O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
jmestrada
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby jmestrada » Tue May 27, 2014 6:27 am

I would definitely like to upgrade this to a V12, if I could find one at a reasonable price.

I see a V10 on eBay for sale, but I think I would rather hold out for a V12.

Is there a way to calculate what the pixel clock would be based on the front/back porch settings?

I used the EDID information for this monitor and the template provided to create the vfo file. If there is a way to calculate what the pixel clock would be I can tinker around with it.

User avatar
jmestrada
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby jmestrada » Tue May 27, 2014 6:39 am

Well, I bought the V10 on an impulse. Made the seller an offer of $100 and the took it. I think this will get me by until I come across a V12! :)

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby Trippynet » Tue May 27, 2014 8:22 am

V10 is reasonable enough so long as you can live with the lower texture RAM. If you can, the lack of the pixel clock bug and improved performance are nice. Of course, throw anything with a moderate amount of textures at it and it'll quickly fall behind your V8 for performance!
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
jmestrada
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby jmestrada » Tue May 27, 2014 8:43 am

I figure this will keep me going until I can get a good 24" monitor on it. So now, I'll just have to keep an eye out for a V12 and a dual 600MHz CPU then I will be set!

I'm going to still try and tweak the parameters for the 1600x1200 60Hz mode and see if there is a way to get it to come up. I'll just have to figure out a way to calculate the pixel clock so I can get it in the right range... If that's possible.

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby Trippynet » Tue May 27, 2014 12:47 pm

Possible, yes. Easy, no. Depending on your LCD, another option is to try dropping the refresh rate. You might be able to get it down to 30-40Hz in order to get within the lower range for example. On an LCD, this isn't as noticeable as you might think for most bits.
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
jmestrada
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby jmestrada » Wed May 28, 2014 7:52 pm

I built a custom mode for my O2 for use with my Panasonic studio monitor. It's a 17" widescreen that will only support a 1280x768 display mode through the RGB/BNC connectors and that works well. I haven't tried any other modes yet though.

I found a web tool that lets you calculate frequencies, but no matter how I slice it up, I still come in at 164Mhz which does't work. It's just too bad these display adapters have this problem.

User avatar
jmestrada
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby jmestrada » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:51 pm

Well, the V10 works well at 1600x1200 with my Dell 2007FP monitor but I'm not too thrilled about only being able to use the 8 bit frame buffer mode.

How hard are the V12 boards to come by? I'm wondering if it's worth the cost to go that route. I think a good 24" monitor that can do 1900x1200@60Hz would be a cheaper route, then I could put my V8 back in... Unless the V12 prices have come down significantly.

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3190
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:27 pm

V12 prices have actually gone up in the last few years, since they've become so rare on ebay; you used to see one pop up every couple of weeks, now, almost never. We sent a bunch of V12 equipped Octane2's to the Reboot Store but they ignored my attemps to contact them about their availability for resale. My fear is that they didn't have any idea what they were and sent them straight to the smelter... :cry:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby sgtprobe » Thu Jun 26, 2014 2:42 am

vishnu wrote:straight to the smelter... :cry:


Noooooooooooooooooooooooo :(
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3190
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:16 pm

sgtprobe wrote:
vishnu wrote:straight to the smelter... :cry:


Noooooooooooooooooooooooo :(

I know! A bunch of them had 600MHz cpu's and one of them was a dual 600. I kept a list:

Code: Select all

meng100, 1 250Mhz CPU, SSI graphics
meng102, (no response)
meng114, 1 250Mhz CPU, ESSI graphics
meng137, (no response)
meng138, (no response)
meng139, 1 600Mhz CPU, V12 graphics
meng141, 1 600Mhz CPU, V12 graphics
meng142, (no response)
meng144, 1 600Mhz CPU, V6 graphics
meng146, 1 600Mhz CPU, V12 graphics
meng148, (no response)
meng150, 2 600Mhz CPU, V12 graphics
meng152, 1 600Mhz CPU, V12 graphics
meng153, (no response)
seng04, (no response)
seng11, 1 400mhz CPU, V6 graphics
seng12, 2 400Mhz CPU, V12 graphics

Hostname code: meng = mechanical engineering and seng = software engineering
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
jmestrada
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby jmestrada » Sun Jun 29, 2014 2:11 pm

Very sad indeed!

So, I'm still using this V10 I picked up but I would honestly like to put my V8 back int because it has more RAM. Does anyone know of any good, inexpensive monitors, that would work well with the V8? Either in 1600x1280 or 1900x1200? I tried out my Samsung 245BW on it and it works great but this monitor is on it's last leg so I need a replacement anyway.

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4940
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby jan-jaap » Sun Jun 29, 2014 3:14 pm

vishnu wrote:V12 prices have actually gone up in the last few years, since they've become so rare on ebay; you used to see one pop up every couple of weeks, now, almost never.

I used to pull 4D PowerSeries out of garages for HFL 50 (about 25EUR). They were not worth much because people liked the read of the Crimson better than the brown Power Series. Now there's people who think the individual boards are worth 1K.

The same will happen to the Onyx, the Onyx2 and the finally the Onyx3.

Oh, and I'll keep an eye on these. If these boards really are worth 10K/each I will probably retire in the near future ;)
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

robespierre
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

value of the old dinosaurs

Unread postby robespierre » Sun Jun 29, 2014 3:59 pm

not to burst your bubble, but I don't think that is a serious price. a lot of sellers on EBay set very high prices on everything hoping to strike it rich somehow. there's no penalty for doing this, as EBay has promotions all the time to waive insertion fees.

On the other hand, the prices for old Apple gear have been rising since Steve Jobs died. I remember when you couldn't give them away, now people are really paying hundreds of dollars for Mac IIs and Quadras, and even Apple ][+'s (platinums and IIgs have yet to really go up, though).
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3190
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Jun 29, 2014 11:27 pm

jan-jaap wrote:I used to pull 4D PowerSeries out of garages for HFL 50 (about 25EUR). They were not worth much because people liked the read of the Crimson better than the brown Power Series. Now there's people who think the individual boards are worth 1K.

You missed an order of magnitude there j-j, the price on that baby is 10K. And the date stamps on the LSI chips are nineteen frigging eighty nine... :lol:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
jmestrada
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: O2 and Octane2 Display Modes

Unread postby jmestrada » Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:03 pm

Well, thanks to another user here I now have a V12 graphics board in my Octane2. All that I need now is a dual 600MHz CPU.

One question I have is, should I keep my V10 or the V8 board as a spare? I will probably get rid of one of them. I figure the V8 may be better as a spare than the V10 because of the RAM size.

Any suggestions?


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest