SoftImage HALP!

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:15 pm

So, I've figured out how to make a cube, scale that cube, and subdivide that cube. WHOO HOO!

But...

I can't figure out how to select a face or an edge or vertices, etc.

I've been following this guy doing a SI demo, but I'm stuck at the part where he's selecting faces to extrude them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVPawEVWDT8

Sadly there are next to zero tutorials for SI 4 so I'm taking what I can get. :(
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
SiliconClassics
Posts: 1483
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:12 am

You need to choose the selection mode (object, polygon, etc) using the buttons at the bottom right of the screen - this guide should be helpful. Then you need to hold down the spacebar while you click an item to select / deselect it.

This online reference manual is a good place to start - it will tell you everything you need to know to navigate Soft|3D, and it includes a clickable interactive interface with information about each command.
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:10 am

THANK YOU, siliconclassics!! This is exactly what I need :mrgreen:
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:30 am

WHOO HOO!! I've been spending the morning going over those tutorials and have my first {shitty} render of something.

Image

Once you learn the interface, it's really intuitive. Unlike Blender. I hate Blender. It's so not user friendly.

I plan on getting Inside Softimage.
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
SiliconClassics
Posts: 1483
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:25 pm

Baby steps, haha. Looks like you're building a Cornell box? I presume you've got the Extreme version of Soft so you can get some radiosity going with Mental Ray?
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:44 pm

Yup. Building a Cornell Box. Now just need to figure out how to do things like radiosity, caustics, etc. I have that book coming, Inside Softimage. I only got it for $3 from Half Priced Books. It was like $37 on eBay!

I like SoftImage though. Once you go through the interface walkthrough, it really does make alot of sense. I think I'll have alot of fun with it. :D
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6574
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby foetz » Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:58 pm

keep in mind that things like radiosity or caustics were just starting when the irix era ended so the support for that is neither great nor fast. in most cases the rendertimes are more than long enough by just using soft area shadows already.
the irix stuff is used best for what it was made and that's mostly non GI things. just throwing in an environment light and one as key and expecting your lighting to be done as it is with many modern renderers is not the right way in this case. it needs a bit more creativity and skills to get a decent result.

as to softimage in particular, one simple but major thing is that by default there's some ambient light active. a first step on the road to a good result is to turn that down or off.

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:34 am

Indeed the sad fact is that Maya Unlimited 6.5 on IRIX has vastly more utilitarian utility than Softimage... :roll:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby praetor242 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:01 pm

I tried Maya 6.5 on my O2 and it puked. Softimage is super snappy. I've been watching alot of demo videos on Youtube (not that there are a ton) and it seems to be very capable for the things I want it to do, which is fart around with it and impress my friends on Facebook :P
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:21 pm

praetor242 wrote:I tried Maya 6.5 on my O2 and it puked.


I can believe that, it even strains my dual-600 MHz Octane II with a V12 and 8 gig of RAM. :shock:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6574
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby foetz » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:38 pm

praetor242 wrote:I tried Maya 6.5 on my O2 and it puked. Softimage is super snappy.

second gen. software (maya, xsi, houdini) did not run so well on everything less than an octane. especially late versions of these (xsi did actually never run well :P). hence the last maya on an o2 is not such a good idea.
for the real irix feeling (and gui speed) you want the first gen. apps like poweranimator, prisms or the softimage you have right now. they run significantly better.

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby praetor242 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:48 pm

I read somewhere (I think it was highend3d.com), that when Microsoft bought Softimage and turned it into Softimage|XSI, the IRIX version was just a half baked wrapper around the win32 version using something shitty like wine. Almost like they _intentionally_ made XSI on IRIX suck.

A few of these demo vids for S|3D are on Windows NT, and I don't buy for a second a Softimage on a Windows NT machine was faster than an IRIX machine. But I'm an SGI fanboy, so maybe I'm biased (but most likely not).
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6574
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby foetz » Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:42 pm

praetor242 wrote:I read somewhere (I think it was highend3d.com), that when Microsoft bought Softimage and turned it into Softimage|XSI, the IRIX version was just a half baked wrapper around the win32 version using something shitty like wine. Almost like they _intentionally_ made XSI on IRIX suck.

that's true. the wrapper they used was called "mainwin". it was also used for the linux version practically forcing the users to windows by that.

A few of these demo vids for S|3D are on Windows NT, and I don't buy for a second a Softimage on a Windows NT machine was faster than an IRIX machine. But I'm an SGI fanboy, so maybe I'm biased (but most likely not).

it wasn't faster but cheaper because you could buy a bunch of x86s for the price of one sgi and then it was faster if you ran them all at once.

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby praetor242 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:49 am

foetz wrote:it wasn't faster but cheaper because you could buy a bunch of x86s for the price of one sgi and then it was faster if you ran them all at once.


I can see that. A decked Octane would have been $40k, and an Origin to do rendering would cost a small fortune. There is something that seems so....gross....about Windows doing production 3D work though.
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6574
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: SoftImage HALP!

Unread postby foetz » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:06 am

praetor242 wrote:There is something that seems so....gross....about Windows doing production 3D work though.

hehe i agree which is why i never did that


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest