Octane1 2x400 MHZ, 640MB RAM, EMXI card.

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

Octane1 2x400 MHZ, 640MB RAM, EMXI card.

Unread postby Intuition » Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:56 pm

Code: Select all

Octane 1# hinv
2 400 MHZ IP30 Processors
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.5
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 3.5
Main Memory Size: 640 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.3
Instruction cache size: 32 kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
I0C3/I0C4 serial port: tty1
I0C3/I0C4 serial port: tty2
I0C3 parallel port: EMXI
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1

Well here is the result of the Octane Fox gave for a generous price.

As per my last post it had a buggy dual r12k 400mhz that was intermittent.

Marshall sold me another 2x400 for a great price. It is solid. No more random "does it boot today" situations where I am reseating the processor. It is quite solid now.

The network wasn't working as one would predict but having learned how to set it up on the other o2s I went through the same process and it still wasn't coming up. For some reason, and I wouldn't assume it would make a difference, but the drive I bought off ebay had appletalk setup and apache_something in chkconfig set to "on".

I switched them to "off", went through the System manager network setup routines and... BAM... internet works.

BUT, I am posting from my win7 machine because.... look at how Nekochan looks using the Netscape on this Irix setup drive.

What I am attempting to do now is get Firefox going and to setup the machine with lots of Nekoware.

Currently the machine also says it has no video demon. So I can't run any desktop capture until I get the software setup to use the hardware correctly.

At the moment I have Lightwave 5.0, Maya 4.0, and i3d running. Though, if I could get my o2 networked to the Octane it has that backup directory that has tons of software in it. I could probably install from the o2.
Image O2 - 300mhz
Image O2 - 400mhz :1600SW: 1600sw
:Octane: 2x400mhz :O200: Origin 200 2x225mhz
aka Casey Christopher

Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Octane1 2x400 MHZ, 640MB RAM, EMXI card.

Unread postby JacquesT » Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:33 am

Nice and clean, you have a bonus in a Cherokee PSU so can pop in a V8 if you get one.

I have to do a clean install + nekoware as well but trying to sort out my vid card first.
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 2GB RAM, V8 graphics, 36GB 15K RPM HDD. Cherokee, XBow and HD fan mod. 6.5.26
:Octane: wip build - Currently 2xR10k 250Mhz, No RAM, SSE graphics, 18GB 15K RPM HDD. Lucent PSU,
Need a SCSI backplane fan shroud please!

User avatar
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane1 2x400 MHZ, 640MB RAM, EMXI card.

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:45 pm

Very nice! You're an Odyssey and XBow 1.4 away from having a stealth Octane2... :mrgreen:
Temporarily lost at sea...
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest