Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby Intuition » Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:01 pm

Hello. I haven't been here in a while.

I still have my R12K O2 and it has Maya 4 and 5 as well as Lightwave and Softimage 3.x.x on it. Houdini as well.

I was looking at getting a maxxed out 400MHZ O2 or even seeing if I could get one of those modded 600mhz O2s.

My O2 was presetup from the purchase on Ebay loaded with software and goodies.

What I would like to do is just start from scratch with a base O2 that is clean with irix desktop and then just put the software on it that I want to run.

Only question is... how would one get these old software versions running? I mean I peruse Ebay here and there but irix versions of the old software are rare to see come up anymore. Is there a point where the Irix versions are now freeware/public domain or is there still a licensing/legal guideline to follow. I want to do it all legally but have no idea where to start. It is like digging up an old Egyptian tomb.

Thanks for any info you may have.

-Casey
Image O2 - R12K-300 Mhz, 36 GB HD, 384 MB-RAM
Image O2 - R12K-400 Mhz 279 GB HD, 256 MB-RAM :1600SW: 1600sw
:O200: Origin 200 ??? Specs soon
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:56 pm

Try calling any of the vendors of those programs you mentioned and asking to buy an IRIX version. They will say no. To that I say, get what you can, where you can and how you can! (ducks)
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

computron
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:08 am
Location: france

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby computron » Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:58 pm

you can get Blender 2.47 for Irix..... work fine, and support up to thousand of threads

EVe

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby Intuition » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:15 am

I know about Blender. Pretty cool application. Not one of my faves but quite capable none the less.

I've been doing CGI for a living since 1995. I've used Maya, 3dsmax, Softimage, Lightwave, modo, and all the specialist apps (zbrush, mudbox, realflow, etc) all the plugins (fumefx, rayfire, ICE, etc) as well as the render engines (Renderman, Mental Ray, vray, etc) to complete many projects over the years at different facilities.

My LinkedIn profile....

https://www.linkedin.com/in/casey-benn-3191b578

The whole goal of the new SGI machine is to recreate a workstation from the era as far as software is concerned. Though I may have to try out Blender on the current O2 just for a spin.

I just love Maya and Softimage culture and the entire CGI era of SGI from the 90s.

I got a few private messages from this thread which have lead me to a few options once I get a hold of an ideal O2.

Can anyone still get the 600MHZ O2 mods done? Is that still available or was that done by a specific person who doesn't do them anymore?

Thanks for any info.
Image O2 - R12K-300 Mhz, 36 GB HD, 384 MB-RAM
Image O2 - R12K-400 Mhz 279 GB HD, 256 MB-RAM :1600SW: 1600sw
:O200: Origin 200 ??? Specs soon
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby foetz » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:59 am

Intuition wrote:I just love Maya and Softimage culture and the entire CGI era of SGI from the 90s.

well then you should replace maya with poweranimator (alias). maya didn't play a big role in the 90s simply because it has only been released in 98.
the typical 90s pipeline, as you remember i guess, was alias for modeling, softimage for animation and renderman for rendering.

anyway nice to see you're interested in the classics. i hope you'll have much fun with your new o2 :-)

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby vishnu » Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:08 am

There are a ton of threads hereabout on the 600MHz O2 mod, I never paid much attention because I've never owned an O2 and my Octane2 already has 2 600MHz CPUs. That said, a 600MHz O2 would run Maya 6.5 Unlimited very nicely. :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby Intuition » Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:40 pm

vishnu wrote:There are a ton of threads hereabout on the 600MHz O2 mod, I never paid much attention because I've never owned an O2 and my Octane2 already has 2 600MHz CPUs. That said, a 600MHz O2 would run Maya 6.5 Unlimited very nicely. :mrgreen:


Its like I have to have one just cause someone made a super O2. :D
Image O2 - R12K-300 Mhz, 36 GB HD, 384 MB-RAM
Image O2 - R12K-400 Mhz 279 GB HD, 256 MB-RAM :1600SW: 1600sw
:O200: Origin 200 ??? Specs soon
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:02 pm

Intuition wrote:
vishnu wrote:There are a ton of threads hereabout on the 600MHz O2 mod, I never paid much attention because I've never owned an O2 and my Octane2 already has 2 600MHz CPUs. That said, a 600MHz O2 would run Maya 6.5 Unlimited very nicely. :mrgreen:


Its like I have to have one just cause someone made a super O2. :D

Well, though I'm sure you've seen this already I'll paste it in anyway, just for funzies: http://www.futuretech.blinkenlights.nl/o2cpumod.html :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1661
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby smj » Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:16 pm

Intuition wrote:Its like I have to have one just cause _____

I have no idea what you're talking about. (Looks at his own signature) D'oh!
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby Intuition » Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:13 am

Oh wow, you have a Next Cube!?

I've always wanted to try one out. :D

So cool.
---------- ON a separate Note... regarding above....

Here is the email I got about the 600MHZ Mods

---------------------------------------------------------------------His response in Blue..

Hello,

Found your page by way of the fellows at Nekochan.
A few questions about the 600 MHZ mod.

1. Do you still do this modification?
nope, sorry. I sold all the stuff to Khaled Schofield UK.
2. I saw you need a specific 5200 ish chipset?
It is the Xilinx "logic" chip - few bytes - that is different. Ask Khaled.
3. Cost if you still do it?
as far as I remember it has benn about 300 €, and a R5271 CPU was needed.

If you have a repair shop at hand ask if they can do BGA resoldering.
Not an easy task to do but no rocket science either.

Best if they have X-ray inspection at hand to see if all the balls are pretty.


Any other information you feel appropriate I would appreciate.

Thanks,
Casey B.

Cheers

So now I have to find Khaled Schofeild
Image O2 - R12K-300 Mhz, 36 GB HD, 384 MB-RAM
Image O2 - R12K-400 Mhz 279 GB HD, 256 MB-RAM :1600SW: 1600sw
:O200: Origin 200 ??? Specs soon
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby Intuition » Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:14 am

I also think I found a Maya 6.5 Irix. Can't test until I get new O2 or my current O2 back in LA which will be 2nd week of August.
Image O2 - R12K-300 Mhz, 36 GB HD, 384 MB-RAM
Image O2 - R12K-400 Mhz 279 GB HD, 256 MB-RAM :1600SW: 1600sw
:O200: Origin 200 ??? Specs soon
aka Casey Christopher

Shmed
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:02 am

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby Shmed » Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:13 pm

I have been meaning to start a thread about this for ages. I have hard copies from back in the day of Alias version 6, Alias version 7.5.1, and Advanced Visualizer 4.2.1. I really *love* the stuff from the late 80s and 90s that was made using Alias Wavefront software and it's the main reason I went out and got SGI hardware (Indigo 2). I have been able to get them installed, but I always run into problems beyond that. If anyone wants to talk about it and/or has any idea how to get past some of these roadblocks, please PM me. Thank you.

rooprob
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby rooprob » Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:37 am

What sort of problems? UNIX admin problems ?

Best!

Shmed wrote:I have been meaning to start a thread about this for ages. I have hard copies from back in the day of Alias version 6, Alias version 7.5.1, and Advanced Visualizer 4.2.1. I really *love* the stuff from the late 80s and 90s that was made using Alias Wavefront software and it's the main reason I went out and got SGI hardware (Indigo 2). I have been able to get them installed, but I always run into problems beyond that. If anyone wants to talk about it and/or has any idea how to get past some of these roadblocks, please PM me. Thank you.
:O2: r12 400 mapleleaf :Indigo2IMP: r10 195 IRIS :Cube: NeXT
New Zealand

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby spiroyster » Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:52 am

Intuition wrote:Hello,

Found your page by way of the fellows at Nekochan.
A few questions about the 600 MHZ mod.

1. Do you still do this modification?
nope, sorry. I sold all the stuff to Khaled Schofield UK.
2. I saw you need a specific 5200 ish chipset?
It is the Xilinx "logic" chip - few bytes - that is different. Ask Khaled.
3. Cost if you still do it?
as far as I remember it has benn about 300 €, and a R5271 CPU was needed.

If you have a repair shop at hand ask if they can do BGA resoldering.
Not an easy task to do but no rocket science either.

Best if they have X-ray inspection at hand to see if all the balls are pretty.


Any other information you feel appropriate I would appreciate.

Thanks,
Casey B.

Cheers

So now I have to find Khaled Schofeild


I, like many o2 owners around here, are no doubt interested in this and have been keeping an eye on events. However it sounds like some work still needs to be done before they can become available? I wish I had the expertise to contribute, but sadly do not for this campaign :(

http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16729196 was the last time I heard anything mentioned about it.

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Re: Getting the old 3D software on an SGI today?

Unread postby Intuition » Fri Jul 29, 2016 9:25 am

I mean, it looks like we have what we need overall. The CPU number and if a certain place can do BGA resoldering. Xray inspection best.

The only left over clue was inventory which he said he sold to Khaled so if we can find him. Maybe he has Khaled's contact info.

There is also IANs SGI Depot. Which seems to have lots of stuff available.

http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/sgidepot/

So maybe we can get the CPUs from Ian.?

I was tempted by the 400MHZ o2+. :D
Image O2 - R12K-300 Mhz, 36 GB HD, 384 MB-RAM
Image O2 - R12K-400 Mhz 279 GB HD, 256 MB-RAM :1600SW: 1600sw
:O200: Origin 200 ??? Specs soon
aka Casey Christopher


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest