Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads"

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads"

Unread postby nekonoko » Tue May 19, 2009 8:06 pm

transnove wrote:
nekonoko wrote:Okay, here's mine:



Thanks for that! Solved it without a hitch. Hi all, by the way, new here, just got my first Octane running as of earlier this evening, Blender's the first thing I installed on it!


Excellent, glad to help! Welcome to Nekochan - hope you enjoy the Octane :)
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
ka0s
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 5:23 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads"

Unread postby ka0s » Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:14 am

Am I doing something wrong or is there no way I can get my hands on Blender-2.48 for IRIX ....... ?????
Seems like the author and the website are gone .......


Can anyone help me to get to the binary ?

Cheers,
Bob
I can feel it, my mind is going ....

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads"

Unread postby nekonoko » Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:22 am

Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
bjornl
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads

Unread postby bjornl » Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:05 pm

I just fired upp my Origin2000 (well half of it) again and was going to try some blender benchmark.

I used the blender-2.48-irix-c.tar.gz which I suppose if for threads >8.
Blender 'autodetects' the number of cpus at start and suggests 8 cpus. My current config has 16 cpus and I can increase the number of threads to 16 (or more) but when rendering starts it still only uses 8. What am I doing wrong?

Also, when I increase number of tiles, I get a maximum of 130 tiles in the test.blend scene. For example 16x16, still gets me 130 tiles.

With the official benchmark version 2.44 I got 02:01.92 rendering time for the test.blend with 8 threads. The goal is to run all 32 cpus/threads.

Origin2000 machine. IRIX 6.5.22m

Code: Select all

16 250 MHZ IP27 Processors
CPU: MIPS R10000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.4
FPU: MIPS R10010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 3.4
Main memory size: 5120 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 4 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B, single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 0
  CDROM: unit 6 on SCSI controller 0
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B, single ended
Integral SCSI controller 6: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  CDROM: unit 6 on SCSI controller 6
Integral SCSI controller 7: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty3
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty4
Fast Ethernet: ef2, version 1, module 2, slot io1, pci 2
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, module 1, slot io1, pci 2
Origin BASEIO board, module 1 slot 1: Revision 3
Origin BASEIO board, module 2 slot 1: Revision 4
IOC3/IOC4 external interrupts: 2
IOC3/IOC4 external interrupts: 1

O2 console via 100Mbit ethernet. IRIX 6.5.30m

Code: Select all

CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.3
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
1 270 MHZ IP32 Processor
Main memory size: 256 Mbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 1 Mbyte on Processor 0
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
FLASH PROM version 4.18
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version ADAPTEC 7880
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 0
  CDROM: unit 4 on SCSI controller 0
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version ADAPTEC 7880
On-board serial ports: tty1
On-board serial ports: tty2
On-board EPP/ECP parallel port
CRM graphics installed
Integral Ethernet: ec0, version 1
Iris Audio Processor: version A3 revision 0
Video: MVP unit 0 version 1.4
 with no AV Card or Camera.
Vice: TRE
Last edited by bjornl on Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
skywriter
Posts: 3290
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:22 am
Location: Trump-proof bunker
Contact:

Re: Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads

Unread postby skywriter » Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:19 pm

my recollection is that on IRIX 8 threads was the max. i also thought some attempt was made to address this. 8 came from some dependence on another package that was limited to 8. perhaps you need some updating, or a better answer :)
:Skywriter:

DECUS Member 368596

User avatar
bjornl
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads

Unread postby bjornl » Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:27 pm

I thought this problem had been fixed since tbcpp has put the following line in his first post
I bumped the max threads up to 64. Let me know if you want it higher.

User avatar
skywriter
Posts: 3290
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:22 am
Location: Trump-proof bunker
Contact:

Re: Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads

Unread postby skywriter » Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:05 pm

maybe it was python had the 8 threads on IRIX as the problem?
:Skywriter:

DECUS Member 368596

User avatar
bjornl
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Blender 2.48 - Alpha rev c - "Yafray, FFmpeg, 64 threads

Unread postby bjornl » Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:18 am

I was thinking. Possible number of threads are not always equal to possible number of cpus. The limitation in some of the program components could be the number of cpus.

I run the c-ray benchmark with 512 (and more) threads on 16 cpus.


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests