Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby Krokodil » Tue May 31, 2016 9:08 pm

Today I received a large plywood and wood crate. In it was the Octane 2 I won on Ebay from a guy in British Columbia.

Since the hard drives are not completely wiped, I can tell it's a Discreet Flame system from Rainmaker Digital Productions Corp in British Columbia, Canada.

Upon removing the front panel and looking on the back I see a date on a sticker that says 11/09/01. Interesting...

The machine is in excellent condition, no rust, no missing door, skins are almost immaculate.
Here is the hinv output.

Code: Select all

2 600 MHZ IP30 Processors
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision 2.4
FPU:MIPS R14010 Floating Point Chip Revision 0.0
Main memory size: 2560 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbyes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Intergral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
Intergral SCSI controller 2: Version Fibre Channel QL2200A
Intergral SCSI controller 6: Version Fibre Channel QL2200A
Intergral SCSI controller 4: Version Fibre Channel AIC-1160, revision 4
Intergral SCSI controller 5: Version Fibre Channel AIC-1160, revision 4
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics Board: V12
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Gigabit Ethernet: eg0, PCI slot 1, firmware version 12.4.10
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
XT-DIGVID Multi-standard Digital Video: controller 0, unit 0, version 0x0
Dual Channel Display


Pics will be posted later on.
:Octane2: - Algogulf - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12 - 6.5.30
:O2: - Mantadoc - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30
:Octane: - Montrealais - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI - 6.5.30

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4609
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby jan-jaap » Wed Jun 01, 2016 5:35 am

Nice Octane! Do you have the DMedia breakout also (and the LVDS cables ...)?

The XIO FC card (AIC-1160) is FC-AL, so it will only tak to disk arrays. The QLogic card can also talk to a SAN.

ivelegacy wrote:sooner or later I will replicate your idea on ebay

There's one on eBay.de if you're willing to settle for 2x400MHz and have a shipping address in Germany (or willing to travel, maybe)
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby Krokodil » Wed Jun 01, 2016 11:00 am

ivelegacy wrote:congratulations, I guess that buying from a big studio is the best option
sooner or later I will replicate your idea on ebay

my Octane is on the stretcher, like a terminally ill attached to the drip
oh, also your CPU module is very good, the fastest choice available, even for gentoo :D

p.s.
I see a few FC cards in your hinv, do you also have FC equipment?



Actually the only reason I know where it came from is that, they didn't completely wipe the hard drives, so on the login screen there is a big logo for Rainmaker Digital Entertainment. The machine was used as Flame system, but there's some evidence it had Inferno at one point as well.

I have no FC equipment, unfortunately.


jan-jaap wrote:Nice Octane! Do you have the DMedia breakout also (and the LVDS cables ...)?

The XIO FC card (AIC-1160) is FC-AL, so it will only tak to disk arrays. The QLogic card can also talk to a SAN.

ivelegacy wrote:sooner or later I will replicate your idea on ebay

There's one on eBay.de if you're willing to settle for 2x400MHz and have a shipping address in Germany (or willing to travel, maybe)
i

No, I don't have any of those things, just fortunate enough to come into possession of a loaded Octane2, but it seems the machine had a number of connections to remote hardware, like SAN arrays and SNFS mounts. You can see the likely remnants of those mounts on the hard drives.
:Octane2: - Algogulf - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12 - 6.5.30
:O2: - Mantadoc - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30
:Octane: - Montrealais - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI - 6.5.30

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby Krokodil » Wed Jun 01, 2016 1:50 pm

Here's a picture, until I get around to doing proper ones. I did not put that TURBO thing on there. Think I should remove it?

Image
:Octane2: - Algogulf - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12 - 6.5.30
:O2: - Mantadoc - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30
:Octane: - Montrealais - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI - 6.5.30

User avatar
commodorejohn
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby commodorejohn » Wed Jun 01, 2016 1:53 pm

No, it's badass :D
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/D-50/MT-32/SC-55k, Ensoniq SQ-80/Mirage, Yamaha DX7/V-50/FB-01/SY22, Korg DW-8000/MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/M1/03-RW, E-mu Emax HD/Proteus/2, Rhodes Chroma Polaris

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby Krokodil » Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:22 pm

commodorejohn wrote:No, it's badass :D


It looks like plastic, but when I touch it, it's cold like metal. I think I'll keep it on there if no one objects.

Just getting around to installing IRIX now. Wasted quite a bit of time trying to initiate the install before realizing that the drive I was using needed to be completely cleaned out first, once I did that it stopped barfing. The O2 was a good experience for learning how to install IRIX.

Image
:Octane2: - Algogulf - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12 - 6.5.30
:O2: - Mantadoc - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30
:Octane: - Montrealais - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI - 6.5.30

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby nongrato » Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:38 am

Krokodil wrote:Here's a picture,



Image
:Octane2: :320:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4609
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby jan-jaap » Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:54 am

Krokodil wrote:It looks like plastic, but when I touch it, it's cold like metal. I think I'll keep it on there if no one objects.

go-faster stripes add at least 100MHz CPU clock speed. I put one of those on the John Deere pedal tractor of my boys, "V12". Mostly because I was afraid I'd find it on the back of one of our cars one day if I didn't :lol:
ivelegacy wrote:WTFudge should I do with my ISP?!?!?

I don't know the details of what's going on here, but I think the blame is on eBay. I don't see half of what goes on on the US eBay site either, even if I set a US shipping address as the default. The auction said 'shipping to Germany only', that's why I mentioned "willing to travel".
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

devv
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby devv » Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:26 pm

Buddy, that's a BADASS system. I've been eyeing it out as well, but figured the price was too high for me.
Hehe, glad to see it arrived in the hands of someone here.

Regarding Ebay auctions, use the global ebay search available on www.geo-ship.com (be sure to go to settings and select "All" etc.).

You were shy with the pics, the back side of it packs some serious stuff :)
oOoO :Tezro: oOoO

devv
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby devv » Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:29 pm

By the way, certainly do post the complete hardware information as documented on:
http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/Guidelines ... hinv_forum

Cheers!
oOoO :Tezro: oOoO

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby Krokodil » Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:20 am

devv wrote:Buddy, that's a BADASS system. I've been eyeing it out as well, but figured the price was too high for me.
Hehe, glad to see it arrived in the hands of someone here.

Regarding Ebay auctions, use the global ebay search available on http://www.geo-ship.com (be sure to go to settings and select "All" etc.).

You were shy with the pics, the back side of it packs some serious stuff :)


Yeah, I wondered why no one came to challenge me on it, though I was watching it to the very end of the auction. Usually someone does and or a bidding war starts on these sorts of things. I've had a number of Octane2's pulled out from under me over the past year. But it was all for the best since none of them had even a fraction of the things this one does.

I have not yet finished with the pics, or the full hinv. Took a while to get the machine fit for use. Needed to put in new HDDs, one was a 18GB Seagate Cheetah, the other some antique IBM from 1995 - height of the drive is about 5 inches. Perhaps it came from an Indigo2.

Also when I booted the machine, it had passwords and usernames that I didn't know, so I had to network boot to edit the password file, but before I could do that I encountered a PROM password, which had to be removed by moving the jumper. It takes somewhere between 20-30 minutes for the machine to POST in that state, so quite a bit of time was wasted before realizing that the machine wasn't actually doing anything abnormal when it sat for a long time with a black screen.

Then I got the password file reset and was able to login to the accounts. I didn't find much, 3 or 4 versions of an aforementioned program - none of which worked due to missing serial port dongle , some licenses in a text file, basic IRIX software, remains of file system mounts and directories where production materials were stored.

Since I didn't have any new SCSI drives, I nabbed a relatively new one from my under utilized Alpha. But when trying to install the installation tools the install on that drive repeatedly failed, thinking something was wrong with it, I put it on exercise which took several hours and did not reveal anything wrong with it. Then I remembered from my O2 install that the hard drive had to be completely wiped, not just repartitioned. So I did and the install proceeded.

I got IRIX up and running just about 2 hours before I had to leave on a 4 day trip. That is why there is no complete hinv, or more pics yet. Still the system needs to be hardened and nekoware installed. I am looking forward to that. :)
:Octane2: - Algogulf - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12 - 6.5.30
:O2: - Mantadoc - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30
:Octane: - Montrealais - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI - 6.5.30

devv
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby devv » Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:33 am

Awesome, and useful info that you included, thanks!
oOoO :Tezro: oOoO

User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:31 pm

That turbo badge is awesome. Extremely tacky but totally awesome. Don't remove it.
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:

User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:33 pm

Better idea: If you've got a Honda Civic, move the turbo badge to it. +15 HP guaranteed.
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:

User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Octane2 | 2x600Mhz | 2.5GB | V12/DCD | Cardcage |

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:36 pm

Kidding aside... That must have been a stock Discreet Flame system as my Octane 2 specs are the same, down to the memory configuration.
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest