Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz (Now Quad 1GHz), 6GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz, 7GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:44 am

My upgrade for this machine is on it's way from the US.

According to FedEx, the package weighs 23 lbs (10.43Kgs) some of that mass is obviously the packaging but it appears that it's quite a bit heavier than a standard Quad 700/800MHz Tezro node board. (anyone who knows the actual difference in mass, please let me know)

I only bought the quad 1GHz node board in the pic and not the rest of the system:
s-l1600-44.jpg


I'm unfortunately not going to be able to fit the new node board into the machine for the next month or so (as I'm not currently in Cape Town), but I will certainly post an updated hinv once it's fitted.

A big thanks to mopar5150 who sold it to me!
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

JacquesT
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz, 7GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby JacquesT » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:16 pm

Good stuff! But does it run Firefox?! :roll: :mrgreen:
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 1GB, V8, 18Gb 10K & 36Gb 15K HDD, 6.5.30
:Octane: - 1xR12k 300Mhz, 384MB, SSE, 18Gb 10K HDD, 6.5.30
:O2: :1600SW: - 300Mhz R5200, 384MB, 36Gb 15K HDD, A/V, FPA, 4x CD-ROM, 6.5.30
"Ho Ho," Says the keeper of the beat.

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz, 7GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:11 pm

JacquesT wrote:Good stuff! But does it run Firefox?! :roll: :mrgreen:


No better than your O2 does, I'm afraid. :(

Buying stuff like this requires a certain level of insanity, of which I’m certainly guilty l suppose!

It would just be interesting to experience the highest performing “single node” IRIX machine that SGI had to offer, even though it’s insanity from a cost vs performance point of view. (in today’s terms, that is.)

The quad 700MHz setup is very nimble setup in SGI terms and I would suggest it as probably the best option for anyone here (it’s fast enough not to irritate you in the least), so it will be very interesting to see how this compares.

Still insanity though, but I love it. :mrgreen:
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz, 7GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:03 pm

As I've stated before, I plan to build this system up into a Flame system with all of the necessary peripherals over a period of time and once complete, it will be the only SGI machine that I run. (I plan on simply keeping the rest as examples)

I also plan on maybe installing some 3D software on it, as it's been years since I've done any 3D modelling.

Why retire all of the others, you may ask? They are all currently working examples and I at least want them retired in a working state, as running these machines is a risk, as they could blow up at any time. (Rather than trying to maintain a whole multitude of SGI machines, I can just focus on maintaining one.)

All the rest still interest me, so I will obviously be keeping them. (I generally don't sell anything, so every purchase I make is thought through carefully and I therefore never buy things that I don't intend keeping. It's a principal I live by.)

As far as I'm aware, the Tezro is a hardy machine which doesn't seem to suffer from much in the form of failures at the moment (someone please correct me if I'm wrong), and It's much more speedy than the other machines, so it simply wouldn't make any sense to run anything else really.

As far as internet connectivity goes, I'm personally not that concerned about being able to browse the web from my SGI machine, that's what the Mac Pro's for.

@Shutitalldown, why did you remove your post before I managed to finish posting this reply, as your post would have kept things in context?
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz, 7GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat May 05, 2018 8:01 am

I've just installed Flame 2008 on my Tezro, but help is needed to restore full desktop functionality and the process to go through regarding setting up the secondary drive as a Stone and installing the flexlm for the software.

IMG_3537.JPG
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2059
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz, 7GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby uunix » Sat May 05, 2018 8:11 am

chkconfig desktop on
chkconfig mediad on
chkconfig autofs on
chkconfig soundscheme on
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2059
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz, 7GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby uunix » Sat May 05, 2018 8:16 am

Also I suggest, editing .sgisession

Remove the 1 min screen saver (very annoying).
Remove the fact it launches a new terminal on each login.

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/bgpaste -t 56 56 56 $HOME/bin/res/irixBackground.sgi
#/usr/bin/X11/xset s 60
#/usr/bin/X11/xset c off
#/usr/bin/X11/xclock -update 1 -digital -fn '-*-haebfix-medium-r-normal-*-15-*-*-*-*-*-*-*' -geometry -15+15 &
#/usr/sbin/xwsh -geometry 80x14+145+42 &

# Map the windows and menu keys on a Windows keyboard
xmodmap -e "keycode 147 = Super_L"
xmodmap -e "keycode 148 = Super_R"
xmodmap -e "keycode 149 = Menu"
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz, 7GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat May 05, 2018 8:35 am

I've just managed to restore my desktop via the command "chkconfig desktop on" in the console:
IMG_3538.JPG

I just need to re enable the CDROM icon

EDIT:

I got the CDROM icon back!
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz (Now Quad 1GHz), 6GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat May 05, 2018 12:23 pm

The Flame software is licensed according to the licence manager.

I've copied "sw-licence" to /etc

I've set the secondary drive up as a data drive for flame

When I type in flame into "xwsh" I get this fatal error, what have I not done?

IMG_3539.JPG
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2059
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz (Now Quad 1GHz), 6GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby uunix » Sat May 05, 2018 1:19 pm

That error is not licence related, saying that your licence must go in /user/local/flexlm/licenses/

Sorry I was replying on my phone and couldn't see properly.

The error you have is because you haven’t installed inventor.

[Edit]
Actually, did you put your licence file in /user/local/flexlm/licenses/ ? Since Licence Manger will lie to you and say it's all OK, when it isn't.

Is your licence file called DL_license.dat ?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz (Now Quad 1GHz), 6GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat May 05, 2018 1:46 pm

uunix wrote:Actually, did you put your licence file in /user/local/flexlm/licenses/ ? Since Licence Manger will lie to you and say it's all OK, when it isn't.

Is your licence file called DL_license.dat ?


I put the license file in /user/local/flexlm/licenses/ and I called the file DL_license.dat.

When I installed IRIX there were some conflicts concerning inventor, and as a result, I didn't install those elements.

How can I get inventor installed correctly? (as this is more than likely the problem here then)
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2059
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz (Now Quad 1GHz), 6GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby uunix » Sat May 05, 2018 1:53 pm

Do you have libInventor.so.3 anywhere on the system?

Code: Select all

OCTANE04 13# find / -name libInventor.so.3 -print
/usr/lib/libInventor.so.3
/usr/lib/InventorDebug/libInventor.so.3
/usr/lib32/libInventor.so.3
/usr/lib32/InventorDebug/libInventor.so.3


If you don't, then you will have to sort those conflicts out and install it.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz (Now Quad 1GHz), 6GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat May 05, 2018 1:58 pm

I do indeed:

IMG_3540.JPG
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2059
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz (Now Quad 1GHz), 6GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby uunix » Sat May 05, 2018 2:04 pm

Copy it to /usr/lib64/
[edit]
Or create a soft link, there may be a few others you need.

Code: Select all

OCTANE04 28# ls libInventor*
libInventorXt.so@    libInventorXt.so.4   libInventor.so.3
libInventorXt.so.3   libInventor.so@
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Between Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Tezro Quad R16K 700MHz (Now Quad 1GHz), 6GB , V12, DCD, DM-3, 1GBe, USB, 2x Dual 2Gb FC, Dual Serial

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat May 05, 2018 2:15 pm

I copied it to /usr/lib64/ and there's no change.

EDIT:

I copied all of them to /usr/lib64 and there's still no change
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ................................... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image ... Image
Image ........................ Image
Image ........................ Image Image


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest