Best workstation to start with?

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Str1kernaut

Best workstation to start with?

Unread postby Str1kernaut » Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:46 am

Hi, i have a question: is true the SGI Indy is the most common, easy to find and less expensive SGI workstation? What is the best SGI machine to start with in general? What is the minimum to spend to have one (any model)? Thanks
Last edited by Str1kernaut on Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
(Now the nickname it's correct)
I'm an ICT student (2° year at ITIS Scano). Since i was 8 years old i've got an interest for ICT, and since i was 2 years old i've got an interest for technology (I've got a photo when i was 2 years old with a pair of headphones).
I built my first gaming pc with new parts at July 2017: Ryzen 5 1400, 2x4GB Corsair 3000mhz, R7 360 2GB (bought from a friend), Corsair CX 450M, AsRock AB350M Pro4.
In these months i developed an interest for workstations, in particular SGI (thanks Dodoid, you channel is awesome :D)

Irinikus

Re: Best workstation to start?

Unread postby Irinikus » Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:53 am

The O2 is a very cool little box, it's powerful enough to give you a really good IRIX experience. As far as cost is concerned, this can vary rather drastically for all SGI models and this depends on spec as well as the cosmetic condition of the machine.

The Indy, for example is usually a rather cheap machine, but a highly specced one which is in good cosmetic condition can cost quite a bit.

The O2 was where I started and I would seriously recommend it.

Here's an example of a neat little O2 box:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Silicon-Graphics-SGI-O2-CMN-B014ANT180-180-Mhz-R5000-with-FPU-256-Mbytes-/292266177330?hash=item440c6bf332:g:Xb0AAOSwScdZxVu3