Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Hi

I installed my new V12 card in my Octane in the hopes that it would improve the visual quality of maya's viewports. Based on the SGI tech pubs, the V12 is supposed to make the default phong look better on lower resolution geometry. I don't see any difference between it and my older SSE card, let alone any other Mac system I've used.
Also, I don't see the option to turn on "Smooth Wireframe", or "High Quality Viewport". Are these options not supported on the SGI?

Thanks!

_________________
ImageImage 2xR14k 600MHz, 4.5GB, V12


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:25 pm
Posts: 1725
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
When I use "smooth shade all" on my Octane2 (also V12, w/ a single 600Mhz R14000) it looks so perfect I can't even imagine anything better. Much better than my original V6...
3dchris wrote:
Also, I don't see the option to turn on "Smooth Wireframe", or "High Quality Viewport". Are these options not supported on the SGI?
I've never seen those so they must be post-Maya 6.5, are they in the shading pulldown in the viewport?

_________________
Project:
Simple as do, re, mi. a, b, c. one, two, three baby you and me
Plan:
World domination! Or something...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:32 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
3dchris wrote:
Also, I don't see the option to turn on "Smooth Wireframe", or "High Quality Viewport". Are these options not supported on the SGI?

Perhaps not what you're looking for, but the Maya 6.5 Help Menu mentions the following:
Maya 6.5 Help Menu wrote:
Shading > Smooth Wireframe

Displays smooth wireframed objects in Maya's 3D views, including the Hardware Render Buffer and the 3D Paint Effects view.
    Note: Does not work in 2D views, including the UV Texture Editor.

<and>

Shading > High Quality Rendering

When high quality interactive shading is turned on, the scene views are drawn in high quality by the hardware renderer. This lets you see a very good representation of the look of the final render without having to software render the scene.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Toronto, Ontario
This is my point. In Maya, I can see the options in the pulldown menus, but they are grayed out as if I can't choose them for options.
Vishnu, is it possible if you can post a screenshot of a default poly sphere with a phong material on it? I'd like to compare the quality of the highlights to my V12. Also, if you have the option of the High Quality shading, can you also send a screenshot of it?
Thanks!

_________________
ImageImage 2xR14k 600MHz, 4.5GB, V12


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:25 pm
Posts: 1725
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Edit: Pointless text removed, screenshot of a poly sphere with a phong ramp shader using "smooth shade all:'
Image

The same rendered with Mental Ray:
Image

Both are Maya 6.5 with a V12...

_________________
Project:
Simple as do, re, mi. a, b, c. one, two, three baby you and me
Plan:
World domination! Or something...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Interesting. Looks the same as mine. I remember reading somewhere that the UI view of an object would have specular shading similar to a final render, like your render in Mental Ray. This was supposed to be one of the features of the V12. It looks like your viewport is the same as mine. I'll look deeper into this and find where I read that info....

_________________
ImageImage 2xR14k 600MHz, 4.5GB, V12


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Ah Ha! I found the document that lead me to the whole "High Quality OpenGL" kick! Take a look. This is how I was hoping the viewport in Maya would have behaved. I wonder if there's a way for the viewport to take advantage of this feature in the V12? Would be nice :)


Attachments:
SGI_Octane2_Datasheet.pdf [293.2 KiB]
Downloaded 127 times

_________________
ImageImage 2xR14k 600MHz, 4.5GB, V12
Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:25 pm
Posts: 1725
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Huh! I had no idea this beast had all those features... :lol:

"High speed, user-configurable graphics memory." Well, that's really great but, how do we use it? :?: :shock:

_________________
Project:
Simple as do, re, mi. a, b, c. one, two, three baby you and me
Plan:
World domination! Or something...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 353
Location: Finland
I believe that if the software only supports Gouraud shading, there is nothing the hardware can do to magically change it to Phong shading. Meaning the software has to support the hardware capabilities for it to work.



vishnu wrote:
Huh! I had no idea this beast had all those features... :lol:

"High speed, user-configurable graphics memory." Well, that's really great but, how do we use it? :?: :shock:



Easy, swap your V12 to V10 and you have configured your graphics memory to a lot less than it was before...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:25 pm
Posts: 1725
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
theinonen wrote:
I believe that if the software only supports Gouraud shading, there is nothing the hardware can do to magically change it to Phong shading. Meaning the software has to support the hardware capabilities for it to work.


Well, it says "Hardware-accelerated specular shading (or per-pixel lighting) for Phong effects without a performance penalty."



theinonen wrote:
Easy, swap your V12 to V10 and you have configured your graphics memory to a lot less than it was before...

:lol: :lol: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :lol: :lol:

_________________
Project:
Simple as do, re, mi. a, b, c. one, two, three baby you and me
Plan:
World domination! Or something...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Toronto, Ontario
I think that's what the "High Quality Rendering" viewport option is for. It doesn't seem to work on IRIX, but I can't find anything in the Maya user manual that says that it's not supported. The same thing goes with the Smooth Wireframe option. Also, I can't seem to get shadows to show up in the viewport :(

Is anyone using Maya on IRIX with any of these options working?

_________________
ImageImage 2xR14k 600MHz, 4.5GB, V12


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:25 pm
Posts: 1725
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
It's greyed out on mine too. It's greyed out both in the shading pulldown in the viewport and in the rendering editor window. What the heckle Dr. Jekyll...??? :shock: :?: :shock:

_________________
Project:
Simple as do, re, mi. a, b, c. one, two, three baby you and me
Plan:
World domination! Or something...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 2:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Posts: 772
Location: Germany -> UK -> Germany...
years later - the answer: high quality viewport rendering was not ever brought to the sgi. infact, at the time it showed up in maya it was not even working in all PC-based configurations either and not available for all supported platforms (surely including linux). i don't think any SGI graphics cards were even capable of the kind of pixel shaders that were commonplace on PC boards?

and if memory serves: alias switched from IRIX as their development environment to windows around or right after releasing maya 3. whatever came after was not targeted at SGI's but rather ported. pretty sure IRIX was a quickly vanishing target market for them around the year 2000.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 2:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Posts: 307
Location: Sweden
GIJoe wrote:
years later - the answer: high quality viewport rendering was not ever brought to the sgi. infact, at the time it showed up in maya it was not even working in all PC-based configurations either and not available for all supported platforms (surely including linux). i don't think any SGI graphics cards were even capable of the kind of pixel shaders that were commonplace on PC boards?

and if memory serves: alias switched from IRIX as their development environment to windows around or right after releasing maya 3. whatever came after was not targeted at SGI's but rather ported. pretty sure IRIX was a quickly vanishing target market for them around the year 2000.


It was awhile now, but if my memory serves me right, there was a demo for the Odyssey showing this high quality shading did indeed work on the hardware. Maybe alias just didn't bother to implement it in Maya in the end?

_________________
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 6:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Posts: 772
Location: Germany -> UK -> Germany...
yes i remember running some V12-specific demo highlighting this stuff as well at one point.
i don't think SGI's implementation was compatible with nvidia's though, perhaps just some limited featureset (VPro came out before Geforce?) that would have required too many resources to port the maya viewport shading option. it's not like high quality viewport was useful in production much either early on, pretty slow on geforce-3-ish cards is what i remember. you'd turn it on only to take a screenshot/playblast in those days.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group