The $20 Origin 2000

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
87Porsche
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: Olathe, KS USA
Contact:

The $20 Origin 2000

Unread postby 87Porsche » Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:04 pm

http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?t=11599

Code: Select all

Location: /hw/module/1/slot/n1/node
        MODULEID Board: barcode K0008510   part              rev   
            IP27 Board: barcode DGR329     part 030-1266-001 rev  C
       8P12_MPLN Board: barcode FLC427     part 013-1547-003 rev  E
Location: /hw/module/1/slot/io1/baseio
          BASEIO Board: barcode GAT820     part 030-1124-002 rev  J
1 180 MHZ IP27 Processor
CPU: MIPS R10000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.6
FPU: MIPS R10010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 2.6
CPU 0 at Module 1/Slot 1/Slice A: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
Main memory size: 256 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 1 Mbyte
Memory at Module 1/Slot 1: 256 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 128 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 1 contains 128 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, module 1, slot io1, pci 2
Origin BASEIO board, module 1 slot 1: Revision 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 4265, device 3) pci slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 4215, device 4128) pci slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 4215, device 4128) pci slot 1
IOC3/IOC4 external interrupts: 1
HUB in Module 1/Slot 1: Revision 5 Speed 90.00 Mhz (enabled)
IP27prom in Module 1/Slot n1: Revision 6.129
IO6prom on Global Master Baseio in Module 1/Slot io1: Revision 6.129


The good: It had an MSCSI board and a 4-port serial/nic board. I can sacrifice the MSCSI frame for an ESI card. And the serial/nic board found its way into my O2100 because everyone needs at least 6 nics. Five good sleds and five identical HD's. Working CDROM. Fired right up on the first try, AND my O2100 key worked in it. I guess all those keys are the same.

The bad: All the skins were cracked and broken except for the top cover, and the tinted sliding drive cover. Contained 26 1/3 pounds of dust. I collected it and weighed it.

The ugly: Single 180MHz CPU and 256MB RAM. My R5K Indy won't stop laughing at it. Nothing an eBay nodeboard can't fix.

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Unread postby kshuff » Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:16 am

I still have three 180 and three 250 MHz R10K nodeboards if you need them :wink:
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
87Porsche
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: Olathe, KS USA
Contact:

Unread postby 87Porsche » Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:52 pm

Upgraded...


Code: Select all

Location: /hw/module/1/slot/n1/node
        MODULEID Board: barcode K0008510   part              rev
            IP27 Board: barcode DBA411     part 030-0733-003 rev  P
       8P12_MPLN Board: barcode FLC427     part 013-1547-003 rev  E
Location: /hw/module/1/slot/n2/node
            IP27 Board: barcode DWN883     part 030-0733-003 rev  J
Location: /hw/module/1/slot/n3/node
            IP27 Board: barcode DWN723     part 030-0733-003 rev  J
Location: /hw/module/1/slot/n4/node
            IP27 Board: barcode DGR329     part 030-1266-001 rev  C
Location: /hw/module/1/slot/r1/router
      ROUTER-IR1 Board: barcode DVP211     part 030-0841-002 rev  G
Location: /hw/module/1/slot/r2/router
      ROUTER-IR1 Board: barcode DVP176     part 030-0841-002 rev  G
Location: /hw/module/1/slot/io1/baseio
          BASEIO Board: barcode GAT820     part 030-1124-002 rev  J
8 180 MHZ IP27 Processors
CPU: MIPS R10000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.6
FPU: MIPS R10010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 2.6
CPU 0 at Module 1/Slot 1/Slice A: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
CPU 1 at Module 1/Slot 1/Slice B: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
CPU 2 at Module 1/Slot 2/Slice A: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
CPU 3 at Module 1/Slot 2/Slice B: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
CPU 4 at Module 1/Slot 3/Slice A: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
CPU 5 at Module 1/Slot 3/Slice B: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
CPU 6 at Module 1/Slot 4/Slice A: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
CPU 7 at Module 1/Slot 4/Slice B: 180 Mhz MIPS R10000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.6. Scache: Size 1 MB Speed 120 Mhz  Tap 0x9
Main memory size: 2048 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 1 Mbyte
Memory at Module 1/Slot 1: 512 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Memory at Module 1/Slot 2: 512 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Memory at Module 1/Slot 3: 512 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Memory at Module 1/Slot 4: 512 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
ROUTER in Module 1/Slot 2: Revision 2: Active Ports [3,4,5,6] (enabled)
ROUTER in Module 1/Slot 4: Revision 2: Active Ports [3,4,5,6] (enabled)
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, module 1, slot io1, pci 2
Origin BASEIO board, module 1 slot 1: Revision 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
IOC3/IOC4 external interrupts: 1
HUB in Module 1/Slot 1: Revision 3 Speed 90.00 Mhz (enabled)
HUB in Module 1/Slot 2: Revision 3 Speed 90.00 Mhz (enabled)
HUB in Module 1/Slot 3: Revision 3 Speed 90.00 Mhz (enabled)
HUB in Module 1/Slot 4: Revision 5 Speed 90.00 Mhz (enabled)
IP27prom in Module 1/Slot n1: Revision 6.156
IP27prom in Module 1/Slot n2: Revision 6.156
IP27prom in Module 1/Slot n3: Revision 6.156
IP27prom in Module 1/Slot n4: Revision 6.156
IO6prom on Global Master Baseio in Module 1/Slot io1: Revision 6.156

User avatar
Mare
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 7:31 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Unread postby Mare » Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:06 am

Bet the indy isnt laughing anymore :lol:

User avatar
87Porsche
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: Olathe, KS USA
Contact:

Unread postby 87Porsche » Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:31 pm

Mare wrote:Bet the indy isnt laughing anymore :lol:


Nope. Thanks to 'kshuff'.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Unread postby recondas » Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:43 pm

87Porsche wrote:Upgraded...


Not bad for a twenty buck computer :wink:

Thought about doing the MGRAS graphics hack? An eight processor deskside workstation is nice <and might get a different emotion out of your Indy>

User avatar
87Porsche
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: Olathe, KS USA
Contact:

Unread postby 87Porsche » Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:43 pm

recondas wrote:
87Porsche wrote:Upgraded...


Not bad for a twenty buck computer :wink:

Thought about doing the MGRAS graphics hack? An eight processor deskside workstation is nice <and might get a different emotion out of your Indy>



$184 is where I'm at on it now. $20 for the machine, plus $125 for the nodeboards and routers, plus $85 for the RAM, minus $46 from selling 4 of the 5 sleds. :D

Now I just need to figure out what is keeping it in "overheat" mode all the time. Even with the door shut and the window open, 44 degrees outside, the temp light stays on and the fans run full blast. Temp sensor, dead fan, etc., who knows.

If I installed the MGRAS board I'd put it in my 2100. I've got all the other parts already in there ready to go. But I'm still on the fence about it. I can't decide between ESI, ESI+T, cutting some metal for an MXE, or waiting for the Onyx2 on eBay that 'vomark' is selling to drop even more in price. I'm pretty sure that thing was 5 grand not too long ago. It would definitely be worth the long boring ass drive from KC to Chicago for that thing.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Unread postby recondas » Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:24 pm

87Porsche wrote: $184 is where I'm at on it now. $20 for the machine, plus $125 for the nodeboards and routers, plus $85 for the RAM, minus $46 from selling 4 of the 5 sleds. :D
184 bucks for an 8 processor O2k - that had to hurt :wink:

87Porsche wrote:Now I just need to figure out what is keeping it in "overheat" mode all the time. Even with the door shut and the window open, 44 degrees outside, the temp light stays on and the fans run full blast. Temp sensor, dead fan, etc., who knows.

Any "fan fail" messages showing up in the MSC? < or anything showing up if you connect to one of the diagnostic ports during boot?>

87Porsche wrote:If I installed the MGRAS board I'd put it in my 2100. I've got all the other parts already in there ready to go. But I'm still on the fence about it. I can't decide between ESI, ESI+T, cutting some metal for an MXE


Metal cutting <to fit an MXE>might not be necessary - the few I've seen have a plastic grid to support the XIO boards <somebody recently posted that he'd taken the entire grid out rather than cut it>.

87Porsche wrote:.... or waiting for the Onyx2 on eBay that 'vomark' is selling to drop even more in price. I'm pretty sure that thing was 5 grand not too long ago. It would definitely be worth the long boring ass drive from KC to Chicago for that thing.


You've been watching that too :lol: It's kinda like watching one of those old school soap operas <tune in next week to see what happens as the world turns> the suspense is killin' me :roll:

User avatar
87Porsche
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: Olathe, KS USA
Contact:

Unread postby 87Porsche » Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:50 pm

This is about all I get.

Code: Select all

4A 000: Starting PROM Boot process
2A 000: Starting PROM Boot process
1A 000: Starting PROM Boot process
3A 000: Starting PROM Boot process
4A 000:
4A 000:
4A 000: IP27 PROM SGI Version 6.156  built 11:27:56 AM Nov 18, 2003
2A 000:
2A 000:
2A 000: IP27 PROM SGI Version 6.156  built 11:27:56 AM Nov 18, 2003
4A 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............      DONE
4B 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............      DONE
2A 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............      DONE
2B 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............      DONE
3A 000:
3A 000:
3A 000: IP27 PROM SGI Version 6.156  built 11:27:56 AM Nov 18, 2003
1A 000: Using console at /hw/module/1/slot/io1
3A 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............      DONE
3B 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............      DONE
1B 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............      DONE
4A 000: Copying PROM code to memory ...............      DONE
2A 000: Copying PROM code to memory ...............      DONE
3A 000: Copying PROM code to memory ...............      DONE
4A 000: Discovering local IO ......................      DONE
2A 000: Discovering local IO ......................      DONE
4A 000: Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........      DONE
4A 000: Found 6 objects (4 hubs, 2 routers) in 212923 usec
2A 000: Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........      DONE
2A 000: Found 6 objects (4 hubs, 2 routers) in 82886 usec
3A 000: Discovering local IO ......................      DONE
3A 000: Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........      DONE
3A 000: Found 6 objects (4 hubs, 2 routers) in 82880 usec
2A 000: Waiting for peers to complete discovery....      DONE
2A 000: Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n1
3A 000: Waiting for peers to complete discovery....      DONE
3A 000: Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n1
4A 000: Waiting for peers to complete discovery....      DONE
4A 000: Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n1
4A 000: 3A 000: 2A 000:
2A 001: Testing/Initializing all memory ...........      DONE
4A 003: Testing/Initializing all memory ...........      DONE
3A 002: Testing/Initializing all memory ...........      DONE
4A 003: Checking partitioning information .........      DONE
2A 001: Checking partitioning information .........      DONE
3A 002: Checking partitioning information .........      DONE
4B 003: Local slave entering slave loop
2B 001: Local slave entering slave loop
3B 002: Local slave entering slave loop
4A 003: Local master entering slave loop
1B 000: Local slave entering slave loop
2A 001: Local master entering slave loop
3A 002: Local master entering slave loop

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Unread postby kshuff » Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:12 pm

87Porsche wrote:[
Now I just need to figure out what is keeping it in "overheat" mode all the time. Even with the door shut and the window open, 44 degrees outside, the temp light stays on and the fans run full blast. Temp sensor, dead fan, etc., who knows.


That seems to be the norm, mine runs fast fans and the temp high light is always on. It is very rare that I've seen it run with normal fans, my friends O2k is the same way.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
whiter
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:02 pm
Location: Winterthur, Switzerland
Contact:

Unread postby whiter » Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:18 pm

Maybe something to do with having 8 CPU's ?

My Onyx2 (4 CPU's) rarely goes to high-fan mode. I keep the room it's in pretty cool. I must say it hits high-fan pretty quickly when temperature rises, which will ofcourse happen easily with double the amount of CPU's. Might be just like the Octane's: high-fan as soon as a number of XIO slots is in use.
Shall I describe it to you? Or do you want me to get you a box?

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Unread postby recondas » Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:38 pm

Looks normal - maybe eight 180s just run hot :roll:

My eight processor deskside runs the fans in high for 5 or 10 minutes after I start it up, the it settles down <unless I let the ambient temp get a little too warm>.

You can change the fan speed via the MSC <much like the 'fastfan' PROM command on an Octane>, but that might not be a good thing if the system needs the cooling to function correctly.

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Unread postby kshuff » Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:45 pm

recondas wrote:Looks normal - maybe eight 180s just run hot :roll:

My eight processor deskside runs the fans in high for 5 or 10 minutes after I start it up, the it settles down <unless I let the ambient temp get a little too warm>.

You can change the fan speed via the MSC <much like the 'fastfan' PROM command on an Octane>, but that might not be a good thing if the system needs the cooling to function correctly.


Yeah, I don't think I want to screw with the setting, my Origin has 7 of the 8 processors pegged at 100% crunching for Seti, so I guess the cpu's are throwing some heat :wink:
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
87Porsche
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: Olathe, KS USA
Contact:

Unread postby 87Porsche » Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:32 pm

But it has done this since day one. With one nodeboard, once CPU, and no routers installed. Bare bones.

My 2100 fans turn on and off as expected.

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Unread postby kshuff » Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:53 pm

87Porsche wrote:But it has done this since day one. With one nodeboard, once CPU, and no routers installed. Bare bones.

My 2100 fans turn on and off as expected.


Maybe a bad thermocouple?
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest