Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:47 am
Posts: 45
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Hi,
I work at the University of Sherbrooke (Canada) and I have found someone with an old Softimage 3.8 CD. Since I have a O2, I was really curious to see how Softimage runs on Irix. Unfortunatly, it is an old CD and while installing it, I have a corrupted file.

This is a test:
Code:
bash-2.05a$ uncompress Minerva.tar.Z
Minerva.tar.Z: corrupt data, unable to decompress
bash-2.05a$


I was wondering if anyone could help me with this. I TOTALLY understand the Nekochan goals is not to encourage piracy. I just want to know if anyone have the same version installation CD and could send me this file, not the whole software.

Thanks! and if this post is against any rule, I understand it can be deleted.

_________________
Strangly, girls talks to me when I walk with my O2?!
Image R12k @ 300MHz, 384Mb Ram


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 796
Location: Boston, MA
Bill622 wrote:
I understand it can be deleted.

Counting down.....


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
What exactly is Minerva? I'm not a SI|3D person, but it sure sounds like it might be a sample/example/demo type file, and SI might run just fine without it.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:07 pm
Posts: 1380
Location: New York
Looks like it contains a whole bunch of .hrc and .cus command files and plug-ins for modeling - definitely necessary for a working SI3D installation. It's 26MB.

To the OP: does your O2 really get you attention from women? The girls that have seen mine have been pretty indifferent toward it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:47 am
Posts: 45
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
SAQ wrote:
What exactly is Minerva? I'm not a SI|3D person, but it sure sounds like it might be a sample/example/demo type file, and SI might run just fine without it.


Don't know the content, but it is needed for the Base installation.

ajerimez wrote:
To the OP: does your O2 really get you attention from women? The girls that have seen mine have been pretty indifferent toward it.


When I brought home my O2, I talked to 3-4 girls from my office to my car in the parking lot. They were all like:"wow, what is this? is it a computer? it is so cute!" Seriously, I create the same effect on chicks when I'm shopping with my 3 month old baby girl.

_________________
Strangly, girls talks to me when I walk with my O2?!
Image R12k @ 300MHz, 384Mb Ram


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:30 am
Posts: 131
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Bill622 wrote:
When I brought home my O2, I talked to 3-4 girls from my office to my car in the parking lot..


Really??? When i brought home my O2k, people were fleeing the streets in fear that the poor toyota echo would lose brakes.

I have to admit thought, that an O2k is not that cute, being somewhat a metallic cube 2 to 3 times the size of the car engine... Not much "wow factor".

_________________
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:47 am
Posts: 45
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
henrycault wrote:
Bill622 wrote:
When I brought home my O2, I talked to 3-4 girls from my office to my car in the parking lot..


Really??? When i brought home my O2k, people were fleeing the streets in fear that the poor toyota echo would lose brakes.


I guess Canadian chicks are more opened mind :lol:

_________________
Strangly, girls talks to me when I walk with my O2?!
Image R12k @ 300MHz, 384Mb Ram


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:12 pm
Posts: 2778
Location: Kentucky, USA
henrycault wrote:
I have to admit thought, that an O2k is not that cute



borat wrote:
I get iPod, he only get iPod Mini. Everybody know it for girls.

_________________
Image (Xavi: 8x3.0ghz) Image (Messi: 2x1.4ghz)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5096
did you try to copy the cd to disk first? sometimes it's just a read error although the cd is fine

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:47 am
Posts: 45
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
foetz wrote:
did you try to copy the cd to disk first? sometimes it's just a read error although the cd is fine


Yup, I tried that, same result. Actually, the CD is in bad shape, it take a while to copy its content and I often hear a "repetition" noise from the drive. You know, when the drive tries and tries to read something... the corruption seams to be only on this file.

_________________
Strangly, girls talks to me when I walk with my O2?!
Image R12k @ 300MHz, 384Mb Ram


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:11 am
Posts: 892
You could try and repair the CD. There are polish kits you can buy and I have had some good luck in the paste with them.

_________________
Stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:30 am
Posts: 131
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
sybrfreq wrote:
borat wrote:
I get iPod, he only get iPod Mini. Everybody know it for girls.



:lol: :lol: :lol: I love my ipod.

_________________
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group