SoftImage|3d install

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby praetor242 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:17 pm

I I think I'm going to take a break from porting and try my hand at 3D work. SoftImage is enticing because of how many movies its done, but I'm having a problem.

I have SoftImage and a license, but if I try to install the license server, it fails. I'm not sure why because IRIX already has FlexLm, but if I try to import the license, it doesn't see it.

How do I get SI to see the license I have?
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby uunix » Sat Apr 15, 2017 12:48 am

iirc, the flexlm licence goes in a different place than normal. I will check for you.

[Edit]My licence is located at /usr/Softimage/Flexlm/licenses/softimage.lic
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
SiliconClassics
Posts: 1483
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Sat Apr 15, 2017 5:32 am

No need for a license server - just follow the instructions I posted in this thread:

viewtopic.php?t=16722455
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby praetor242 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:59 am

Oh sweet! Thanks alot :D
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby praetor242 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:15 pm

I got it all working :D But damned, it is super intimidating. I need to find some good tutorials for it.
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6575
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby foetz » Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:29 pm

we have quite some vet softies here. if you're stuck at something specific somebody should be able to help you out

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby praetor242 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:51 pm

I discovered how to make a cube :D
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6575
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby foetz » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:00 pm

praetor242 wrote:I discovered how to make a cube :D

all sorted then :P

User avatar
SiliconClassics
Posts: 1483
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: SoftImage|3d install

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:31 am

Jeremy Birn has a bunch of beginner Soft|3D tutorials on his web site. So does Ed Harriss. Probably a good place to start. There's also a New Riders book called "Inside Softimage|3D" that is probably the best guide aside from the original user's manuals. It goes for about $5 on eBay.
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest