Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
gijoe77
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: NJ

Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby gijoe77 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:47 pm

I almost feel out of my seat today when I can across this! I've been looking for this for years... I had the CD's but lost CD 2 or whatever that had IRIX

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/alias-products/downloads/caas/downloads/content/studiotools-1302.html

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:17 pm

Uh, that looks like it's just the free upgrade from 13.00 to 13.02. Although if that's the case those Windows instructions don't make much sense. But the Irix dl is only 225 kilobytes...
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6579
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby foetz » Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:23 pm

ha nice find :P
sadly from v10 upwards the gui sucked

vishnu wrote:But the Irix dl is only 225 kilobytes...

MEGAbytes :P

gijoe77
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby gijoe77 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:46 pm

I can 100% verify it is a complete install of 13 and fully operational :)

foetz wrote:ha nice find :P
sadly from v10 upwards the gui sucked


do you mean from Version 10? It still looks like PowerAnimator to me :)
Attachments
13.jpg
Last edited by foetz on Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: merged

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6579
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby foetz » Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:21 pm

gijoe77 wrote:It still looks like PowerAnimator to me :)

no, the gui changed. it not only lacks contrast but first and foremost is way slower than the previous one that was in place before v10. starting with v10 they shifted their main focus to windows, how it ran on the other soon to be phased out machines didn't matter. they also dumped what was left of the animator branch step by step and started integrating studiopaint which however was only available with the windows versions.
the last good alias version for irix is 9.7.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4742
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby pentium » Sat Mar 21, 2015 5:26 am

It's been a while, but how hard was it to bluff swmgr into making it think it's upgrading something that didn't exist?
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

gijoe77
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby gijoe77 » Sat Mar 21, 2015 9:31 am

its not an upgrade, its a full install

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Mar 21, 2015 2:14 pm

I've often noticed that autodesk tends to leave e v e r y t h i n g on their website, they might not even know it's there, so it probably makes sense to grab it sooner rather than later, because if a crapton of people start dling it, and it's not supposed to be there, it could be gone in a flash.
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

gijoe77
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby gijoe77 » Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:25 pm

Autodesk has been really good at removing old flame and smoke stuff... If anyone here has any old tutorials or files for tutorials that would be awesome

User avatar
bjames
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:09 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby bjames » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:32 am

I see the download is still available.. but would'nt you need a serial number or licensing key to enter?
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby Geoman » Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:44 pm

bjames wrote:I see the download is still available.. but would'nt you need a serial number or licensing key to enter?


I just installed the windows version, because I have my ThinkPad on my lap, and I need a license indeed.
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

gijoe77
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby gijoe77 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:03 pm

Yeah you need a license to run it, both irix and windows

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6579
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby foetz » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:45 am

of course, otherwise autodesk wouldn't give it away just like that

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby vishnu » Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:44 pm

foetz wrote:of course, otherwise autodesk wouldn't give it away just like that

Yeah but if you call Autodesk to buy a license they won't sell you one. Unless they have significantly changed their ways since the last time I tried to buy an Irix license from them... :?: :?: :?:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6579
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Did you guys know StudioTools 13 for IRIX is still available for download?

Unread postby foetz » Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:19 pm

it's meant to be a service for existing customers.


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests