Photo Editting Software

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Shtoink

Photo Editting Software

Unread postby Shtoink » Mon Feb 03, 2003 11:49 am

Is there anyhting that is actually intuitive and useful for editting photos under IRIX other than GIMP and PhotoShop 3?

I have been using PhotoShop for many years, but I really like versions 5.5, 6 and 7, and none of these are availble for anything other than windows or Mac.

I tried using GIMP the the other day and found it to be very limited and horribly painful to use. There is an enorous lack of intuitiveness in the interface and menues. I imagine there is probably a way to dock the windows and make it a little less cluttered, but it still lacks a nice menu system, tools that are common to something like what PhotoShop has. It might take some getting used to, but I find to be just plain ugly.

Another thing that really makes me frustrated is the cursors. In PS when you adjust the brush size the cursor changes size as well. I'd love to have to have an outline of my brush so I can at least see where the heck it's gonna put a spoltch on the image when I click. I don't want to guess at it all the time, I want to know for sure.

I may just have to save some money up and get a new Mac, see if there is a way to run x2x and import my PS session on the Mac to my I2. I sure hope there is something out there that is far easier to use than GIMP and more recent than PS3.

nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Photo Editting Software

Unread postby nekonoko » Mon Feb 03, 2003 1:13 pm

GIMP takes some getting used to, but it can actually be quite a cool tool. It does have a different interface paradigm than Photoshop so it can seem alien at first, though there's actually very little that you can't do with GIMP once you learn how everything works.