

hamei wrote:but I found the latest version of plugger, built it and installed. That works for a lot of helper applications. MPlayer, xpdf and some others work that I know of.


Good point, Hamei. I was not awared of Plugger. Are you talking about this plugger, right? I'll give it a try with MIPSPRO to see if the build works here too.

I guess the problem with Flash/ShockWave will be something harder to solve... but I'm going to try some very dirty hacks with the old Macromedia and Nekoware GNash to see if it can be forced to work even if it only serves for older container versions.

Greetings!
Diego

Axatax
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida USA

Re: beta test: firefox3.0.19

Unread postby Axatax » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:18 pm

*Big* thanks for the work put into this. I've been enjoying FF 3 on my Octane for the past few days with no major issues --

One very minor problem I've found (and I'm not convinced it's necessarily from FF) is either the current or beta libpng will cause FF to constantly spew Gdk_pixbuf errors if using certain GTK2 themes (both GTK-Motif and Notif atleast have this problem, I haven't tried others).

I don't see this behavior in other GTK2 apps when either theme is used with a recent libpng, so I thought i'd mention it here. The problem seems FF-specific. Downgrading to libpng-1.2.29 from the archives clears the issue up.

To reproduce --

Use the regular dynamically-linked neko FF3 with a recent neko_libpng and either of the above mentioned themes.
:Octane2: Dual R14K@600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 1x72GB HDD
:O2: R10K@175MHz, 512MB RAM, 1x72GB HDD
:Cube: 68040@33MHz, 128MB RAM, NeXTdimension 32MB, 2x 4.3GB HDD

...And lots of other UNIX-like systems for which there is no icon.


Return to “SGI: Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests