Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:03 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 12:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Posts: 229
Location: Hamburg, Germany
I just uploaded a new version (may2012) of my mozilla builds to incoming, they will show up in beta soon. What changed: It's still a -O3 build, but zlib and libimg are compiled with -O2 to avoid broken code. The javascript library is build with gcc -O3 to get a better result than previous builds with c99 -O1. I removed my sqlite3 fix in run-mozilla.sh, because of problems with helper applications. Release notes and patch are updated.
The result is noticeable faster than the current build and it is also more stable. Please test it and give feedback.

_________________
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 1:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9612
diegel wrote:
The result is noticeable faster than the current build and it is also more stable. Please test it and give feedback.

So far so good on the firefox version. Only have a few hours on it but at least there is nothing obviously wrong. We'll round these injuns up and be back in tim


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 8:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 6:55 am
Posts: 127
Location: Czech Republic
Thanks again! I have had to use the fix to make it work. Now I'm testing the Firefox...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 11:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 6:55 am
Posts: 127
Location: Czech Republic
After one day of use I have had no problems with stability. I can confirm the speedup (O2 R10k/250, IRIX 6.6.27). Many thanks!

_________________
:O2: :Indy: :Indy:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9612
Two days use here, I'd say +1 for /current. Thanks, Mr Deigel sir.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 5:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9612
C'mon you cowards ! Must be more than just jirka and me willing to take a chance ! This update is definitely no worse than the previous versions and could be a bit better. It seems like a few less crashes per week, although that's hard to document. Give 'er a shot and report back, puh-lease !!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 1:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
Where is 'sqlite3ApiExit'?
I got this:

Code:
firefox
 2702:/usr/nekoware/lib/firefox-2.0.0.22pre/firefox-bin: rld: Error: unresolvable symbol in /usr/nekoware/lib/firefox-2.0.0.22pre/firefox-bin: sqlite3ApiExit
 2702:/usr/nekoware/lib/firefox-2.0.0.22pre/firefox-bin: rld: Fatal Error: this executable has unresolvable symbols


Code:
seamonkey
 2752:/usr/nekoware/lib/seamonkey-1.1.20pre/seamonkey-bin: rld: Error: unresolvable symbol in /usr/nekoware/lib/seamonkey-1.1.20pre/seamonkey-bin: sqlite3ApiExit
 2752:/usr/nekoware/lib/seamonkey-1.1.20pre/seamonkey-bin: rld: Fatal Error: this executable has unresolvable symbols


'sqlite3' from '/beta' is already installed.

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 2:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 5:19 am
Posts: 753
That may actually be the problem, it might work without any nekoware sqlite installed. try
Code:
(cd /tmp; _RLDN32_LIST=/usr/nekoware/lib/firefox-2.0.0.22pre/libsqlite3.so:/usr/lib32/libC.so:DEFAULT   /usr/nekoware/bin/firefox &)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 2:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5202
Location: NC - USA
I've also tested this build of Firefox without discovering any problems - please make mine vote #3 for promotion to /current.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 4:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
canavan wrote:
That may actually be the problem, it might work without any nekoware sqlite installed. try
Code:
(cd /tmp; _RLDN32_LIST=/usr/nekoware/lib/firefox-2.0.0.22pre/libsqlite3.so:/usr/lib32/libC.so:DEFAULT   /usr/nekoware/bin/firefox &)


Oh, good point. I'll try with it along next hours. I'll add a new line into the ToolChest considering that.
Thanks in advance!
Diego

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 10:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9612
GeneratriX wrote:
Oh, good point. I'll try with it along next hours.

Do you really need sqlite ? I don't use it for anything else so just ditched it. Easier :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 10:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
hamei wrote:
GeneratriX wrote:
Oh, good point. I'll try with it along next hours.

Do you really need sqlite ? I don't use it for anything else so just ditched it. Easier :D


I could not reply to that, even if my life depend on the exactness of such answer! :P
...I don't know ...with Nekoware I'm a bit radical ...I just install everything, as soon as some programme asks for it! I would say there is "something" installed on my system that asked for 'sqlite3' at some point and I just pleased it! :D

But I promise to try! :)

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 10:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9612
GeneratriX wrote:
...I don't know ...with Nekoware I'm a bit radical ...I just install everything ...

I used to tend that way but then we had a batch of bad software in /beta so now, unless I know I need it, forget it :P

It's easy to find out if you need it : just use swmgr to remove it. swmgr will give you a list of applications that require the one you want to ditch. If there's nothing in there that you love, out into the garbage with it !


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 11:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
hamei wrote:
I used to tend that way but then we had a batch of bad software in /beta so now, unless I know I need it, forget it :P


Yup, and with 2x 9.1GB at the Octane I could not go too far anyway...

hamei wrote:
It's easy to find out if you need it : just use swmgr to remove it. swmgr will give you a list of applications that require the one you want to ditch. If there's nothing in there that you love, out into the garbage with it !


Sure, I know 'swmgr' announces it and prevents for any disaster! :P ...I just delayed the reply because I'm not at the Octane right now, so, I can chat, but no IRIX close to try anything! :)

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 12:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 5:19 am
Posts: 753
I haven't had any problems since I uninstalled neko_sqlite3. I'd vote for /current if
Code:
incompat neko_sqlite3.sw.lib 0 3
was added to the rules of the packages. Then at least it's plain obvious that this combination just doesn't work.

I'd still prefer a rebuild that had its own installation directory in the linked-in RPATH before /usr/nekoware/lib.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: armanox and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group