New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
julesr
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:05 pm

New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby julesr » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:43 pm

I picked up a freebie Indigo2 the other week, which it turned out was in its original shipping box. Written on the box was 32MB and 1GB, so I wasn't necessarily expecting a lot (the previous owner had never tried running it since they acquired it), but still a cool machine to have in comparison to all the Indys I've goofed around with over the years. I mainly opted for it because the other choice was a teal I2, and personally I can't stand SGI teal ;)

Turned out that the box was misleading, and it's an ex-Cray machine with 195MHz R10k, 384MB, a pair of 4GB drives, and the Max Impact graphics set with the TRAM option. Oh, and the feet (damn, those machines look even better stood up on their sides!). Anyway, no complaints from me...

Unfortunately (but not surprisingly) Cray did everything via NFS mounts, so there's a bazillion mount points and not much else on the disks beyond the stock OS. So, to the point: obviously it would be nice to be able to show off the 3D capabilities - does anyone have any suggestions for available software that would stress the hardware a bit?

thanks!

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby foetz » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:56 pm

julesr wrote:does anyone have any suggestions for available software that would stress the hardware a bit?

suggestions, sure, have a look at http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/Catalog_of ... X_software

as far as "available" goes that could be a problem. oh and welcome here btw :D

julesr
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby julesr » Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:29 pm

Thanks - I'll take a look. It's not really obvious what purpose this machine served - it has a link to wingz and photoshop (but both on remote NFS mounted drives, not on local disk) on the desktop, but the system spec seems like overkill in both those cases. I suppose Cray being Cray maybe they'd just acquire the best systems they could even if they didn't need them :)

J.

robespierre
Posts: 1551
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby robespierre » Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:47 pm

I would look for Houdini Master, SoftImage 4.0, Lightwave 5.6, and Maya 6.5... they should all work on that machine.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby foetz » Mon Apr 13, 2015 8:06 pm

julesr wrote:I suppose Cray being Cray maybe they'd just acquire the best systems they could even if they didn't need them :)

isn't that what 98% of all home users do? :lol:

robespierre wrote:I would look for Houdini Master, SoftImage 4.0, Lightwave 5.6, and Maya 6.5... they should all work on that machine.

i'd recommend an older softimage and no maya. maya is so fat it even ran sluggish on an r12000 octane. older versions is the keyword here; prisms, wavefront, poweranimator, gig3d etc.. these were made for the indigo

gijoe77
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: NJ

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby gijoe77 » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:05 am

maybe blender too

User avatar
dukzcry
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:53 pm
Contact:

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby dukzcry » Thu Sep 17, 2015 3:24 am

del
Last edited by dukzcry on Tue May 23, 2017 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby foetz » Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:53 am

dukzcry wrote:So,
PRISMS -> Houdini,
PowerAnimator -> Maya.
Anything else to look at?

gig3d you meant ElectroGIG 3DGO.

Wavefront - isn't it a company name? :)

have a look at my reviews if you're interested in the details :-)

User avatar
dukzcry
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:53 pm
Contact:

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby dukzcry » Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:56 am

del
Last edited by dukzcry on Tue May 23, 2017 10:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10433
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby hamei » Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:27 pm

robespierre wrote:I would look for Houdini Master, SoftImage 4.0, Lightwave 5.6, and Maya 6.5... they should all work on that machine.

Lightwave runs like a rocket. Not sure why it isn't more popular ?
I spent a fortune on booze, birds, and fast cars ... the rest I just squandered

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6542
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby foetz » Thu Sep 17, 2015 7:39 pm

hamei wrote:
robespierre wrote:I would look for Houdini Master, SoftImage 4.0, Lightwave 5.6, and Maya 6.5... they should all work on that machine.

Lightwave runs like a rocket. Not sure why it isn't more popular ?

lightwave's modeler is great if you're fine with just polys. the renderer is neat, too. the rest however can't compete with the big names

mis
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 12:26 am

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby mis » Sun Nov 01, 2015 11:06 am

i ran lightwave back in the amiga days after i used imagine, and it ran rather okay on amiga
and it runs even better on my sgi O2 r5200 300 mhz
and it is my main 3d app on my workstation today, ofcause in a newer version then the 5,6 for irix
so ofcause i would defenetly recoment lightwave
:)
Best regards

MIS

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: New loaded Indigo2 - 3D software?

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:40 am

Speaking of Lightwave, they used it for pretty much all the special effects in Battlestar Galactica: Razor, they said in the DVD commentary that they knew Maya `would have been better` (I'm paraphrasing) but they `didn't have time.` Anyway, if you've ever seen Razor, it turned out very well. We've got Lightwave at work but I've never used it. Maya users are all too familiar with how it eats up time... :lol:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests