Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 4Gig ram, V12+DCD/V10 (updated 21/12/2015)

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
Jack Luminous
Donor
Donor
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:59 am
Location: PARIS

Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 4Gig ram, V12+DCD/V10 (updated 21/12/2015)

Unread postby Jack Luminous » Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:17 am

Sorry, no pics yet, I was too busy making the damn thing work.... Will add later !

Code: Select all

# hinv -vm
Location: /hw/node
      PM20600MHZ Board: barcode MME908     part 030-1778-001 rev  C
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15
            IP30 Board: barcode LKD174     part 030-1467-001 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15/pci/2
    PWR.SPPLY.ER Board: barcode AAE1330738 part 060-0035-003 rev  A
             FP1 Board: barcode MKE459     part 030-0891-003 rev  J
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/11
  ODY128VERSIONB Board: barcode MDF684     part 030-1611-001 rev  C
2 600 MHZ IP30 Processors
Heart ASIC: Revision F
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.4
FPU: MIPS R14010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 2048 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V12
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0005) PCI slot 3
Dual Channel Display


Code: Select all

# /usr/gfx/gfxinfo -vv
Graphics board 0 is "ODYSSEY" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 1600x1024
        BUZZ version B.1
        PB&J version 1
        128MB memory
                Banks: 4, CAS latency: 3
         Monitor 0 type: Unknown
        Dual Channel Display option
         Monitor 1 type: Unknown         Monitor 2 type: Unknown
        Input Sync: Voltage - Video Level; Source - Internal; Genlocked - False
        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1600 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (VPro_1600x1024_60-Analog_MLA)
         Video Format Flags:  (none)
         Sync Disabled
         Using Gamma Map 0
         Monitor Type:  unknown
         Gain (all color components) - 0.000000 ; range [1,10]
Last edited by Jack Luminous on Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:03 am, edited 3 times in total.
:Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:32 am

Very nice machine! Quite like mine. I've always thought it odd that gfxinfo doesn't post the graphics board number for the V series. Presumably your DCD works? Mine doesn't work for crap, may I ask what monitors you're using?
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
mia
Posts: 1055
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD

Unread postby mia » Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:10 am

now that's a nice machine, doesn't get much better than this.
:Onyx2:

Jack Luminous
Donor
Donor
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:59 am
Location: PARIS

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD

Unread postby Jack Luminous » Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:13 pm

vishnu wrote:Very nice machine! Quite like mine. I've always thought it odd that gfxinfo doesn't post the graphics board number for the V series. Presumably your DCD works? Mine doesn't work for crap, may I ask what monitors you're using?


Yes the DCD works with a single monitor. I'm using a 1600SW+Multilink Adapter. Not easy to make it work but it worked in the end. See viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16728430&start=15 for the gory details involving butchering a poor DVI-D cable.

mia wrote:now that's a nice machine, doesn't get much better than this.


I want to put 8 gigs in it. But it' too costly for now. Anyway FF3 is working much better than I expected. Quite fast and no crash yet.
:Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
mia
Posts: 1055
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD

Unread postby mia » Sat Mar 08, 2014 2:23 pm

I think 8GB is nice, but 2GB is enough for my needs (mipspro mostly). My main workstation has 2GB, and while I have the 6 other sticks in my drawer, I never had a need for them, I keep thinking I might need them someday, but realistically, I don't think so. There's only one application I'm compiling that requires a little over 1.5GB at compil time, most of the rest can be done around the 1GB bar. I think 2GB is plenty, but I don't want to discourage you from adding more of course, I just say, the gain is usually marginal unless you really have an application that needs it (in which case, name it, I'm curious to know which).

I thought about parallelizing the compilation further of course, and I did that, but I've noticed the gain is not worth the effort, it's cpu bound anyway.
:Onyx2:

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD

Unread postby hamei » Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:15 pm

mia wrote: I don't want to discourage you from adding more of course, I just say, the gain is usually marginal unless you really have an application that needs it (in which case, name it, I'm curious to know which).

I've never seen over about 2 gigs in use on mine, either, but Unixmuseum used to run some CFD on his, and that used all 8. In fact, one reason he kept the Octane in service was that none of the peecees in his office could manage that much memory.

vishnu wrote: Presumably your DCD works? Mine doesn't ...

Oi, probably a defective dcd, vish. Better send it over here for testing :D
I spent a fortune on booze, birds, and fast cars ... the rest I just squandered

Jack Luminous
Donor
Donor
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:59 am
Location: PARIS

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD (updated)

Unread postby Jack Luminous » Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:33 am

Updated with dual channel SGI fibre XIO card + Discreet D9 Stone

Code: Select all

# hinv -vm
Location: /hw/node
      PM20600MHZ Board: barcode MME908     part 030-1778-001 rev  C
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15
            IP30 Board: barcode LKD174     part 030-1467-001 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15/pci/2
    PWR.SPPLY.ER Board: barcode AAE1330738 part 060-0035-003 rev  A
             FP1 Board: barcode MKE459     part 030-0891-003 rev  J
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/11
  ODY128VERSIONB Board: barcode MDF684     part 030-1611-001 rev  C
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/10
   FIBRE_CHANNEL Board: barcode KXA033     part 030-0927-003 rev  E
2 600 MHZ IP30 Processors
Heart ASIC: Revision F
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.4
FPU: MIPS R14010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 2048 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
Integral SCSI controller 4: Version Fibre Channel AIC-1160, revision 4
  Disk drive: unit 0 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 0)
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 1)
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 2)
  Disk drive: unit 3 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 3)
  Disk drive: unit 4 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 4)
  Disk drive: unit 5 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 5)
  Disk drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 6)
Integral SCSI controller 3: Version Fibre Channel AIC-1160, revision 4
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V12
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0005) PCI slot 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x9004, device 0x1160) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x9004, device 0x1160) PCI slot 1
Dual Channel Display
:Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD (updated)

Unread postby Geoman » Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:00 am

WOW :shock:

I envy you! that's a beautiful machine!

We want pics of the whole ensemble (Octane2 + 1600sw + Stone)! ;-)
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

Jack Luminous
Donor
Donor
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:59 am
Location: PARIS

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD (updated)

Unread postby Jack Luminous » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:12 am

Thanks ! Luckily, it has been pretty painless to set up until now. One of my goals with it is to buy some used bigger FC hdds from ebay and create a big and fast file server with the thing. I still need to buy a cheap PCI gigabit ethernet card to put in the PCI cage (already have the cage but it is not plugged in yet).

The only drawback of the whole system is the noise of the D9 Stone... Crazy !!! I didn't fire it up in 3 years or so and totally forgot the madness. When I pushed the on button this morning after set up, it felt like an airplane taking off in my basement. Can't even hear the Octane next to it ! :D

I don't understand why it needs so much cooling... I'm gonna try to replace the fans with modern ones and slow them down with resistors... Pics coming in the next few days... 8-)
:Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD

Unread postby recondas » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:33 am

Jack Luminous wrote:Yes the DCD works with a single monitor. I'm using a 1600SW+Multilink Adapter.
If you don't mind pin-plucking another DVI cable (and just happen to have a second 1600SW/MLA) you can always try for a 2@ monitor set up.

vishnu wrote:Presumably your DCD works? Mine doesn't work for crap
Thought we figured out that was self-inflicted. ;)
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4939
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD (updated)

Unread postby jan-jaap » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:34 am

The D9 stone is the cube shaped metal box, right? Those go back to the 1st generations of 10K disks etc, and they ran *hot*. Put a dozen together in a shoebox and you need a lot of airflow.

Modern disks run much cooler, so you can reduce cooling as well. I have one of these which was modded with an ATX PSU -- probably because the original PSU died. Then the ATX PSU died as well :(
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

Jack Luminous
Donor
Donor
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:59 am
Location: PARIS

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD

Unread postby Jack Luminous » Wed Mar 12, 2014 6:35 am

recondas wrote:If you don't mind pin-plucking another DVI cable (and just happen to have a second 1600SW/MLA) you can always try for a 2@ monitor set up.


I wouldn't mind pin-plucking another DVI cable and would love to try a 2@ monitor set-up. It also happens that I have a second 1600SW to go with my O2 but I only have one MLA so it will have to wait for some more SGI play-money availability. I already got past the intended budget in the last month to get everything up and running as I wanted.

jan-jaap wrote:The D9 stone is the cube shaped metal box, right? Those go back to the 1st generations of 10K disks etc, and they ran *hot*. Put a dozen together in a shoebox and you need a lot of airflow.

Modern disks run much cooler, so you can reduce cooling as well. I have one of these which was modded with an ATX PSU -- probably because the original PSU died. Then the ATX PSU died as well :(


Yes it's the cube shaped industrial metal looking thing. What hdd would you advise to use ? I see a lot of cheap used 300gb FC hdd on the bay or even 600gb sometimes...
:Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD (updated)

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:14 am

A very nice machine indeed, and still pretty fast compared to some of its more modern cousins.
I recently upgraded one of mine to a dual R14k600 and still looking for a DCD option... though I'm
still pretty happy with my Sgi branded 21inch Sony CRTs
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB

Jack Luminous
Donor
Donor
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:59 am
Location: PARIS

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD (updated)

Unread postby Jack Luminous » Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:58 pm

Yes, it's in a basement, under metallic stairs. And I'm not much of a photographer LOL


Image
:Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Octane2, 2x600MHz R14K, 2Gig ram, V12+DCD (updated)

Unread postby Geoman » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:11 pm

It has a home ;-)

Nice setup of course! Machine+TFT+Mouse+Keyboard+Speaker = all SGI :-D
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests