Octane 2

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
uunix
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Octane 2

Unread postby uunix » Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:58 pm

So, it's been such a long time since I tinkered with my SGI and even visited this site. I've got a fair few SGI boxen, 99.9% of them stuck with my ex-wife. All I've had left for the last 6 years is my 128Mb O2 with SW1600 option display.

Two weeks back I downloaded an app for my phone called SHPOCK. It's a simple location based selling app. I searched SGI and it came back with an interesting result. £30 (UK POUNDS) for Octane 2 with a model number.

Location, London, collection only and I live 100 odd miles away in Birmingham. Someone had asked what it was, the owner replied 'HARD DISK'. I could not get the owner to deliver. So I had to go down. Please note that, this story is in no way a mocking of the sellers, some people know things others know other things etc. So I went down.

Apparently, mother worked at some film studio in London that went bust and was given (legally) the BOX!

I gave them an extra £10 for a takaway or some wine, and put it in the car. I knew (and had told them), that I suspected this machine was worth more than £30, but they'd had no success on ebay, possible comination, they couldn't describe it and they wouldn't deliver.

I took a quick glance as I put the seat belt round it and noticed a few things.. it had 2 DVI outs and a DAT drive. Add that to the fact it was from a film company and my journey home was alight with images of part made films, excellent media softwere etc.

Got home at 9pm and plugged it in..

No root passwd.. excellent, had a look round, found nothing software interesting.

The hinv though...

Code: Select all

OCTANE 4# hinv -vm
Location: /hw/node
      PM20600MHZ Board: barcode MLD086     part 030-1778-001 rev  C
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15
            IP30 Board: barcode LMF635     part 030-1467-001 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15/pci/2
    PWR.SPPLY.ER Board: barcode AAE1140055 part 060-0035-002 rev  A
             FP1 Board: barcode MGL353     part 030-0891-003 rev  J
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/13
        XTALKPCI Board: barcode MDJ659     part 030-0952-005 rev  E
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/11
  ODY128VERSIONB Board: barcode LLG968     part 030-1611-001 rev  C
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/10
       XTALK_PCI Board: barcode MGY465     part 030-1275-004 rev  A
2 600 MHZ IP30 Processors
Heart ASIC: Revision F
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.4
FPU: MIPS R14010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 3584 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
  Disk drive / removable media: unit 2 on SCSI controller 0: 720K/1.44M floppy
  Tape drive: unit 3 on SCSI controller 0: DAT
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
Integral SCSI controller 2: Version Fibre Channel QL2340, 33 MHz PCI
Integral SCSI controller 3: Version Fibre Channel QL2340, 33 MHz PCI
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V12
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Gigabit Ethernet: tg1, PCI slot 1
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0005) PCI slot 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x14e4, device 0x1645) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x2312) PCI slot 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x2312) PCI slot 1
Dual Channel Display

Code: Select all

Graphics board 0 is "ODYSSEY" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 2560x1024
        BUZZ version B.1
        PB&J version 1
        128MB memory
                Banks: 4, CAS latency: 3
        Compositor port 0 attached to channel 0 nic 0x1004a768
         Monitor 0 type: Unknown
        Dual Channel Display option
         Monitor 1 type: SNY -19200      Monitor 2 type: VSC 12833
        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (2@1280x1024_60)
        Channel 1:
         Origin = (1280,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (2@1280x1024_60)


So £40 (plus fuel) well spent.

I know need to work out how to get different resoultions of my two monitors.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :1600SW: :Indy:

User avatar
vishnu
Posts: 2141
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Aug 23, 2014 1:40 pm

Holy cha-ching! :shock:

Caveat emptor - venditor... :mrgreen:
Last edited by vishnu on Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3021
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby josehill » Sat Aug 23, 2014 1:47 pm

Well done!

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Posts: 1141
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sat Aug 23, 2014 1:49 pm

Very nice!

Pics!
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

uunix
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby uunix » Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:24 pm

Here she is.. fscking awesome...

Notice the IBM 285 Power under the desk..
Attachments
photo.JPG
photo.JPG (37.29 KiB) Viewed 695 times
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :1600SW: :Indy:

uunix
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby uunix » Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:44 pm

And this is what she has replaced
Attachments
photo1.JPG
photo1.JPG (29.25 KiB) Viewed 687 times
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :1600SW: :Indy:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Posts: 1141
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sat Aug 23, 2014 3:23 pm

Outstanding, though I couldn't see the 285 in that pic.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

uunix
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby uunix » Sat Aug 23, 2014 3:33 pm

The 285 is under the desk.. I got it from an ex-westland Designer who needed a key for catia.

It's a nice box.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :1600SW: :Indy:

User avatar
vishnu
Posts: 2141
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Aug 23, 2014 3:55 pm

Thing of beauty! 8-)

Did you have to do anything funky with your Octane's vof file to get it to display to your flatscreen?
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby recondas » Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:06 pm

Nice Octane2 - congratulations!

uunix wrote:I know need to work out how to get different resoultions of my two monitors.
Unfortunately having each channel display a different resolution is a no-go as far as the V12/DCD hardware is concerned. If you open xsetmon and scroll through the list of display resolutions, you should see several prefaced with "2@" (such as 2@1600x1200_60). Those are intended for use when a DCD is attached. 2@1600x1200_60 would output two 1600x1200 displays and result in a 3200x1200 desktop.

Here's an example of the output of /usr/gfx/gfxinfo -vv with a 2@ display format:

Code: Select all

# /usr/gfx/gfxinfo -vv
Graphics board 0 is "ODYSSEY" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 3200x1200
        BUZZ version B.1
        PB&J version 1
        128MB memory
                Banks: 4, CAS latency: 3
         Monitor 0 type: Unknown
        Dual Channel Display option
         Monitor 1 type: VSC 4892        Monitor 2 type: VSC 4892
        Input Sync: Voltage - Video Level; Source - Internal; Genlocked - False
        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1600 pixels, 1200 lines, 60.00Hz (2@1600x1200_60_ds)
         Video Format Flags:  (none)
         Sync Disabled
         Using Gamma Map 0
         Monitor Type:  VSC-4892
         Gain (all color components) - 0.000000 ; range [1,10]
        Channel 1:
         Origin = (1600,0)
         Video Output: 1600 pixels, 1200 lines, 60.00Hz (2@1600x1200_60_ds)
         Video Format Flags:  (none)
         Sync Disabled
         Using Gamma Map 0
         Monitor Type:  VSC-4892
         Gain (all color components) - 0.000000 ; range [1,10]
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
Trippynet
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby Trippynet » Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:45 am

Bargain of the century!

Ian Mapleson sells an Octane similar to that (only 2GB of RAM). Price is £1,850.

Either way, you've picked up a scorcher there for £30!
Systems in use:
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
Other systems in storage: :O2: x 2, :Indy: x 2

uunix
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby uunix » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:07 am

Vishnu, no I did nothing special, it just worked... until now... I've been playing with xsetmon and have now managed to set my displays out of range.
I can telnet in but setmon can not configure, anyone know how to set it all back to 1280x1024? looking for a config file I suppose?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :1600SW: :Indy:

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby recondas » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:20 am

uunix wrote:Vishnu, no I did nothing special, it just worked... until now... I've been playing with xsetmon and have now managed to set my displays out of range.
I can telnet in but setmon can not configure, anyone know how to set it all back to 1280x1024? looking for a config file I suppose?


You can reset it to the default 1280x1024@60Hz with the command /usr/gfx/setmon -x 1280x1024_60 followed by a reboot.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

uunix
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby uunix » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:44 am

Yes, had to boot into single user mode, telnet wasn't liking it, couldn't boot single user because the = key was displaying / so had to reset keyboard to US.. ah man.. always a wall in front of you lol..

Back up now though.. thanks.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :1600SW: :Indy:

chicaneuk
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:48 am

Re: Octane 2

Unread postby chicaneuk » Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:15 am

That's an unbelievable bargain - great find!

Does surprise me how little research some people are willing to do into things they own, just preferring to dump them cheaply. The guy could have sold that for many times more than £40!
:Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Octane2:


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest