Quantum LTO3 driver for IRIX

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
videobrat
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:04 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA
Contact:

Quantum LTO3 driver for IRIX

Unread postby videobrat » Thu Jan 19, 2006 6:46 pm

Even though I'm under 6.5.28, the LTO3 isn't really rolled into the operating system. I hammered away at the /var/sysgen/master.d/scsi file, and rebuilt the kernel several times, but the drive hangs when I try to read it back. I've tried a couple of different setups, each time getting the same result.

This appeared to write out 380GB fine, but I wasn't able to get it to read back at all:

Code: Select all

        /* Quantum LTO3 / Ultrium 3 */
         { DATTAPE, TPDAT, 8, 7, "CERTANCE", "ULTRIUM 3", 0, 0, {0},
           MTCAN_BSF|MTCAN_BSR|MTCAN_APPEND|MTCAN_SETMK|MTCAN_PART|MTCAN_PREV|
             MTCAN_SYNC|MTCAN_SPEOD|MTCAN_CHKRDY|MTCAN_VAR|MTCAN_SETSZ|
             MTCAN_SILI|MTCAN_AUDIO|MTCAN_SEEK|MTCAN_CHTYPEANY|MTCAN_COMPRESS,
           40, 5*60, 20*60, 20*60, 3*3600, 512, 512*512,
           tpsc_default_dens_count, tpsc_default_hwg_dens_names,
             tpsc_default_alias_dens_names,
           {0}, 0, 0, 0,
           0, (u_char *)0 },

Code: Select all

tape@fortune8:~/SCRIPTS[6]> hinv | grep -i tape
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 2: DLT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 3: DLT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 6: DAT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 7: DLT
tape@fortune8:~/SCRIPTS[7]> mt -t /dev/rmt/tps6d6 stat
        Controller: SCSI
        Device: CERTANCE: ULTRIUM 3       17703106
        Status: 0x20242
        Drive type: DAT
        Media : READY, writable, at BOT
tape@fortune8:~/SCRIPTS[8]>


unit hangs with a device error - required power cycle to wake up.

---

a little closer. This one ran better, but hung after reading back about a thousand frames (12GB):

Code: Select all

          /* Quantum LTO3 / Ultrium 3 */
           {DATTAPE, TPDAT, 8, 7, "CERTANCE", "ULTRIUM 3", 0, 0, {0},
             MTCAN_BSF | MTCAN_BSR | MTCAN_APPEND | MTCAN_SETMK |
              MTCAN_PREV | MTCAN_SYNC | MTCAN_SPEOD | MTCAN_CHKRDY |
              MTCAN_VAR | MTCAN_SETSZ | MTCAN_SILI | MTCAN_SEEK |
              MTCAN_COMPRESS,
             40, 5*60, 10*60, 10*60, 3*3600, 512, 256*512,
             tpsc_default_dens_count, tpsc_default_hwg_dens_names,
             tpsc_default_alias_dens_names,
            {0}, 0, 0, 0,
            0, (u_char*) 0},


Code: Select all

tape@fortune8:~[1]> mt -t /dev/rmt/tps6d6 stat
        Controller: SCSI
        Device: CERTANCE: ULTRIUM 3       17703106
        Status: 0x20262
        Drive type: DAT
        Media : READY, writable, at BOT
tape@fortune8:~[2]> hinv | grep -i tape
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 2: DLT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 3: DLT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 6: DAT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 7: DLT
tape@fortune8:~[3]
------------------------------------------------
I saw it on TV, it must be real!
------------------------------------------------

LoWeN
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 11:45 am
Location: Belgium

Unread postby LoWeN » Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:33 am

Hello,

You are loosing your time.
You must pay the APD licences for LTO.

Everything past the dlt is now used via a special daemon.

@+

LoWeN
UX powered

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 2223
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
Contact:

Unread postby joerg » Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:33 am

The APD license cost $$$$.

regards
Joerg

User avatar
videobrat
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:04 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA
Contact:

Unread postby videobrat » Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:10 pm

I broke down and contacted SGI about APD for this drive. Their response follows:
--------------------------------------------------------------
Hi,
I can confirm to you that there's no support for quantum LTO 3 drives.
We only support IBM and HP. W e don't forsee quantum support in the
plans at this time.
Let me know if you want me to contact our sales rep. that takes care of
the tapes drives to ask him to send you a quote on a supported TP.

--------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------

I saw it on TV, it must be real!

------------------------------------------------

User avatar
MattPayne
Posts: 504
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:27 am
Location: sunny ol' england!

Unread postby MattPayne » Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:58 pm

I was always under the impression that Quantam made all the drives and the OEM's just rebadged/rehoused the mechanisms....???
:Onyx: Onyx Infinite reality, Quad R10k 195, 2gbram
:Octane2: Octane1.5 ;) R12k 400, 2gb, V6, 36gb + 18gb
:Indigo2IMP: Indigo2 R4400 250, 340mb, MaxImpact, 4mb Trams
:1600SW: 1600sw + Multilink x2

User avatar
videobrat
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:04 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA
Contact:

Unread postby videobrat » Fri Jan 27, 2006 8:58 pm

The whole point of LTO is the idea that the hardware is "open". Anyone can manufacture it. DLT is Quantum, but LTO is produced by three different manufacturers (maybe Sony will produce these too since DTF has dead ended).

from the Quantum site:
As a result of the Certance acquisition, Quantum is the world’s largest volume supplier of both tape drives and tape automation. With the breadth of Quantum’s portfolio, we will be able to provide both channel and OEM partners with a single source of backup, recovery and archive solutions not available anywhere else.[/u]
------------------------------------------------

I saw it on TV, it must be real!

------------------------------------------------

cor_sgi
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 4:00 pm

HP 460 LTO2

Unread postby cor_sgi » Sun Apr 16, 2006 3:09 pm

Hello,

I use the HP 460 LTO2 tape drive and works perfect native on IRIX... without the APD driver package and license .... :)

User avatar
videobrat
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:04 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA
Contact:

Unread postby videobrat » Tue Apr 18, 2006 7:58 am

My vendor exchanged my drive for the HP, works OK, but it's slow - see my other post at http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?t=9663
------------------------------------------------

I saw it on TV, it must be real!

------------------------------------------------


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bplaa.yai and 2 guests