CAD software on irix

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
semi-fly
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:29 am
Location: Ypsitucky, MI
Contact:

CAD software on irix

Unread postby semi-fly » Mon Sep 29, 2003 4:36 pm

Is there any freely available CAD software one could download for irix?

assyrix
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 12:49 am

Unread postby assyrix » Tue Sep 30, 2003 3:12 am

Solid Modelling: BRL-CAD
Design: ACAD 3.0

sorry don't remember the links.

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Tue Sep 30, 2003 3:50 am

Cool, I had no idea that BRL-CAD existed (http://ftp.arl.mil/brlcad/index.html), as for ACAD -- do you mean the R12 version of AutoCAD once available from AutoDesk for IRIX? I couldn't find any other references. There is also QCAD, and once upon at time there was going to be a GCAD (GNU).

Lastly, semi-fly what kind of CAD package are you looking for -- 2D or 3D? Over a year ago, when I couldn't find an IRIX version of AutoCAD I started writing a simple 2D replacement using openGL and Motif. It's far from complete (in a state only a father could love)...but usable for some drafting. Here is a screenshot of a mechanical component I designed with it. I think you would have to be framiliar and longing for the old (early 90's) AutoCAD interface to find even some small joy in this application -- but let me know if you are interested.

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: CAD software on irix

Unread postby nekonoko » Tue Sep 30, 2003 4:10 am

semi-fly wrote:Is there any freely available CAD software one could download for irix?


This might work under IRIX - haven't tried to build it though:

http://www.ribbonsoft.com/qcad.html
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Tue Sep 30, 2003 4:33 am

One more - Varkon ( http://www.tech.oru.se/cad/varkon/index.htm ). I think I once had a version of this working under IRIX but can't seem to find it..

User avatar
semi-fly
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:29 am
Location: Ypsitucky, MI
Contact:

Unread postby semi-fly » Tue Sep 30, 2003 5:17 am

assyrix wrote:Solid Modelling: BRL-CAD
Design: ACAD 3.0

sorry don't remember the links.

Thx! I'll search about and see what I can find.



squeen wrote:
Lastly, semi-fly what kind of CAD package are you looking for -- 2D or 3D? Over a year ago, when I couldn't find an IRIX version of AutoCAD I started writing a simple 2D replacement using openGL and Motif. It's far from complete (in a state only a father could love)...but usable for some drafting. Here is a screenshot of a mechanical component I designed with it. I think you would have to be framiliar and longing for the old (early 90's) AutoCAD interface to find even some small joy in this application -- but let me know if you are interested.


Both 2D and 3D, and I'd love to try out xcad.

nekonoko wrote:This might work under IRIX - haven't tried to build it though:

http://www.ribbonsoft.com/qcad.html


That looks very nice! I'll have to put that on my to-do list. :)


Thanks for the help all! I'm thinking about taking a CAD class from the community college I'm currently attending, so I figured that there must be some CAD software avaiable for irix on the cheep. :wink:

assyrix
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 12:49 am

Unread postby assyrix » Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:03 am

ACAD 3.0 has nothing to do with AutoCAD whatsoever. It's a fully fledged 2D CAD (afaik) and was once sold commercially. The company then abandoned the Irix port and gave away the last version for free. I downloaded it ages ago from their website and tested it briefly - looks pretty nifty.

Unfortunately, as I said, I neither recall the website nor the company name. I'll check the tar-file again and see if there's some info inside it.

User avatar
Scott Tarr
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Detroit Metro area

Unread postby Scott Tarr » Wed Oct 01, 2003 5:09 am

If only CATIA would make at least a demo...

assyrix
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 12:49 am

Unread postby assyrix » Thu Oct 09, 2003 2:25 am


User avatar
semi-fly
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:29 am
Location: Ypsitucky, MI
Contact:

Unread postby semi-fly » Thu Oct 09, 2003 5:09 am

wow, thanks!

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: CAD

Unread postby uunix » Mon Mar 09, 2015 4:56 pm

I'm going to have a cup of coffee with 6 sugars in it!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
bjornl
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CAD software on irix

Unread postby bjornl » Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:26 pm

I have run ProEngineer from release 20 up to Wildfire 2 on SGI hardware, but not for real work, just playing around.
We have ProE at work and can use that license when I'm not using it for work.
It was mostly for running benchmark and compare to Windows. Windows usually winning :?

Wildfire 2 is the last version that ran on IRIX (I think).

I have even run ProE release 12 on an Indigo R3000 and some early moldflow software. This was demo software.

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: CAD

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:57 pm

That thread is 12 years old but I don't think the CAD landscpe on IRIX has changed much since then. I can attest that Pro/ENGINEER Wildfire 2 runs very nicely on my Octane2... :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2092
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: CAD

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Mar 10, 2015 5:31 pm

I have a cantankerous install of CATIA on my HP C8000. I say cantankerous because it finds any one of a million reasons to not start.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
cybercow
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:07 pm
Location: Europe

Re: CAD software on irix

Unread postby cybercow » Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:07 am

Sorry for my ignorance if somebody already mentioned, but there is neko-qcad right there for download, nekoware version of QCad, it is quite fine to work with, i did my house electrical installation project redoux with it and it clapped well on indigo2. Is 2D only.


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest