Rackmount Tezro 2x800mhz, 2x V12, 2g ram

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
mopar5150
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Rackmount Tezro 2x800mhz, 2x V12, 2g ram

Unread postby mopar5150 » Mon May 16, 2016 6:01 pm

Hey Guys,

Here are a few Tezro rack systems I picked up in Santa Barbara last weekend. Minimum spec but nice condition. The top system is a base unit and the bottom system is just an expansion chassis. Interesting part is that the second chassis has what looks like an IP module but only holds ram. There are no CPUs.

Code: Select all

001c02-L1>serial all

Data                            Location      Value
------------------------------  ------------  --------
Local System Serial Number      NVRAM         P1004138
Reference System Serial Number  Attached C    P1004138
Local Brick Serial Number       EEPROM        NLA176
Reference Brick Serial Number   NVRAM         NLA176


EEPROM      Product Name    Serial         Part Number           Rev  T/W
----------  --------------  -------------  --------------------  ---  ------
INTERFACE   2U_INT_53       NLA176         030_1809_006          B    00
IO9         IO9             NGF718         030_1771_005          A    00
ODYSSEY     ODY128B1_2      NSS103         030_1909_008          B    00
RISER       2U_RISER        NKD740         030_1808_006          B    00
NODE        IP53_2CPU       NCG770         030_1960_002          B    00
SNOWBALL    no hardware detected
PS 1        DPS-500EBE      XPD0441006454  060-0178-003          S4
PS 2        no hardware detected

EEPROM     JEDEC-SPD Info           Part Number        Rev  Speed  SGI
---------- ------------------------ ------------------ ---- ------ --------
DIMM 0     7F91000000000000EB040006          DTP62718A 4100  10.0  N/A
DIMM 2     no hardware detected
DIMM 4     no hardware detected
DIMM 6     no hardware detected
DIMM 1     7F91000000000000E5040006          DTP62718A 4100  10.0  N/A
DIMM 3     no hardware detected
DIMM 5     no hardware detected
DIMM 7     no hardware detected


Code: Select all

IRIS 1# hinv -v
2 800 MHZ IP35 Processors
CPU: MIPS R16000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.2
FPU: MIPS R16010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 2.2
CPU 0 at Module 001c02/Slot 0/Slice A: 800 Mhz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabl
ed)
  Processor revision: 2.2. Scache: Size 8 MB Speed 400 Mhz  Tap 0xa
CPU 1 at Module 001c02/Slot 0/Slice C: 800 Mhz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabl
ed)
  Processor revision: 2.2. Scache: Size 8 MB Speed 400 Mhz  Tap 0xa
Main memory size: 2048 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 8 Mbytes
Memory at Module 001c02/Slot 0: 1024 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 1 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Memory at Module 001c04/Slot 0: 1024 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 1 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Integral SCSI controller 2: Version IDE (ATA/ATAPI) IOC4
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL12160, low voltage differential
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL12160, low voltage differential
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty7
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty8
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty9
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty10
Graphics board: V12
Graphics board: V12
Integral Gigabit Ethernet: tg0, module 001c02, PCI bus 1 slot 4
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x100a) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1216) PCI slot 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x14e4, device 0x1645) PCI slot 4
IOC4 firmware revision 83
IOC3/IOC4 external interrupts: 1
HUB in Module 001c02/Slot 0: Revision 2 Speed 200.00 Mhz (enabled)
HUB in Module 001c04/Slot 0: Revision 2 Speed 200.00 Mhz (enabled)
IP35prom in Module 001c02/Slot n0: Revision 6.210
IP35prom in Module 001c04/Slot n0: Revision 6.210
IRIS 2#


Code: Select all

001c02-L1>pwr u
001c02-L1>
entering console mode  001c02 CPU0, <CTRL_T> to escape to L1
Starting PROM Boot process


IP35 PROM SGI Version 6.210  built 02:33:51 PM Aug 26, 2004
Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
Copying PROM code to memory ...............             DONE
Discovering local IO ......................             DONE
Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........             DONE
Found 2 objects (2 hubs, 0 routers) in 7020 usec
Waiting for peers to complete discovery....             DONE
Global master is /hw/rack/001/bay/02
Intializing any CPUless nodes..............             DONE
Checking partitioning information .........             DONE
Local slave entering slave loop
Loading BASEIO prom .......................             DONE

BASEIO PROM Monitor SGI Version 6.210  built 02:30:38 PM Aug 26, 2004 (BE64)
2 CPUs on 2 nodes found.
Automatic update of PROM environment disabled
Graphics diagnostics

Odyssey board #0 found on nasid 0
Running Odyssey xtalk sanity diag...
        Board version 1 - Buzz revision 3B
        On board sdram size: 128 Mb
        Cas latency: CAS 3
        4 banks by sdram module
Running Odyssey Buzz registers diag...
Device passed diagnostics

Odyssey board #1 found on nasid 1
Running Odyssey xtalk sanity diag...
        Board version 1 - Buzz revision 3B
        On board sdram size: 128 Mb
        Cas latency: CAS 3
        4 banks by sdram module
Running Odyssey Buzz registers diag...
Device passed diagnostics

Installing PROM Device drivers ............
On-board (IO9) tigon3 1000BaseT interface
Base I/O Ethernet set to /dev/ethernet/tg0
Installing Graphics Console...
graphics install: searching for pipe 0
Probing IOC4 ATA adapter 2
IOC4 RevId = 83

Walking SCSI Adapter 0, (pci id 3)
1+ Device Vendor Product: COMPAQ BF14689BC5
2- 3- 4- 5- 6- 7- 8- 9- 10- 11- 12- 13- 14- 15- = 1 device(s)


Walking SCSI Adapter 1, (pci id 3)
1- 2- 3- 4- 5- 6- 7- 8- 9- 10- 11- 12- 13- 14- 15- = 0 device(s)

Initializing PROM Device drivers ..........
  Initializing Base I/O Ethernet Interface...Failed.  MII Status Register = 0x79
49
Done.
  ---------------Interface Configuration Summary----------------
  ASIC|Revision|MAC Address       : 5701|B5|08:00:69:13:ff:bf
  Link Negotiation|Advertisement  : On|<H10 F10 H100 F100 F1000>
  Link|Speed|Duplex|Rx/Tx FlowCtrl: Down|10|Half|Off/Off
  --------------------------------------------------------------
DONE

tez1.JPG
tez2.JPG
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:

User avatar
GL1zdA
Donor
Donor
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL

Re: Rackmount Tezro 2x800mhz, 2x V12, 2g ram

Unread postby GL1zdA » Mon May 16, 2016 10:37 pm

How do you get all these cool Tezros?
mopar5150 wrote:Interesting part is that the second chassis has what looks like an IP module but only holds ram. There are no CPUs.

It's called the "Workstation Expansion Enclosure" (Reference: My Chimera modules summary).
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Fuel: :540:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4468
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: Rackmount Tezro 2x800mhz, 2x V12, 2g ram

Unread postby jan-jaap » Tue May 17, 2016 1:01 am

GL1zdA wrote:
mopar5150 wrote:Interesting part is that the second chassis has what looks like an IP module but only holds ram. There are no CPUs.

It's called the "Workstation Expansion Enclosure" (Reference: My Chimera modules summary).

And without it it would be impossible to add the second V12. What's interesting is that there's memory on the second node at all -- normally you'd want it close to the CPUs. I cannot imagine a scenario where you want memory local to the V12, when the NUMAlink is as fast as the V12, but slower than memory bandwidth?
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
GL1zdA
Donor
Donor
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL

Re: Rackmount Tezro 2x800mhz, 2x V12, 2g ram

Unread postby GL1zdA » Tue May 17, 2016 3:01 am

jan-jaap wrote:
GL1zdA wrote:
mopar5150 wrote:Interesting part is that the second chassis has what looks like an IP module but only holds ram. There are no CPUs.

It's called the "Workstation Expansion Enclosure" (Reference: My Chimera modules summary).

And without it it would be impossible to add the second V12. What's interesting is that there's memory on the second node at all -- normally you'd want it close to the CPUs. I cannot imagine a scenario where you want memory local to the V12, when the NUMAlink is as fast as the V12, but slower than memory bandwidth?

It's for memory capacity bound programs. I can't really name any real world examples, but there has to be demand for it given that OEMs still produce such configurations for recent systems. It also might help lower licensing costs ;). The last IBM x Series had the MAX5 expansion, which worked in a similar way, but over QPI instead of NUMAlink. Dell also did this with their FlexMem bridge. Both worked with the Xeon 6500/7500 (Beckton) and Xeon E7 (Westmere-EX) CPUs, Haven't seen anything new for E7-v2 (Ivy Bridge) and E7-v3 (Broadwell) Xeons, but these support 3 times the memory per socket the previous gen Xeons supported, so there might be less demand for such configurations.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Fuel: :540:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4468
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: Rackmount Tezro 2x800mhz, 2x V12, 2g ram

Unread postby jan-jaap » Tue May 17, 2016 4:05 am

GL1zdA wrote:It's for memory capacity bound programs.

Oh, I can see the case for memory-only nodes. What I don't understand is why you'd populate the memory-only node before the node with the CPUs is completely populated. In a NUMA architecture memory latency and bandwidth depends on the distance to the CPUs, and in this system half the RAM is "slower" because it's non-local from the point of view of the CPUs. It's local from the p.o.v. of the second V12 but that should be irrelevant because the NUMAlink bandwidth is enough to keep up with that (NUMAlink is essentially XIO over cables).
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

mopar5150
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: Rackmount Tezro 2x800mhz, 2x V12, 2g ram

Unread postby mopar5150 » Tue May 17, 2016 6:56 am

jan-jaap wrote:
GL1zdA wrote:It's for memory capacity bound programs.

Oh, I can see the case for memory-only nodes. What I don't understand is why you'd populate the memory-only node before the node with the CPUs is completely populated. In a NUMA architecture memory latency and bandwidth depends on the distance to the CPUs, and in this system half the RAM is "slower" because it's non-local from the point of view of the CPUs. It's local from the p.o.v. of the second V12 but that should be irrelevant because the NUMAlink bandwidth is enough to keep up with that (NUMAlink is essentially XIO over cables).



My guess is that a lot of the ram was removed somewhere along the way. A lot of what I get are parts machines where companies have been using them to keep others alive.
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:

mopar5150
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: Rackmount Tezro 2x800mhz, 2x V12, 2g ram

Unread postby mopar5150 » Tue May 17, 2016 7:03 am

GL1zdA wrote:How do you get all these cool Tezros?
mopar5150 wrote:Interesting part is that the second chassis has what looks like an IP module but only holds ram. There are no CPUs.

It's called the "Workstation Expansion Enclosure" (Reference: My Chimera modules summary).


Several years ago I was injured at work and couldn't use my arm for 6 months. During that time I called every e-waste yard in California and the US and made dozens of trips to meet with them to get them to save the SGI gear. I have met some amazing people who are willing to save these things as long as I buy them all sight unseen.
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest