Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
Knezzen
Donor
Donor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:51 am
Location: Sweden

Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Knezzen » Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:35 pm

Hi!

So this is my first ever SGI system. Never touched one before this one or used IRIX at all.
Pretty much a childhood dream coming true to own one, tough since I really wanted one back in the day, but they where just out of reach.

Some hinv output then:

Code: Select all

2 300 MHZ IP30 Processors
Heart ASIC: Revision F
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.3
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 256 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.3
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V6
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0005) PCI slot 3


RAM really needs to be upgraded from the 256mb currently in it.
It's an interesting machine. Have never been upgraded (except for me putting in a 146gb 15k RPM drive) to my knowledge and bought new by a school here in Sweden.
Still, it has the old Octane skins (with the full Silicon Graphics text), but Octane2 insides (PSU, motherboard etc).

Looking forward learning more about IRIX and really getting to put the Octane to some use :)
:Octane: Dual 300mhz R12k - 256mb RAM - 146GB 15k RPM HD - V6 Graphics

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby uunix » Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:40 pm

Nice, I'll have a look at the pile of memory I have at work and see if I can send you some.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Knezzen
Donor
Donor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:51 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Knezzen » Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:52 pm

uunix wrote:Nice, I'll have a look at the pile of memory I have at work and see if I can send you some.


That would be really kind of you! :D
:Octane: Dual 300mhz R12k - 256mb RAM - 146GB 15k RPM HD - V6 Graphics

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Krokodil » Sun Jun 05, 2016 4:52 pm

Welcome to the Octane owners club. A year ago I was like you, having never touched an SGI system or IRIX. Now I have three.

Your Octane is much like mine, except that I can't be bothered putting a V6 in it. Though I recommend it any who is able to do so. Since it seems to generate less heat than the IMPACT+TRAM stuff.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Knezzen
Donor
Donor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:51 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Knezzen » Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:32 pm

Thanks Krokodil!

I would like to get into editing video with it, but I have a hard time choosing which editing application to go with.
From what I understand Adobe Premiere exists for IRIX but is quite buggy, so I probably wont go with that.

Any suggestions?
:Octane: Dual 300mhz R12k - 256mb RAM - 146GB 15k RPM HD - V6 Graphics

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Krokodil » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:40 am

Knezzen wrote:Thanks Krokodil!

I would like to get into editing video with it, but I have a hard time choosing which editing application to go with.
From what I understand Adobe Premiere exists for IRIX but is quite buggy, so I probably wont go with that.

Any suggestions?


Also finding a copy of Premiere is difficult. Try to track down the relevant Discreet product somewhere. I understand those video editing tools are considered the very finest.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby uunix » Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:33 am

It may be worth you obtaining a 15k Disk (Ian Mapleson has plenty and does a lot of performance testing) and dual booting the system between Discreet and normal usage. The reason (given to me on good advice) is that Discreet products setup your system in such a way that affects lots of other accounts etc. Mine was a discreet system, and I purchased separate disks for dual booting. You will also need a StoneFS (Stone File System) for storing your video on. FC is possibly the best for this, I actually ran mine over a period with an internal disk and it could really only cope with PAL/NTSC, saying that, PAL/NTSC is fine for beginning.
I have the options to record 720 / 1080 from devices such as a PS/2, but do not get to use the other hardware like Genlocking & my recently acquired Sony VTR using BetaCam SP.
Oh and then of course there is the VBOB & DMEDIA, analogue to SD convertors, SD to HDMi, HDMi to SD.. it soon adds up. I may price my setup one day on what I paid for each item (excluding the stuff that I just never got working or was dud - it was a long learning curve for myself and I'm probably only 10% down the road of knowledge now), I'll guess it's about £1,500.
Of course you need to find Discreet products first.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Knezzen
Donor
Donor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:51 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Knezzen » Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:37 am

I actually have a spare 146GB 15k Seagate drive laying around. Might come in handy if I get my hands on some Discreet software. Seems to be hard to come by tough. A quick search on eBay didn't give me anything good back (except a Tezro way beyond my economy).

I was thinking of getting the footage onto the machine through my Mac using NFS, but I want to do the actual editing on the Octane.

Back to the actual machine. I took some pictures of it today. Pics or it.... something ;)
Attachments
IMG_3099.jpg
IMG_3101.jpg
IMG_3100.jpg
IMG_3097.jpg
IMG_3096.jpg
IMG_3103.jpg
:Octane: Dual 300mhz R12k - 256mb RAM - 146GB 15k RPM HD - V6 Graphics

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Krokodil » Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:56 pm

I also don't like using second hand hard drives. Always replace them with new ones.

I hope that monitor will work properly with the V6, but I have to say I'm doubtful.

Nice photos as well.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Knezzen
Donor
Donor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:51 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Knezzen » Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:32 am

The drive is new. It's a drive bought new as a spare for an old server at work, but never got any use. Same with the drive currently in the Octane.
They where going into the dump, so I thought I'd save them and put them to some good use :)

As for the monitor, no, the V6 doesn't support it's native resolution (1600x1200@60hz), so im stuck at 1280x1024 with it.
:Octane: Dual 300mhz R12k - 256mb RAM - 146GB 15k RPM HD - V6 Graphics

devv
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby devv » Tue Jun 07, 2016 2:29 pm

Yo, nice pictures. Looks like very clean skins too. When I got my first Octane back in 2008 that was awesome. Enjoy!
oOoO :Tezro: oOoO

User avatar
Knezzen
Donor
Donor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:51 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Knezzen » Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:33 am

Yes, it's a very tidy unit. Looks very clean :).

Im thinking of going with IRIX 6.5.22 instead of 6.5.30. Seems to have a bit more "candy" added to it in the way of software it comes with. My friends O2 running 6.5.22 came with way more fun demos and apps than the 6.5.30 install I have on the Octane. Seems to run Nekoware without any problems as well.

Any reason to go with 6.5.30 over 6.5.22 nowdays?
:Octane: Dual 300mhz R12k - 256mb RAM - 146GB 15k RPM HD - V6 Graphics

devv
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby devv » Thu Jun 09, 2016 2:26 am

Any reason to go with 6.5.30 over 6.5.22 nowdays?


Software patches, and hardware support, in case you got some PCI cards etc. that are non-standard but did get supported by Irix in later stages.
oOoO :Tezro: oOoO

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby recondas » Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:09 am

Knezzen wrote:Im thinking of going with IRIX 6.5.22 instead of 6.5.30. Seems to have a bit more "candy" added to it in the way of software it comes with. My friends O2 running 6.5.22 came with way more fun demos and apps than the 6.5.30 install I have on the Octane. Seems to run Nekoware without any problems as well.

Any reason to go with 6.5.30 over 6.5.22 nowdays?
For the record, that's not an either<->or situation.

You can have 6.5.30 *and* run software from earlier 6.5 releases. As SGI began it's decent into oblivion it began to remove some IRIX features. One was Impressario, the IRIX print/scan service. *If* you have access to a 6.5.22 (or earlier) install set, this post would show you how to restore Impressario.

Adding other missing or desired IRIX 6.5 bits like Display Postscript (read down a few posts), or the Performer Town demos or other not-intended-for-your-hardware demos would be a similar process.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
Knezzen
Donor
Donor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:51 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Octane | 2x300mhz R12k | 256mb RAM | V6

Unread postby Knezzen » Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:04 am

Hardware demos and Display Postscript is what Im missing the most. Will have a look tonight after work.

Thanks for the tip, recondas! :)
:Octane: Dual 300mhz R12k - 256mb RAM - 146GB 15k RPM HD - V6 Graphics


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests