Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

IRIX/Nekoware development, porting and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
modology
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:22 am

Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby modology » Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:35 pm

WINE (Windows Emulator) is very popular emulator on linux (CEDEGA as commercialize version). I wonder whether WINE can be ported to IRIX so I play some PC games on IRIX?

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby nekonoko » Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:36 pm

WINE is not an emulator.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
ChristTrekker
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 4:37 pm

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby ChristTrekker » Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:41 pm

What nekonoko means is that WINE does not map x86 machine instructions to MIPS machine instructions, as emulators have to. WINE is essentially a free implementation of the Windows API. The machine-level instructions are the same, which means you still need a x86 CPU. As IRIX is MIPS-only, there can never be an IRIX port of WINE.
Principle Over Politics : http://www.ConstitutionParty.org

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby porter » Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:06 pm

ChristTrekker wrote:As IRIX is MIPS-only, there can never be an IRIX port of WINE.


Not technically true, what you would need to find are MIPS compiled Win32 programs.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby guardian452 » Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:32 pm

if you need win32 on irix try a windows machine in bochs.

User avatar
modology
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:22 am

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby modology » Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:56 pm

has anyone attempted to run PC games with bochs before? How's the speed and performance of win32 apps in bochs?

User avatar
ShadeOfBlue
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:09 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby ShadeOfBlue » Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:47 am

modology wrote:has anyone attempted to run PC games with bochs before? How's the speed and performance of win32 apps in bochs?

About the same as that of an upturned quadriplegic turtle.

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby guardian452 » Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:28 am

solitare would do pretty good if you go into the options and turn on 'outline dragging'. what more do you need?

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4881
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby jan-jaap » Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:52 am

sybrfreq wrote:solitare would do pretty good if you go into the options and turn on 'outline dragging'. what more do you need?

How 'bout a native IRIX version of Solitaire :mrgreen:
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby recondas » Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:24 am

jan-jaap wrote:How 'bout a native IRIX version of Solitaire :mrgreen:

The only SGI Freeware app I still bother to install is XPat2.......
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
VenomousPinecone
Posts: 2141
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 2:10 pm
Location: Groom Lake, NV

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby VenomousPinecone » Fri Sep 26, 2008 1:12 pm

Hey, DOOM is all you need baby.

Besides, WINE and CEDEGA suck. Don't believe me? try and get STEAM with HL/2 working with WINE. Just use windows for your gaming and stop trying to be elitist. :P

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby guardian452 » Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:07 pm

hey now, quake3 is ok on the octane!

User avatar
maverickbna
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:21 pm
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby maverickbna » Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:00 pm

I need to find out more about this for when I get my Octane out here and my O2 set up.

What graphics options do you recommend for acceptable framerates in Q3A on an Octane? I haven't had the chance to set that system up and find out what graphics option it has, but I will as soon as I can afford to ship it out here from Seattle.

Thanks.
End of line.
:Octane: (SGI Octane, 175MHz R10000, 512MB RAM, hard disk pulled, will be working on further)
:O2: (SGI O2, 195MHz R10000, 384MB RAM, 4GB SCSI disk with IRIX 6.5)
:Indy: (SGI Indy, 150MHz R5000SC, 16MB RAM, two 4GB disks running IRIX 5.3)
:Indigo2IMP: (SGI Indigo2 Extreme, 200MHz R4400SC, 128MB RAM, 9GB disk with IRIX 6.5, will upgrade RAM, processor and graphics to MaximumIMPACT)

HP ProLiant DL360 G3 - dual Intel Xeon 2.8GHz, 2.5GB RAM, Ultra320 SCSI
Looking at obtaining more SGI hardware again!
Image
Image

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby guardian452 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:02 pm

I have a dual 195mhz with MXI and a gig of ram though the texture is a bit screwy ATM. Before it was damaged it had no trouble playing q3a. You need texture though. It does okay IIRC.

the indigo2impact has no trouble either according to youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9a_lto6tMds

User avatar
maverickbna
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:21 pm
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to port WINE to IRIX?

Unread postby maverickbna » Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:07 pm

Cool. What would you say about the O2's CRM graphics board on Q3?

The bragging rights about playing Quake III on an SGI system is rather impressive to me. 8-)
End of line.
:Octane: (SGI Octane, 175MHz R10000, 512MB RAM, hard disk pulled, will be working on further)
:O2: (SGI O2, 195MHz R10000, 384MB RAM, 4GB SCSI disk with IRIX 6.5)
:Indy: (SGI Indy, 150MHz R5000SC, 16MB RAM, two 4GB disks running IRIX 5.3)
:Indigo2IMP: (SGI Indigo2 Extreme, 200MHz R4400SC, 128MB RAM, 9GB disk with IRIX 6.5, will upgrade RAM, processor and graphics to MaximumIMPACT)

HP ProLiant DL360 G3 - dual Intel Xeon 2.8GHz, 2.5GB RAM, Ultra320 SCSI
Looking at obtaining more SGI hardware again!
Image
Image


Return to “SGI: Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest