Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 1:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
Code:
1 150 MHZ IP17 Processor
FPU: MIPS R4000 Floating Point Coprocessor Revision: 0.0
CPU: MIPS R4400 Processor Chip Revision: 5.0
On-board serial ports: 4
Data cache size: 16 Kbytes
Instruction cache size: 16 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 1 Mbyte on Processor 0
Main memory size: 256 Mbytes
I/O board, slot F: IO3B
RealityEngine Graphics option installed
Integral Ethernet: et0, IO3
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version WD33C93A, revision 9
  Disk drive: unit 4 on SCSI controller 1
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 1
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version WD33C93A, revision 9
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0
VME bus: adapter 0


Code:
Graphics board 0 is "REC" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 1280x1024
        Display 1280x1024 @ 72Hz
        8 GE (GE8 rev. 0x7/101)
        1 RM4 board (rev. 00112)
        Small pixel depth
        10-bit RGB pixels
        Not using Multi-Channel Option


Attachments:
PICT1729.jpg
PICT1729.jpg [ 75.83 KiB | Viewed 802 times ]
PICT1723.jpg
PICT1723.jpg [ 68.53 KiB | Viewed 800 times ]
PICT1727.jpg
PICT1727.jpg [ 117.43 KiB | Viewed 807 times ]
PICT1717.jpg
PICT1717.jpg [ 64.6 KiB | Viewed 817 times ]

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 2:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: Kamloops, BC
Geez. Where did you find that?

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3774
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Nice :D

I see you have a working textport when IRIX is loading?
Mine has some issues there (it works in PROM, but then it's frozen from the time IRIX load until the X11 login shows up). Think I'll load a different IRIX on it once to force a flash.

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 3:39 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
Thanks - it's a cool system; really lucked into this one.

The textport works while booting IRIX; I shot a quick video of the boot sequence for you:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0aQ0fsQuMZs

Probably only slightly more interesting than watching paint dry for most, but oh well ;)

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:44 pm
Posts: 44
Nice, a pink EZ Bake Oven! (jk)

If my 'lil Octane2 runs on 225w, what does that sucker draw?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:16 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
sparcdr wrote:
Nice, a pink EZ Bake Oven! (jk)

If my 'lil Octane2 runs on 225w, what does that sucker draw?


Oh, I'm not sure - I think the power supply is 1050w, but it probably doesn't consume that much in use. The Crimson did come with a free blue Octane2 2x300MHz/V8 though ;)

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:53 am
Posts: 460
Location: Louisville, KY
Very Nice. I would love to find a Crimson that is in that good of condition.

_________________
:Octane2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2+:

Octane2 2x600 V12 8GB
- Octane2 600 V12 2GB - Octane 2x400 V10 2GB
Indigo² 195 Max Impact 386MB - Indigo² 250 Extreme 386MB
O2 350 CRM 256MB - O2+ 400 CRM 512MB

"I'm totally unappreciated in my time. You can run this whole park from this room, with minimal staff, for up to three days. You think that kind of automation is easy? Or cheap? You know anybody who can network eight Connection Machines and de-bug two million lines of code for what I bid this job? Because if you can, I'd love to see him try."


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3774
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
nekonoko wrote:
Oh, I'm not sure - I think the power supply is 1050w, but it probably doesn't consume that much in use.

* The 1050W is power supplied to the system, it draws max 1500W from the mains. The difference is lost in the PSU itself (I guess).
* I measured the power usage of mine at 750W @ 220V. Mine has a second RM4 and a VME FDDIXPress board

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:17 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
Good info! I may add a second RM4 if I can find one sometime.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3774
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
nekonoko wrote:
Good info!

If you dig in the comp.sys.sgi archives you can find entire threads about 1050W vs. 1500W PSUs for PowerSeries/Crimsons which were said to be RE capable or not. Unfortunately, I believe most of these people never bothered to open up a system, but instead simply kept rehashing what others said before them. Otherwise they might also have realized also that e.g. a 4D/340 or 440 VGX consumes significantly more power than a Crimson RE (I measured it). I mean, just look at the number of cards in the cardcage...

There are two PSU's for 'diehard'/'diehard2' desksides : originally, a silver PowerOne model was used, later systems have a black Cherokee. Both have the same ratings, so they are interchangeable. Unfortunately, the build quality of the Cherokee is rather inferior to the PowerOne model. If you have a black PSU you'd better remove it from the system and make sure the fan is working and not drowning in a cake layer of dirt and dust. Because if that fan dies, the PSU will overheat and self destruct. I know, it happened to me :( The PowerOne model will shut down gracefully. I know, that happened to me too ;)

1500W is the input rating for the first stage module of the PowerOne. 1050W is the sum of V*A for all output modules. But because of the modularity of the PowerOne design it's unclear whether the output modules drive the first stage to it's limits (and the difference between 1050W and 1500W is lost as heat in the PSU) or that the first stage is capable of more. There is space for a third output module in the PSU case ... Here are some photo's I took when I cleaned out a PowerOne PSU: http://vdheijden-messerli.net/sgistuff/ ... wersupply/

Unlike newer systems, Crimsons and 4D's don't have fan monitoring. There's some crude overheating protection but I would not rely on that. Just keep an eye on the fans (PSU and cardcage) to make sure they all work, and keep the system clean. They are pretty reliable beasts, considering their age.

nekonoko wrote:
I may add a second RM4 if I can find one sometime.

Beware that the bridge board connecting GE and RMs must have a connector for a second RM4 too. Not all of them have it.

nekonoko wrote:
The Crimson did come with a free blue Octane2 2x300MHz/V8 though ;)

Guess it wasn't a basement bargain then. I got a freebie Onyx2 and a trunk full of workstations and parts when I bought my Crimson + Predator :)

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
jan-jaap wrote:
There are two PSU's for 'diehard'/'diehard2' desksides : originally, a silver PowerOne model was used, later systems have a black Cherokee. Both have the same ratings, so they are interchangeable. Unfortunately, the build quality of the Cherokee is rather inferior to the PowerOne model. If you have a black PSU you'd better remove it from the system and make sure the fan is working and not drowning in a cake layer of dirt and dust. Because if that fan dies, the PSU will overheat and self destruct. I know, it happened to me :( The PowerOne model will shut down gracefully. I know, that happened to me too ;)


All the fans are operational; the system is extremely clean - it looks brand new. No dust bunnies, grime or grit whatsoever :)

Here's a photo of the power receptacle if that helps identify it - I don't really want to take it apart again right now unless I have to:

Attachment:
PICT1734.jpg
PICT1734.jpg [ 321.22 KiB | Viewed 786 times ]


jan-jaap wrote:
Beware that the bridge board connecting GE and RMs must have a connector for a second RM4 too. Not all of them have it.


Just checked; all the RM connectors are populated.

jan-jaap wrote:
Guess it wasn't a basement bargain then. I got a freebie Onyx2 and a trunk full of workstations and parts when I bought my Crimson + Predator :)


Well it did come from a basement :) $150 got me the Crimson, Octane2, extra drive sleds, external drives, large box of QIC tapes including original VFX software from the late eighties/early nineties, etc.

Both machines were used in the visual effects industry; the previous owner worked in VFX as well as at SGI itself.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3774
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
nekonoko wrote:
Here's a photo of the power receptacle if that helps identify it

Not really, but there's another way: if you engage that breaker switch and you hear a fan humming inside before you flip the on/off switch on the front you have a PowerOne PSU. If not, you have a Cherokee PSU.

Since this is a 'late' Crimson (original configuration R4400 + RE) my guess is it has the Cherokee PSU.
nekonoko wrote:
Well it did come from a basement :) $150 got me the Crimson, Octane2, extra drive sleds, external drives, large box of QIC tapes including original VFX software from the late eighties/early nineties, etc.

I call that a bargain :)

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
jan-jaap wrote:
Not really, but there's another way: if you engage that breaker switch and you hear a fan humming inside before you flip the on/off switch on the front you have a PowerOne PSU. If not, you have a Cherokee PSU.

Since this is a 'late' Crimson (original configuration R4400 + RE) my guess is it has the Cherokee PSU.


A fan does come on as soon as the breaker switch on the PSU is flipped on, so it must be a PowerOne. Once the front panel switch is flipped the others roar to life. The manufacture date on the card cage door is 12/94.

nekonoko wrote:
I call that a bargain :)


Yeah, that was my thinking as well - certainly didn't haggle on the asking price ;)

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:23 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
Nice Crimson Neko! :)

Since you have already set up your Camera, could you film it running some demos or anyhing graphical?

There was a thread started a while ago by cybercow to post videos of SGI Big Iron, but unfortunately not much has been contributed...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 5:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
Thanks!

Sure, I can do that; sounds like a good Sunday project :)

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group