Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
DaJuice
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 11:51 pm
Location: Arizona

Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby DaJuice » Thu Dec 24, 2015 6:55 pm

Ahoy. Finally getting around to posting hinv for this puppy.

DSC03576-crop.jpg


hinv -v

Code: Select all

2 600 MHZ IP30 Processors
Heart ASIC: Revision F
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.4
FPU: MIPS R14010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 3584 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 2)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  CDROM: unit 4 on SCSI controller 1
Integral SCSI controller 2: Version Fibre Channel QL2310, 33 MHz PCI
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V12
Graphics board: V12
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Gigabit Ethernet: eg0, PCI slot 2, firmware version 0.0.0
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0005) PCI slot 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x2300) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0009) PCI slot 2
Dual Channel Display
Dual Channel Display


/usr/gfx/gfxinfo -vv

Code: Select all

Graphics board 0 is "ODYSSEY" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 1280x1024
        BUZZ version B.1
        PB&J version 1
        128MB memory
                Banks: 4, CAS latency: 3
         Monitor 0 type: Unknown
        Dual Channel Display option
         Monitor 1 type: DEL 16405       Monitor 2 type: Unknown
        Input Sync: Voltage - Video Level; Source - Internal; Genlocked - False
        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (1280x1024_60)
         Video Format Flags:  (none)
         Sync Disabled
         Using Gamma Map 0
         Monitor Type:  DEL-16405
         Gain (all color components) - 0.000000 ; range [1,10]
Graphics board 1 is "ODYSSEY" graphics.
        Managed (":0.1") 2560x1024
        BUZZ version B.1
        PB&J version 1
        128MB memory
                Banks: 4, CAS latency: 3
         Monitor 0 type: Unknown
        Dual Channel Display option
         Monitor 1 type: Unknown         Monitor 2 type: Unknown
        Input Sync: Voltage - Video Level; Source - Internal; Genlocked - False
        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (2@1280x1024_60)
         Video Format Flags:  (none)
         Sync Disabled
         Using Gamma Map 0
         Monitor Type:  unknown
         Gain (all color components) - 0.000000 ; range [1,10]
        Channel 1:
         Origin = (1280,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (2@1280x1024_60)
         Video Format Flags:  (none)
         Sync Disabled
         Using Gamma Map 0
         Monitor Type:  unknown
         Gain (all color components) - 0.000000 ; range [1,10]


uname -aR

Code: Select all

IRIX64 Cobalt 6.5 6.5.28f 07010238 IP30


scsicontrol -i /dev/scsi/sc0d1l0

Code: Select all

/dev/scsi/sc0d1l0:  Disk          COMPAQ  BF07289BC4      HPB1
ANSI vers 3, ISO ver: 0, ECMA ver: 0; supports:  16bit synch linkedcmds cmdqueing
Device is  ready


scsicontrol -i /dev/scsi/sc0d2l0

Code: Select all

/dev/scsi/sc0d2l0:  Disk          MAXTOR  ATLAS15K_73SCA  DT60
ANSI vers 3, ISO ver: 0, ECMA ver: 0; supports:  16bit synch linkedcmds cmdqueing
Device is  ready


scsicontrol -i /dev/scsi/sc1d4l0

Code: Select all

/dev/scsi/sc1d4l0:  CD-ROM        PIONEER DVD-ROM DVD-305 1.03
ANSI vers 2, ISO ver: 0, ECMA ver: 0; supports:  synch
Device is  not ready


/sbin/diskpatch -v

Code: Select all

sc0d1l0:  Disk         COMPAQ  BF07289BC4      HPB1  Serial: DNA1P630
sc0d2l0:  Disk         MAXTOR  ATLAS15K_73SCA  DT60  Serial: C809Y3ZK

User avatar
Titox
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:13 am
Location: Spain

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby Titox » Fri Dec 25, 2015 1:27 am

BEAUTIFUUUUUUULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
Alberto (Between the TV and the sofa)
:Fuel: :Octane2: :1600SW: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo:
http://www.f3b.es
http://unixverse.blogspot.com

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby Trippynet » Fri Dec 25, 2015 2:40 am

Nice! That's a seriously maxed out (and very nice looking) Octane!
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

Jack Luminous
Donor
Donor
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:59 am
Location: PARIS

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby Jack Luminous » Fri Dec 25, 2015 3:43 am

Very nice !!! My Octane 2 with dual head is also named Cobalt. You copycat you !! 8-)
:Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4940
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby jan-jaap » Fri Dec 25, 2015 3:46 am

Nice Octane and a beautiful photo as well. Tripod & long exposure?
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
GL1zdA
Donor
Donor
Posts: 428
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby GL1zdA » Fri Dec 25, 2015 4:17 am

Serious power!
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Fuel: :540:

chicaneuk
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:48 am

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby chicaneuk » Fri Dec 25, 2015 4:24 am

That's a brute! Superb!

Would love to know what such a configuration would have cost from SGI back in the day when this was a new system. In fact I dread to think!
:Indigo: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Octane2: :O200:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby uunix » Fri Dec 25, 2015 11:35 am

Excellent Machine you have there. :D
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Dec 25, 2015 11:54 am

Two V12s each with a DCD! :shock: Do you actually run it with four monitors? Permanent fastfan?
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

DaJuice
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 11:51 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby DaJuice » Fri Dec 25, 2015 2:18 pm

Jack Luminous wrote:Very nice !!! My Octane 2 with dual head is also named Cobalt. You copycat you !! 8-)

Aw dangit, I had a feeling I wasn't being very original. The Fuel is named Radish, because the shade of red is so close to that. I couldn't come up with any blue foods other than blueberries so I looked at shades of blue, and cobalt seemed awfully close to the Octane2 skin. :P

jan-jaap wrote:Nice Octane and a beautiful photo as well. Tripod & long exposure?

Yup, you got it.

vishnu wrote:Two V12s each with a DCD! :shock: Do you actually run it with four monitors? Permanent fastfan?

No, the setup is tragically underutilized at the moment, just a single 1280x1024 Dell monitor. When I eventually upgrade to a multi-monitor setup for my PC the Octane2 will get hooked up to that. And it does not run any louder than my SSI Octane.

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby Geoman » Fri Dec 25, 2015 3:05 pm

:Octane2: :-D
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

DaJuice
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 11:51 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby DaJuice » Sat Dec 26, 2015 1:34 pm

ivelegacy wrote:where have you found the dual carrier :D ?

It came with the system, I haven't made any upgrades to it.

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Dec 26, 2015 7:17 pm

A maxed out system like that; whoever had it before you must have been doing some serious stuff with it. My Octane2 was a boring 400MHz V6 when I got it, but thankfully the disk hadn't been scrubbed and it had fully licensed versions of [redacted] [redacted] and [redacted] software on it. Kidding! I only kid. No seriously... :twisted:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:33 am

ivelegacy wrote:my gentoo/IP30 has no GFX, I have installed an empty carrier :D

Well, I'm sure once you've got the kernel running all that nifty IP30 hardware you'll jump right onto the open source xserver for VPRO and MARDIGRAS... ;)
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Octane2 | Dual 600mhz | 3.5GB | Dual Head V12/DCD

Unread postby recondas » Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:06 pm

DaJuice wrote:
vishnu wrote:Two V12s each with a DCD! :shock: Do you actually run it with four monitors? Permanent fastfan?

No, the setup is tragically underutilized at the moment, just a single 1280x1024 Dell monitor. When I eventually upgrade to a multi-monitor setup for my PC the Octane2 will get hooked up to that. And it does not run any louder than my SSI Octane.


Nice(!) rig - extra points for the much-less-often-seen factory-configured dual V12/dual DCD setup.

I'm way late to the party, so no doubt it's already been considered, but running SGI's OpenGL Multipipe on that dual 12/dual DCD Octane would be a great way to showcase the capabilities of the system.

Xinerama comes with IRIX, and can do the job of spanning the display of a single desktop across multiple monitors, but its relative ease of access comes at a price - you can only display OpenGL visuals on the monitor(s) attached to the primary graphics pipe. OpenGL Mulltipipe was the classic SGI method to overcome that limitation. Setting up OGLMP is pretty straightforward, my experiences were scattered across a few posts in this thread.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests