Origin 200 used as render nodes?

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby Intuition » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:40 pm

Did anyone ever use the Origin 200 as render nodes in combination with an O2 or Octanes?

I remember you could hook up two of them for four processors in all.

Mostly I think people used them as storage drives but since they are servers did anyone use them as farm render nodes?

As in having extra threads for rendering frames on a single render or just a nice way to have firepower for Maya batch renders utilizing the procs and render cpus?
Image O2 - R12K-300 Mhz, 36 GB HD, 384 MB-RAM
Image O2 - R12K-400 Mhz 279 GB HD, 256 MB-RAM :1600SW: 1600sw
:O200: Origin 200 ??? Specs soon
aka Casey Christopher

computron
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:08 am
Location: france

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby computron » Sat Jul 30, 2016 2:40 am

i had use an Origin 2000 as render node and an Octane as display for it while using blender

cheers

Eve

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4746
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby pentium » Fri Aug 05, 2016 7:03 pm

Yeah you can craylink two machines together if you want the machines locally but for network render nodes it's totally possible.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby Intuition » Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:11 pm

Wow, just randomly today looking at old information stumbled upon an article which has a photo of a 1000 render node farm at PDI/Dreamworks in 2001 and lo a behold.... the nodes are all SGI Origin 200.

http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/4803

That must have been a million dollars+ of Origin 200.

JEEZ :o
Image O2 - R12K-300 Mhz, 36 GB HD, 384 MB-RAM
Image O2 - R12K-400 Mhz 279 GB HD, 256 MB-RAM :1600SW: 1600sw
:O200: Origin 200 ??? Specs soon
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby Dodoid » Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:34 pm

Intuition wrote:Wow, just randomly today looking at old information stumbled upon an article which has a photo of a 1000 render node farm at PDI/Dreamworks in 2001 and lo a behold.... the nodes are all SGI Origin 200.

http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/4803

That must have been a million dollars+ of Origin 200.

JEEZ :o


Well the article says 20% IRIX, so it would be 200 Origin 200s but still, lots of Origins.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby smj » Tue Aug 09, 2016 12:32 pm

Even before acquiring PDI, DreamWorks in Glendale was rendering using Linux. They have older Origin 200 servers running IRIX but are switching to much cheaper Pentium computers.

So I think the O200s in the photo were in Glendale, and the three racks of O2000s mentioned but not shown were in Palo Alto.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:56 pm

Almost makes you long for the days when the only organizations that could afford that much IRIX power were the movie studios that were making hundred million dollar blockbusters... :lol:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3333
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby josehill » Wed Aug 10, 2016 7:10 am

vishnu wrote:Almost makes you long for the days when the only organizations that could afford that much IRIX power were the movie studios that were making hundred million dollar blockbusters... :lol:

Don't forget the aircraft manufacturers, mining companies, drug companies, and auto manufacturers! Oh, and the government labs and weather services!

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:28 am

josehill wrote:
vishnu wrote:Almost makes you long for the days when the only organizations that could afford that much IRIX power were the movie studios that were making hundred million dollar blockbusters... :lol:

Don't forget the aircraft manufacturers, mining companies, drug companies, Big Pharma, and auto manufacturers! Oh, and the government labs and weather services!


There, fixed that for ya! ;)

Oh, and Big Oil too... :lol:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3333
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby josehill » Mon Aug 15, 2016 12:53 am

vishnu wrote:There, fixed that for ya! ;)

Hey, I resemble that remark! ;)

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Origin 200 used as render nodes?

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:19 am

josehill wrote:
vishnu wrote:There, fixed that for ya! ;)

Hey, I resemble that remark! ;)

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Attachments
groucho.jpg
groucho.jpg (30.05 KiB) Viewed 916 times
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest