New to SGI, not really sure what I've got my hands on.

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
roberttx
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:45 am
Location: Texas

Re: New to SGI, not really sure what I've got my hands on.

Unread postby roberttx » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:35 am

Thanks, jwhat, that seem like a comprehensive plan of attack. It will be a month or so, until I can get to it, but that's what I'll do.

Just so I'm clear, these machines all ave a "regular" serial port and I'll use a null modem cable? They don't have funky serial ports like some of the early SGI boxes?

jwhat
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 6:25 pm
Location: Australia

Re: New to SGI, not really sure what I've got my hands on.

Unread postby jwhat » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:26 pm

Hi roberttx,

yes the serial port is standard and clearly labelled.

It is top serial port next to power plug labelled "CONSOLE", yes you will need null modem cable with 38400, 8 Bits, No Stop Bit .

I use USB to RS242 Adaptor to connect to mine.

The exception is the router, which does not have serial port, only USB, which you connect to L2 or L2 emulator.

Cheers,

jwhat.
jwhat - ask questions, provide answers


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests