Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
The short one:

Code:
>> hinv
System  SGI-IP27
4 300 MHz IP27 Processors
4 250 MHz IP27 Processors
Main memory size: 16384 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0
Integral SCSI controller 1
Integral Fast Ethernet
IOC3 serial port
Integral Fast Ethernet
IOC3 serial port
Integral SCSI controller
Integral SCSI controller
Integral SCSI controller
Integral SCSI controller
Graphics Controller
    Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI Controller 0, (dksc(0,1,0))
    Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI Controller 0, (dksc(0,2,0))


The long one:

Code:
>> hinv -v -m
IP27 Node Board, Module 2, Slot n1
    ASIC HUB Rev 5, 100 MHz, (nasid 0)
    Processor A: 300 MHz R12000 Rev 2.3
          Secondary Cache 8MB 200MHz Tap 0xa , (cpu 0)
      R12010FPC Rev 2.3
    Processor B: 300 MHz R12000 Rev 2.3
          Secondary Cache 8MB 200MHz Tap 0xa , (cpu 1)
      R12010FPC Rev 2.3
    Memory on board, 4096 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 0, 512 MBytes (Standard)  <-- (Software Bank 0)
      Bank 1, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 2, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 3, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 4, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 5, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 6, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 7, 512 MBytes (Standard)
IP27 Node Board, Module 2, Slot n2
    ASIC HUB Rev 5, 100 MHz, (nasid 1)
    Processor A: 250 MHz R10000 Rev 3.4
          Secondary Cache 4MB 250MHz Tap 0x9 , (cpu 2)
      R10010FPC Rev 3.4
    Processor B: 250 MHz R10000 Rev 3.4
          Secondary Cache 4MB 250MHz Tap 0x9 , (cpu 3)
      R10010FPC Rev 3.4
    Memory on board, 4096 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 0, 512 MBytes (Standard)  <-- (Software Bank 0)
      Bank 1, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 2, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 3, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 4, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 5, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 6, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 7, 512 MBytes (Standard)
IP27 Node Board, Module 2, Slot n3
    ASIC HUB Rev 5, 100 MHz, (nasid 2)
    Processor A: 300 MHz R12000 Rev 2.3
          Secondary Cache 8MB 200MHz Tap 0xa , (cpu 4)
      R12010FPC Rev 2.3
    Processor B: 300 MHz R12000 Rev 2.3
          Secondary Cache 8MB 200MHz Tap 0xa , (cpu 5)
      R12010FPC Rev 2.3
    Memory on board, 4096 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 0, 512 MBytes (Standard)  <-- (Software Bank 0)
      Bank 1, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 2, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 3, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 4, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 5, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 6, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 7, 512 MBytes (Standard)
IP27 Node Board, Module 2, Slot n4
    ASIC HUB Rev 5, 100 MHz, (nasid 3)
    Processor A: 250 MHz R10000 Rev 3.4
          Secondary Cache 4MB 250MHz Tap 0x9 , (cpu 6)
      R10010FPC Rev 3.4
    Processor B: 250 MHz R10000 Rev 3.4
          Secondary Cache 4MB 250MHz Tap 0x9 , (cpu 7)
      R10010FPC Rev 3.4
    Memory on board, 4096 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 0, 512 MBytes (Standard)  <-- (Software Bank 0)
      Bank 1, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 2, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 3, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 4, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 5, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 6, 512 MBytes (Standard)
      Bank 7, 512 MBytes (Standard)
BASEIO IO Board, Module 2, Slot io1
    ASIC BRIDGE Rev 3, (widget 8)
    adapter PCI-SCSI Rev 5
          (pci id 0)
        peripheral SCSI DISK, ID 1, SEAGATE ST336704LC
        peripheral SCSI DISK, ID 2, IBM-PSG DDYS-T18350M  M
    adapter PCI-SCSI Rev 5
          (pci id 1)
    adapter IOC3 Rev 1
          (pci id 2)
        controller multi function SuperIO
        controller Ethernet Rev 1
    adapter IOC3 Rev 1
          (pci id 6)
        controller multi function SuperIO
        controller Keyboard/Mouse
        controller Parallel Port
    adapter RAD
          (pci id 7)
MSCSI IO Board, Module 2, Slot io3
    ASIC BRIDGE Rev 3, (widget 15)
    adapter PCI-SCSI Rev 5
          (pci id 0)
    adapter PCI-SCSI Rev 5
          (pci id 1)
    adapter PCI-SCSI Rev 5
          (pci id 2)
    adapter PCI-SCSI Rev 5
          (pci id 3)
ASIC ROUTER , Module 2, Slot r1 (nasid 1)
ASIC ROUTER , Module 2, Slot r2 (nasid 3)
MIDPLANE, Module 2 Frequency 390 MHz
ASIC XBOW Rev 2, on midplane of Module 2
MIDPLANE, Module 2 Frequency 390 MHz
ASIC XBOW Rev 2, on midplane of Module 2
MARDIGRAS Graphics Board, Module 2, Slot io12


And gfxinfo:

Code:
Graphics board 0 is "IMPACTSR" graphics.
        Unmanaged 1280x1024
        Product ID 0x3, 2 GEs, 2 REs, 4 TRAMs
        MGRAS revision 4, RA revision 0
        HQ rev B, GE12 rev =, RE4 rev C, PP1 rev H,
        VC3 rev A, CMAP rev E
        unknown, assuming 19" monitor (id 0xf)

        Xvc info not available for unmanaged boards


New specs after more upgrades, mainly memory.
The hinv is for the system on the right, aptly named 'Chameleon' because of the "wrong" skins. :)

[Update: Fixed the dodgy memory bank and installed one more drive. Everything checks out ok now.]

/Matt


Attachments:
the_twins.jpg
the_twins.jpg [ 93.04 KiB | Viewed 2345 times ]

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's


Last edited by tesla on Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:42 pm, edited 10 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 11:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
A little bump.....

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 12:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
tesla wrote:
A little bump.....


A nice system tesla. You should consider adding /ur]gfx/gfxinfo -v to your hinv; it would be an interesting addition considering your MXE graphics installation.

A few photos of the system and a brief write up with photos on your modification to the XIO cage <to fit the full-height MXE board> might be helpful to others considering the same thing.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 1:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
Quote:
A nice system tesla. You should consider adding /ur]gfx/gfxinfo -v to your hinv; it would be an interesting addition considering your MXE graphics installation.


Thanks, I will do that.

Quote:
A few photos of the system and a brief write up with photos on your modification to the XIO cage <to fit the full-height MXE board> might be helpful to others considering the same thing.


Hmm, I thought that had already been covered elsewhere. I read the SI-hack thread and winged it a bit when I installed my MXE. Of course a guide to others could be a nice addition. I will do that.

/Matt

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
bump bump

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
Quote:
Very nice! So you finally managed with the hack, congratulations. :)

Thank you! Yes, finally!
Well, I'm not really done with it. I'm using a loaned SSE-card, so until I get a new MXE it will remain "incomplete". But at least everything works now.

Oh, there's also some glitch with the video resolution that I didn't see at first. Apparently my Samsung SyncMaster 226BW doesn't sync correctly to the resolution set in display manager. I downloaded the correct VFO-file (1680x1050@60) but the screen shows up misaligned and is too big to fit on the screen.
I discovered the problem when maximizing a window. Don't really know how to fix that really. Maybe I have to play around compiling new VFO-files or just use another monitor if all else fails.
First I thought it was because I use two cables and an adaptor. I plugged the monitor in directly (via 13w3 adaptor) but the problem persisted. I actually had to revert to the 1600x1024@72 option in display manager because that actually works better than the downloaded "correct" VFO-file. :roll:
I really want as sharp picture as in the attached screenshot. It kinda wears on the eyes otherwise. :(

Quote:
Are you going to be creating some great graphics soon? By the way, how is the system recognized in the (GUI) System Manager? A screenshot (or more, in general, of course) would be nice, or some pictures of the entire setup (with monitor and such), if it's no trouble of course.

Actually this is going to be my main (SGI) workstation. I've gotten my hands of some pretty nifty 3D and video software that I will be exploring in the upcoming months. Thanks to deBug for those 90 Gigs. :mrgreen:

I've attached a screenshot of system manager. What's interesting in that picture are the CPU's. Only four are identified and it says R10k@300MHz. :roll:
Should be R12k's and the other (not displayed) are four R10k@250MHz.
Also, secondary instruction-data cache is nonexistent. :roll:

/Matt


Attachments:
snap2.jpg
snap2.jpg [ 349.4 KiB | Viewed 2269 times ]

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's
Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
Quote:
Excuse me for my belated answer.

No problem, I have had a busy time too.

Quote:
By the way, is there any particular reason that only the Impact graphics card work for the hack? I mean, would it be possible to upgrade (or perhaps hack) the PROM to support VPro graphics also? (Has anyone tried that?)

I really don't know. i think this hardware is just one generation too old to support the VPro gfx. I may be wrong about the previous statement but it has been tried and failed a couple of times. Search the forums, hardware section I believe, and you will find the relevant posts. Maybe a hacked prom could do the trick, but that's out of my league.

Quote:
That it stretches outside of the viewing region? If so, I have that problem also. I need to look what is causing that. Say, are you an IFFFS user? (Or do you intend on using that?)

Yep, the monitor doesn't seem to sync correctly although it's the correct resolution. Very strange, but I will look into it when I get the time. Sorry, I don't think I know what IFFFS is?

Quote:
Wow, and congratulations for that too! :D

Yeah, hardware is cool but without fun software it's just a nice furniture. :D

Quote:
Odd! I hope you get this sorted out as well (have you made any progress in the meantime?), but at least it recognizes it as an Onyx2. :)

I think it's IRIX that has problems detecting it. I'm quite sure it's just a bug of some sort. Doesn't affect the hardware though.
In the meantime I have, as you can see in my signature, obtained a two rack O2000 and also an Octane. The racks have 16 x R10k@250MHz and 16 x R12k@300MHz and plenty of RAM. The Octane was just a low spec R10k@195MHZ with 256MB RAM and SI gfx, but it made my collection a bit more complete since I didn't have one of those.

I have also upgraded the fake Onyx2 deskside with another R12k-300 board. I guess I'll have to settle with a fake Onyx2 until a real one pops up somewhere.
I will update the hinv when time permits. I have my focus on the racks at the moment. :mrgreen:

/Matt

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:38 pm
Posts: 429
Location: Socal
You guys with your good looking desksides are killing me!

One day, my friends, I'll join the club. One day... :)

_________________
:Onyx2: :Fuel: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :O3x0:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
Quote:
IFFFS is a collection term for the Autodesk (formerly Discreet [Logic]) high-end effects & editing ‘suites’: Inferno, Flame, Flint (a.k.a. Effect), Fire, Smoke (from effects to editing, ordered from most to least expensive). I'm sure you've heard of at least one of those. If not, but in general, there are great press pictures of such setups in the Nekochan.net gallery.

Ok, now I'm with you. Yes, those programs are familiar. I haven't used one of them but a couple of them are in my collection. That's actually some of the programs that I'm going to try out.

Quote:
Quote:
I think it's IRIX that has problems detecting it. I'm quite sure it's just a bug of some sort. Doesn't affect the hardware though.

I see. Well, that's good to hear, but I can imagine it's a bit a nag.

Yes, it's a minor irritant. At leas I know what I have. :D

Quote:
Quote:
I have also upgraded the fake Onyx2 deskside with another R12k-300 board. I guess I'll have to settle with a fake Onyx2 until a real one pops up somewhere.
I will update the hinv when time permits. I have my focus on the racks at the moment. :mrgreen:

There's an IR2E one for sale in the Netherlands, on the auction site Marktplaats.nl. But the shipping costs would probably be horrible, even for a relatively small distance (compared to, say, from North America).
[/quote]
Yes I have seen that one. Actually the only thing I need is the bare gfx-module. No skins or wheelbase. Unfortunately I have just had some unforseen accidents and expenses that prohibits me to make any more investments at the moment. But as you say, shipping is expensive no matter what.
One of those days I will get my hands on some IR-gear.

/Matt

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
bigD wrote:
You guys with your good looking desksides are killing me!

One day, my friends, I'll join the club. One day... :)


Of course you will! :D
One day a deskside will hit you too. Keep your eyes peeled in the meantime. ;)

/Matt

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 7:17 pm
Posts: 337
Location: NYC
Not sure if mxe-onyx would work with I&F for the FFFI.

My conversion of the 2100 is incomplete as i cannot find cheap MXE card and IOG-6. Did tried booting it up with a SE with the IOG-6 from my onxy2 and it worked great.

Perhaps you can test out the incomplete Vpro graphics hack for your next project. No one seems to be able to do that yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 254
Location: Scania, Sweden
Quote:
Not sure if mxe-onyx would work with I&F for the FFFI.

No no, sorry if I confused things here, I thought of converting one of the O2k racks to an Onyx2 rack by replacing one CPU-module with a gfx-module. That should work, shouldn't it? I mean pure IR-gfx?

Quote:
My conversion of the 2100 is incomplete as i cannot find cheap MXE card and IOG-6. Did tried booting it up with a SE with the IOG-6 from my onxy2 and it worked great.

Yes, I know exactly what you mean. MXE's don't pour out of the ears nowadays. :)

Quote:
Perhaps you can test out the incomplete Vpro graphics hack for your next project. No one seems to be able to do that yet.

Someday, someday. Anyone want to donate a V-card for experimental purposes? Just fire away. ;)

/Matt

_________________
If I can't fix it I can fix it so it can't be fixed.
:O2000: :O2000:+MXE/IO6G :Onyx:[RE2] :Fuel: :O200: :Octane:x3 :Octane2: :O2:x2 :1600SW:x3 :Indigo2IMP:x2 :Indigo2:x2 :Indigo: :Indy:x5 :320:x2, 2xSparcStation 20 and a horde of PC's


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 5:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 7:17 pm
Posts: 337
Location: NYC
Here's a small write-up on how to fit the mxe into the origin:
http://www.11-102.com/11_102/sgi/Entrie ... I_mod.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3830
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
eMGee wrote:
Or you could hack in a router, then connect them both. But then I guess at least one of the two wouldn't fit its skins anymore...

An O2k deskside with 8 CPUs / 4 nodeboards already has two routers, and the front skin has a small panel that can be taken out:


Attachments:
runningdualdesksides2.jpg
runningdualdesksides2.jpg [ 313.85 KiB | Viewed 1936 times ]

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group