My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
eudatux23
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:52 am
Location: Sonsbeck, Germany
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby eudatux23 » Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:55 am

Thanks!
:Octane2: SGI Octane 2 - Dual R12K 400 MHz - 250 0MB RAM - 73 GB HDD - vPro v12 - IRIX 6.5.30
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo² - R10K 175 MHz - 320 MB RAM - 73 GB SCSI HDD - High Impact-AA + TRAM - IRIX 6.5.22f
:O2: SGI O2 - R5K 180 MHz - 96 MB RAM - 18 GB HDD - CRM - IRIX 6.5.30

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby sgtprobe » Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:20 am

Hey, thats a great machine and loving this thread :)
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby vishnu » Thu Nov 06, 2014 10:03 am

nongrato wrote:Maya, Shake, Moviemaker

What versions and how do they run on your dual-360? Do you use it for rendering as well or do you farm that out?
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby nongrato » Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:40 pm

sgtprobe wrote:Hey, thats a great machine and loving this thread :)


Thanks! 8-)

vishnu wrote:What versions and how do they run on your dual-360? Do you use it for rendering as well or do you farm that out?


Maya 6.5 and Shake 3.

Shake is slow. The only way to preview the composiotion is to render it to the flipbook and you need tons of memory for that. Maya is okay unless you want to make a complex scene or run physical simulations, but still, rendering one frame of a simple scene like this takes more than 30 mins:

ImageImage
:Octane2: :320:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby vishnu » Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:48 pm

Hmmmm... That scene doesn't look that simple! 8-) If you set shaded view in the perspective window is it still responsive to pan, dolly and zoom? Beautiful render though, very nice. Is that the Maya built in renderer or Mental Ray?
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby nongrato » Fri Nov 07, 2014 5:37 am

vishnu wrote: If you set shaded view in the perspective window is it still responsive to pan, dolly and zoom? Beautiful render though, very nice. Is that the Maya built in renderer or Mental Ray?


The performance is still okay. The scene is simple - most of models are lo-poly except for the cables and it takes that long to render only because of multiple light sources and a deep shadow ray tracing. Yes, I use Mental Ray for that.
:Octane2: :320:

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby nongrato » Fri Nov 07, 2014 6:12 am

Thanks to TeamBlackFox the memory is now maxed out. Hinv updated.
:Octane2: :320:

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby Geoman » Fri Nov 07, 2014 7:18 am

Wow - this scene looks good. Did you model that by yourself?
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby nongrato » Fri Nov 07, 2014 7:34 am

Geoman wrote:Wow - this scene looks good. Did you model that by yourself?


Thanks ;) yup, and here is the full movie - a dedication to the Netscape's 20th anniversary :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NBV-0yd8ha0
:Octane2: :320:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:00 pm

Nice! jwz wrote the first version of the Unix Netscape Navigator (mostly) on an sgi.
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby uunix » Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:15 pm

Excellent chap. Love it.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby nongrato » Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:21 am

Lol, I had to remove two memory modules because that EVO crap didn't seem to want to work with 2 Gigs of RAM. Setting "SRV_LOMEM_POOL" to "1" helped just a little bit - it fixed analog inputs, but digital inputs remained non-functional. So frustrating. Although i can imagine how frustrated could be a hypotetical Octane+EVO owner who purchsed an overpriced memory upgrade back in late 90s only to find out it was a total waste of money. So lame. hinv updated. :evil:
:Octane2: :320:

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby Geoman » Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:27 pm

Well that's frustrating :-( but I hope you can work with 1,5 GB memory then without much swapping.
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:38 am

Awesome work btw :) Still use my Onyx2 for rendering stills and modeling at the office
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB

gocram
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:15 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: My Octane 2*R12k 360MHz, 1Gb, EMXI

Unread postby gocram » Fri Feb 06, 2015 7:18 am

sgtprobe wrote:Hey, thats a great machine and loving this thread :)

Likewise! It's so nice to see someone share the same amount of passion for SGI.


nongrato wrote:Shake is slow. The only way to preview the composiotion is to render it to the flipbook and you need tons of memory for that.

Did you consider working with proxies? That's what makes Shake really shine. Working with proxies I can still get an amazingly amount of work done, ‘even’ on an O2.
:O2: 400/R12ᴋ, 1GB RAM, digvid (AV2), UW-SCSI, 640GB (int.) & 4×300GB HDDs (ext.)
:Indigo2IMP: 195/R10ᴋ, 1GB RAM, High IMPACT+TRAM, IMPACT Video, 2×300GB HDDs
LOOKING FOR:
SGI INDIGO² HIGH IMPACT-AA or MAXIMUM IMPACT graphics board set
(the latter preferably with at least one 4-Mbyte TRAM)


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests