Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Softimage|3D V4.0
Unread postPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 4:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:09 am
Posts: 107
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Any one know if SI3D 4.0 will take advantage of dual procs?

_________________
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Softimage|3D V4.0
Unread postPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: New York
Soft3D was generally a single-threaded app. I think the only feature to use multiple CPUs was MentalRay.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Softimage|3D V4.0
Unread postPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:09 am
Posts: 107
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Thats what I was afraid of... So its probably makes more sense to upgrade to a faster proc instead of going dual... right?

_________________
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Softimage|3D V4.0
Unread postPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: New York
Yes. What kind of system are you running it on?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Softimage|3D V4.0
Unread postPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 7:57 am
Posts: 2223
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
bjames wrote:
Thats what I was afraid of... So its probably makes more sense to upgrade to a faster proc instead of going dual... right?


Right. SGI offers these $595 Octane2 600mhz,V6 machines for quite a while. But a used FUEL comes cheaper ;)

regards
Joerg

_________________
http://www.irixworld.net
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Softimage|3D V4.0
Unread postPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:09 am
Posts: 107
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Im running it on a R12K 300mhz Octane MXI, 1 gig ram. Looking at maxing out the ram, drop in a faster proc and replacing the system disk with a 10K rpm drive.

I cant upgrade to a fuel as I wont be able to re-license SI as it is no longer supported. The Octane 2 should be ok as long as I transfer my sisID modual from the old system. I looked at upgrading to an octane 2, but in order to outfit it similar to what I have, it will cost a lot more.

_________________
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Softimage|3D V4.0
Unread postPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 5:10 pm
Posts: 9695
bjames wrote:
... replacing the system disk with a 10K rpm drive.

Recently replaced the 10k disk in my O2 with a 15k disk. It's quicker (for some things) quieter and cooler. Plus 15k disks are not so expensive these days if you are an eBay scrounger.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group