Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
ubiquityxx
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:38 pm

Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby ubiquityxx » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:25 am

Built a machine for diving back into Softimage. Mopar5150 set me up straight with all sorts of goodies. PCI cage is packed away until I need it. I found a deal on 8GB of original Kingston 2GB memory packs, unopened. Crazy lucky.

I've been configuring and fiddling all week. Soft runs wonderfully too - I'm very happy.
octane2.jpg

Code: Select all

Octane 1# hinv -vm
Location: /hw/node
      PM20400MHZ Board: barcode KWT789     part 030-1476-001 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15
            IP30 Board: barcode KSM290     part 030-1467-001 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15/pci/2
             FP1 Board: barcode KBK196     part 030-0891-003 rev  G
    PWR.SPPLY.ER Board: barcode AAE0210944 part 060-0035-002 rev  A
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/11
  ODY128VERSIONB Board: barcode LJZ302     part 030-1611-001 rev  C
2 400 MHZ IP30 Processors
Heart ASIC: Revision F
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.5
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 8192 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V12
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0005) PCI slot 3


Code: Select all

Octane 2# /usr/gfx/gfxinfo
Graphics board 0 is "ODYSSEY" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 1280x1024
        BUZZ version B.1
        PB&J version 1
        128MB memory
                Banks: 4, CAS latency: 3
         Monitor 0 type: DEL -24561
        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (1280x1024_60)
:Octane2: 2x400MHz 8GB V12 15K

User avatar
HurricaneJames
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby HurricaneJames » Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:19 am

Nice, you even have the book.
:320: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: Image

devv
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby devv » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:13 am

I bought the book for 3 EUR + shipping. There are relatively few around (used books), but are cheap.
In mine, the seller even missed to notice that the book does contain the original CD-Rom on the inside of the back cover, maybe that reduced the price, not sure.
(The CD-Rom was there but it was turned on the other side, seemingly appearing as if the sleeve was empty.)
Last edited by devv on Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
oOoO :Tezro: oOoO

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby Irinikus » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:41 am

That's one very neat Octane2 machine you've got there! :D

You were incredibly lucky to get the full complement of RAM for the machine, as I'm sure you know that the RAM for these machines is rare and usually very expensive!

Very Cool!
:Onyx2:Quad R14K 500MHz, IR3, DG5-8 :Tezro:Quad R16K 700MHz, 8MB, V12, DCD, DM3 :Octane2:Dual R14K 600MHz, PCI Card Cage, V12 :320:Dual 1GHz PIII
:O2:R12K 400MHz, DCD :Indigo:R4400SC 150MHz, ELAN :Indigo2:R4400SC 200MHz, Extreme :Indy:R4400SC 200MHz, XZ :Indy:R5000SC 150MHz, 24Bit XL.
SUN..................JavaStation-10 (Krups); XVR-4000.
|d|i|g|i|t|a|l|...AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Cray..................Cray1: Memory Module; Cray2: Memory Module (complete stack of eight boards) and a power supply module; Cray3: ECL Module.
Apple................G3 Clamshell; G4 Sawtooth; G4 Quicksilver; G4 Mirror Doors; G5; Mac Pro 2013 (Trash can); 27 inch Cinema Display.
IBM..................486 DX-4 100MHz, 32Mb RAM, Creative Soundblaster 16-Bit, 1.44 Mb Disk drive, Creative 4X CD-ROM, 520Mb HDD.

User avatar
ubiquityxx
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:38 pm

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby ubiquityxx » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:57 am

Super duper lucky - found the 8GB of RAM for $550 + tax on ebay.
:Octane2: 2x400MHz 8GB V12 15K

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby Irinikus » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:58 am

ubiquityxx wrote:Super duper lucky - found the 8GB of RAM for $550 + tax on ebay.

Very cool! :D
:Onyx2:Quad R14K 500MHz, IR3, DG5-8 :Tezro:Quad R16K 700MHz, 8MB, V12, DCD, DM3 :Octane2:Dual R14K 600MHz, PCI Card Cage, V12 :320:Dual 1GHz PIII
:O2:R12K 400MHz, DCD :Indigo:R4400SC 150MHz, ELAN :Indigo2:R4400SC 200MHz, Extreme :Indy:R4400SC 200MHz, XZ :Indy:R5000SC 150MHz, 24Bit XL.
SUN..................JavaStation-10 (Krups); XVR-4000.
|d|i|g|i|t|a|l|...AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Cray..................Cray1: Memory Module; Cray2: Memory Module (complete stack of eight boards) and a power supply module; Cray3: ECL Module.
Apple................G3 Clamshell; G4 Sawtooth; G4 Quicksilver; G4 Mirror Doors; G5; Mac Pro 2013 (Trash can); 27 inch Cinema Display.
IBM..................486 DX-4 100MHz, 32Mb RAM, Creative Soundblaster 16-Bit, 1.44 Mb Disk drive, Creative 4X CD-ROM, 520Mb HDD.

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby uunix » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:47 pm

That is a nice machine chap, one thing I haven't been able to manage is to max out my octanes memory. Good Show.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby Y888099 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:54 am

ubiquityxx wrote:Super duper lucky - found the 8GB of RAM for $550 + tax on ebay.


Thought it is unreasonably inflated.

So, what it the point of putting money euro in 8GB of ram for Octane?
Do you specifically need 8GB for something?

e.g.
my sweet dream was made of the perfect illusion of been able to find Ansys for IRIX.
Aiming for FEM on a middle complexity project might end consuming more than 5GB of ram.
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4881
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby jan-jaap » Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:46 am

That's a very nice looking Octane2, I'm sure you'll be very happy with it.

It's true that $550 for 8GB is a lot compared to current system RAM prices. It's also a fair amount of money period, which is why my Octane2 still has the 4GB RAM it came with.

Benefit of 8GB is debatable except for corner cases, and I don't think SoftImage is one of them because as far as I know it never was a 64bit application. But hey, if it came with only 512MB and you can put your hands on 8GB ...

New price in 2001, in EUR:

Code: Select all

HU-MEM2GB       2 GB Hauptspeicher             16.500      16.500

So 8GB is 66000 EUR ~ $77.600 (probably more in 2001 but I can't be bothered to look up historical exchange rates). So it depreciated by > 99% :mrgreen:
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
ubiquityxx
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:38 pm

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby ubiquityxx » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:44 pm

8GB is a lot - it was a bit of curiosity to max out the system and see how it performs. The system is exclusively a Softimage|3D machine and shader development machine. Considering the rarity of the RAM I may pull out 4GB and keep it as backup, or put it back on the market :). Mopar5150 gave me that sage advice; he also warned about taking out the mobo as with those connectors you run the risk of damaging them - hosing the machine.

As added protection against fault I have it running on a UPS with battery backup, just in case. From what I understand you fry the mobo, the rest (cpu and memory) go along with it - eeks!

The RAM price is ridiculous but consider they don't make it anymore (so no supply), it was ECC (enterprise use=excuse to markup), it was labeled as SGI Octane memory (another excuse to markup) and freaks like me are desperate to find it (demand=more markup). Quatro whammy right there which is why is costs so dag much. I got super duper lucky.

No matter - I'm happy :)
:Octane2: 2x400MHz 8GB V12 15K

User avatar
HurricaneJames
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby HurricaneJames » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:47 pm

I think I saw a dual 600mhz cpu on eBay the other day. If you risk taking out the mobo to reduce the ram, you can do an upgrade on the couch at the same time.
:320: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: Image

User avatar
Dalplex
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby Dalplex » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:52 pm

Does that CD-ROM come with 68pin connector?
:Indigo: :O2: :Octane: :Octane:

User avatar
ubiquityxx
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:38 pm

Re: Octane2, 2x400MHz, 8GB, VPro V12

Unread postby ubiquityxx » Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:09 pm

I believe the CD-ROM enclosure has 2 big ol' centronics 50 pin connectors. The cable goes from 50pin to high density 68pin.
:Octane2: 2x400MHz 8GB V12 15K


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest