No SI|3D support?

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4512
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

No SI|3D support?

Unread postby pentium » Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:26 am

I have a license for SI|3D 3.9 however it seems that you can't export models or materials from other 3D packages anymore into a format the SI understands. It's all at the least XSI stuff which to my knowledge isn't compatible. I can't even get Blender to export into something useable.
Is SI|3D really just that old now or am I not finding a valueable converter here?

Edit: Also on a slightly related topic, why is it that when I export content made in Google Sketchup does my plygon count fall through the floor? I can watch smooth surfaces go to jagged edges when exporting to a Wavefront obj file. Not entirely sure if I'm just importing it to Blender wrong or what.
Attachments
index.png
index.png (55.47 KiB) Viewed 683 times
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5370
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: No SI|3D support?

Unread postby recondas » Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:01 pm

While looking for possible solutions I ran across a very nice SoftImage 3D Reference Manual that even includes an interactive program interface. I didn't find any answers to your question there, but non the less it is pretty nice: http://www.erimez.com/misc/Softimage/tu ... timage.htm

There's a list of conversion utilities on this site (scroll down) - I didn't see SoftImage 3D implicitly mentioned, but it might be worth a look to see if your file format of choice is mentioned: http://objects.povworld.org/links7.html

If it's the right format for your SoftImage version, here's a SoftImage "pic" file converter: http://paulbourke.net/dataformats/softimagepic/

and another (that may or may not be suitable with your version): http://www.edharriss.com/html/soft_pad_script.html

and the best for last (hopefully - because the link for "more information" is dead) , a tool that converts SoftImage3D scene information to the RenderMan standard RIB files - specifically for IRIX versions of SoftImage3D. Better grab it while you can, most of the links on that page are dead, but I was still able to access the converter: http://www.edharriss.com/plugins/soft2r ... sp1_tar_gz

If that's not close there's another soft2rib converter (for IRIX SoftImage 3.7) here: https://www.creativecrash.com/painter/d ... 7-sp1-irix

If either of the soft2rib utilities meet your needs, you might be able to open your SI files in something that supports the Renderman format.

EDIT: If .rib won't do the job, there's a mention in the SoftImage 3D brochure that the IRIX version of SoftImage 3D will import or export the following (*if* any of those might fit your needs):
Import/Export Object Formats
    DXF, IGES (including NURBS entities)
Softimage3D_Brochure.pdf
(916.5 KiB) Downloaded 59 times

EDIT #2: Not necessary specifically helpful to the SI 3D issue, but anyone who finds (relatively) obscure hardware/software as interesting as you do will probably find The Digital Rosetta Stone at FileFormat.Info worth bookmarking: http://www.fileformat.info/
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: No SI|3D support?

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:46 pm

死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4512
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: No SI|3D support?

Unread postby pentium » Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:44 pm

DXF support is perfect. That then means that not only can I immediately export work from Sketchup but also from my copy of AutoCAD 12 so I can import some ancient work from there too when I was modelling in drafting class. I'll double check to see if DXF importing is compatible with my version once I'm into my new apartment and my O2 is setup. I'll read over the SI documentation too as that's one of the few things I don't have immediate paperback access to.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest