Octane kernel panic

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Octane kernel panic

Unread postby LarBob » Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:51 pm

So I've finally gotten my Octane to begin booting, but the kernel faults after a little bit of it trying to start up.
First it goes to this screen:
Image
Then goes black and then to this screen:
Image
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1332
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Octane kernel panic

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:04 pm

Your CPU board should be removed, cleaned, and reseated.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: Octane kernel panic

Unread postby LarBob » Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:21 pm

Raion-Fox wrote:Your CPU board should be removed, cleaned, and reseated.

Okay, I'll try that. I also can't boot into single user as there's a root password.
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: Octane kernel panic

Unread postby LarBob » Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:40 pm

Okay, I reseated the CPUs after cleaning and it still has the same error. Could it also be RAM or software? It seems like network installing irix with a raspi is quite difficult.

edit: according to this thread (this person has the same exact error): viewtopic.php?t=14162 it was because of a failed graphics board. Sadly I don't have another board to try. Sigh. Looks like I'll probably be replacing yet another part... I've replaced pretty much the entire system at this point lol. The graphics in the system are ESI.

Here is what I get from running the diagnostics:

Code: Select all

All graphics tests have passed.
TEST RESULTS:
Memory tests completed.
Frontplane tests completed.
CPU tests completed.
Audio tests completed.
SCSI tests completed.
Graphics board 0 tests completed.
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1332
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Octane kernel panic

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:58 pm

If it does turn out to be GFX i highly recommend a VPro upgrade, but this clearly is a CPU error.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: Octane kernel panic

Unread postby LarBob » Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:19 pm

Raion-Fox wrote:If it does turn out to be GFX i highly recommend a VPro upgrade, but this clearly is a CPU error.

I reseated the RAM after cleaning it a bit and it's at a login prompt now. Is there any way to reset this without another install or should I just get another drive and figure out how to network install irix?
Last edited by LarBob on Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1332
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Octane kernel panic

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:10 pm

You can take the drive out of that PC, get a SCSI card into a PC, and run jacktheripper on the passwd file
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests