Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:25 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Barco Creator
Unread postPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 9:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 1:56 am
Posts: 24
I remember this being mentioned in some photoshop tutorial I read back in 1996-97. So, when I finally had the opportunity to pick up a piece of prepress history, I couldn't resist! :D (forget my complaint about the amount of software postings in the creative category, for now ;) )

Image

Showing an 3500 x 2500 image, running on an 195mhz Indigo w/640mb ram. On the top left you have the raster-tools, vector tools on the bottom. On the right you have the basic navigator, chainable colour correction (showing the "curves" part) and image layers. On top of the image you can also see multiple densitometers showing the before/after values of the curves-correction. A very nice feature, as actually applying the correction will be rather slow on an Indigo2 w/10MBs SCSI... :?

It supports both TIF and PSD files, but always converts them to the .cvw format before displaying them proper. This is also somewhat slow (again)... but it supports dual (or more :shock:) procs, if you have them... Painting/navigating is actually pretty fast, up to about 22mpx.

Should you find this for sale you'll need a license, locked to the exact CD version and hostid of the workstation. In other words, you'll need the whole original package... Completist should also look for the brush and colour-accelerator boards.. Lesser souls might want to search the "usual suspects" for the media (let's leave it at that).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barco_creator for the detail obsessed... (like me! hehe!)

It'd be interesting to hear from someone who actually used this in the 90s... Like with the Discreet systems, it seems you had to take training classes to get to know it inside out. Tips and tricks would be appreciated!


Last edited by luchford on Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Posts: 772
Location: Germany -> UK -> Germany...
so that's the infamous barco creator! thanks for showing.
"image manipulation" is so fuzzy a description ;) - is it a decent paint software like photoshop or more of a bunch of color correction tools? i can't spot a palette, brush editor or other painting goodies, that's why i'm asking...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 1:56 am
Posts: 24
Well it has a decent brush module, though I mostly use it for making mattes/applying corrections with a brush... not exactly painting!

(The matte was inverted in the conversion process... don't ask me why!)

Image

Notice how you can tear off the menus, and place them on your workspace. Also notice the "snap to grid" function of the palettes.. (made for the neurotic in all of us! :D).

You can use different brushes and brush textures, or simply create your own.. most settings seem customisable. You can "even" see a dual brush outline with the center/falloff (unlike Photoshop 3!). The "1" "2" "3" etc. simply represent temporary settings, same for the pan-box.

To get a cleaner workspace you'd just hit Ctrl-F9 for fullscreen and TAB to remove all the tools... also known as "guru mode" in PS ;).

I've been reading through the 200+ page manual for the last couple of days... practicing it will have to wait for a bad-weather day, though... I'll see if I can post some actual tips then, rather than just eye candy!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5111
cool, a real classic.
could you comapre it with studiopaint?

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:54 pm
Posts: 402
Location: Germany/NRW/Bonn
Could you resize the pictures? Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Posts: 772
Location: Germany -> UK -> Germany...
meh, lack of brush size preview is really a bad joke in PS3. good to hear that barco got it right. what does creator offer in terms of undo-levels? and does it feature something similar to those "i-couldn't-live-without" PS layer blend styles?
the lack of those pisses me off in studiopaint endlessly. :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 12:13 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Tampa Fl USA
Never used this software but used to use Contex Eclipse 3.1 now Aevermann Eclipse....

You can download the Irix demo at

http://www.aevermann.de/index.php?modul ... nfo&meid=2

Gary


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 1:56 am
Posts: 24
I tried the Eclipse demo, but found it very unintuitive compared to PS et al.

As for undo-levels, I haven't found them yet. Well; actually there is a feature advertised as "unlimited undo", but it's basically a glorified "save". You have to start it manually, and then it only remembers that -one- state. It's not completely useless, but for painting it probably would be. The config file speaks of cache size etc., maybe I'm missing something there.

And no, there aren't any layer blending-modes (if that's what you meant). There might be something equivalent, but I wouldn't know where to look, yet. I'm curious as to what you use blending modes for, though. I only use the "colour" mode for doing despill when the background lighting is too harsh, and that's it.

As for comparing Creator to StudioPaint, I wouldn't really know as I've never used the latter. They are obviously targeted at completely different markets; a Creator workstation would typically be connected to a printing press, while SP was used mostly in connection with PA/Maya for motion pictures or automotive design (or so it seems). If you need stuff like Pantone colours or want to optimize ink usage, I guess your only choice is Creator. If your target is JPG for the web, I'm not sure..

Maybe someone here could expand the Wiki-article on StudioPaint? :)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alias_StudioPaint

And while I'm at it; you might want to contribute to the articles on;
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avid_Matador
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linotype-Hell_DaVinci
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalim_Tango


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 12:13 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Tampa Fl USA
luchford wrote:
I tried the Eclipse demo, but found it very unintuitive compared to PS et al.



Eclipse was also used in prepress, however it helps if you have the training course in order to be able to work out just how to use it!

I can tell you that it can do the same things that Barco Creator can do.

Did you get your system off Ebay? I remember seeing a Barco Creator system on Ebay a few months ago.


Gary


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Barco Creator
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:15 pm
Posts: 1
I used the system in the 90s along with quantel paintbox When running my own retouching company years later it was a must have despite the fact I was a photoshop fan and beta tester. I had it first on an Indy and then the windows version on a 4 processor SGI 540 - worst mistake I ever made was getting rid of it. The warp tools ate second to none Even if I only used it once a year I wish I still had it :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Barco Creator
Unread postPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 2:37 am
Posts: 628
Location: Munich, Germany
So I installed version 7.2

But how do I launch this application???

EDIT: The executables are in /bg/gen/local/com/
./cre7_2

well it does not like my TIFFs:
Code:
Error

Error submitting job
tiff_import_1600swO2_med_hr.tif


It doesn't read any of my TIF-files...

_________________
:Octane: :Octane2: 2xR12000 400MHz, 4GB RAM, V12
SGI - the legend will never die!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Barco Creator
Unread postPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:28 pm
Posts: 591
Location: Boston
Barco is an interesting company. Always a nice touch when your computer monitor has an hour counter like an airplane :)

_________________
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Barco Creator
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:15 pm
Posts: 10
I worked with Barco software and hardware at a few different companies. It was always client/server with the server being huge DEC VMS refrigerator sized multiprocessor giants and the clients being SGI workstations with special video cards and accelerator cards and huge beautiful Barco monitors. I'll dig up some photos if anyone wants to see. Sometimes the files were stored on yet another server often a huge AIX machine. We also used a NeXT cube with a huge gray scale monitor only to preview PostScript images, it had no other function in the shop.

When you started work you would log into the server and push X for the application you want to run. These were rock solid systems and did amazing work. The vector art system we used was developed for GIS data and had no problems dealing with the huge documents we were working on. Macs would crash trying to open them.

I really enjoyed working in these high end environments and got out just as windows was starting to appear there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Barco Creator
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2014 4:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm
Posts: 976
webweave wrote:
I worked with Barco software and hardware at a few different companies. It was always client/server with the server being huge DEC VMS refrigerator sized multiprocessor giants and the clients being SGI workstations with special video cards and accelerator cards and huge beautiful Barco monitors. I'll dig up some photos if anyone wants to see. Sometimes the files were stored on yet another server often a huge AIX machine. We also used a NeXT cube with a huge gray scale monitor only to preview PostScript images, it had no other function in the shop.

When you started work you would log into the server and push X for the application you want to run. These were rock solid systems and did amazing work. The vector art system we used was developed for GIS data and had no problems dealing with the huge documents we were working on. Macs would crash trying to open them.

I really enjoyed working in these high end environments and got out just as windows was starting to appear there.


Wow, please share some pictures.

_________________
:Onyx2:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Barco Creator
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2014 9:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:15 pm
Posts: 10
These photos show my office with the then brand new Mac TiBook running an early version of OSX before the shop converted.
On the desk you can see a copy of Barco STRIKE!, looks like version 2.1 Strike! is the vector art companion to Barco Creator, we just called it Brix or lwbrix.

Image

In the second shot you can see the front of the Octane, they didn't come with video cards and this one had been upgraded to a huge Barco video card to run that huge Barco monitor, it also had one accelerator card. The Octane ran stand alone applications as this was my development/pilot system. The O2's ran client/server from the VMS server. That Octane was every bit as heavy as the monitor beside it and that isn't even the biggest monitor, just look at how sturdy my desk is, it was made for hardware like this! The down side was I had to get someone to help if I needed to move it, did SGI make these things from cast iron? I think I've got a Duke Nukem window open on the Octane.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group