Page 1 of 1

Apple Cinema Display 30" on DCD V12?

Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:07 pm
by Hombre71
Just curious if anyone has successfully run a Apple Cinema Display on a V12 box with DCD option?

Re: Apple Cinema Display 30" on DCD V12?

Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:04 am
by jpstewart
I'd be surprised if it worked. To get to that high a resolution (2560x1600 for the 30" Apple Cinema Display) you need dual-link DVI. The specs say the monitor will fall back to 1280x800 with a single-link DVI connection. Unfortunately, single-link DVI is all you'll get out of the V12, with or without the DCD option (according to old posts in these forums). The DCD gives you two separate single-link DVI connectors which is very different from the required one dual-link DVI channel (which is actually a single connection with more pins for higher bandwidth).

See the Wikipedia article on DVI for more information about the differences between single-link and dual-link DVI. A forum search will turn up many posts about the lack of dual-link DVI on SGIs.

Re: Apple Cinema Display 30" on DCD V12?

Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:11 am
by Shiunbird
Can you operate a Matrox TripleHead2Go Digital in the reverse order?
The must be some device that acts as an aggregator of sorts.