My first 320

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

My first 320

Unread postby Hombre71 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:31 am

For your (and mine) entertainment.
Noisy scsci harddisk and fan, but otherwise nice spec.
Now to find a1600sw adapter for the box...
Attachments
IMG_0350.JPG
IMG_0348.JPG
IMG_0347.JPG
IMG_0345.JPG
IMG_0344.JPG
IMG_0343.JPG
IMG_0342.JPG
IMG_0339.JPG
IMG_0338.JPG
IMG_0337.JPG
IMG_0336.JPG
IMG_0335.JPG
IMG_0334.JPG
IMG_0333.JPG
IMG_0331.JPG
IMG_0330.JPG
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Irinikus » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:45 am

Nice one!

You're lucky you got it with dual processors and with a VRM fitted, as the VRM's for these machines can be rather hard to come by!
Image................. Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image; Image...... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image;
Image Image; Image........... Image; Image... ImageImage Image.... Here they are: :arrow:

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: My first 320

Unread postby johnnym » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:21 am

Hombre71 wrote:For your (and mine) entertainment.
Noisy scsci harddisk and fan, but otherwise nice spec.
Now to find a1600sw adapter for the box...

The CPUs look like Pentium II or Pentium III in SECC2 cartridges.

Ah, I see, dual Pentium III 550 MHz, so Katmais (Model 7 and 512 KiB Cache). Say, could you have a look on the used VRM to check who manufactured it and what P/N it has?

Do you have faced any crashes with Windows 2000 on this machine so far? Any special patches applied?

Congratulations, btw. :)
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

User avatar
HurricaneJames
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Re: My first 320

Unread postby HurricaneJames » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:34 am

I have been looking for a reasonably priced MLA for a while, been thinking about trying to hacking something together with an LVDS board (ex. http://www.ebay.com/itm/161320408901 ). Maybe one day, when I have time to play around again.
:320: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: Image

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Irinikus » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:48 am

johnnym wrote:Say, could you have a look on the used VRM to check who manufactured it and what P/N it has?


The VRM in my machine is a: Celestica 073-20770-01 if this helps.
Image................. Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image; Image...... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image;
Image Image; Image........... Image; Image... ImageImage Image.... Here they are: :arrow:

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: My first 320

Unread postby johnnym » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:48 am

Irinikus wrote:
johnnym wrote:Say, could you have a look on the used VRM to check who manufactured it and what P/N it has?


The VRM in my machine is a: Celestica 073-20770-01 if this helps.

So a 073-20770-01 actually also works for the Visual Workstation 320 with dual CPUs installed. That's good to know. I remember that FlasBurn tried such a VRM in his VW 320 without luck - no stable SMP operation with Windows 2000 (not even during installation).

Do you have Windows 2000 installed on yours? And does it run stable for you?
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

User avatar
Dalplex
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Dalplex » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:32 pm

What a unique ram .
:Indigo: :O2: :Octane: :Octane:

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Irinikus » Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:12 pm

johnnym wrote:So a 073-20770-01 actually also works for the Visual Workstation 320 with dual CPUs installed. That's good to know. I remember that FlasBurn tried such a VRM in his VW 320 without luck - no stable SMP operation with Windows 2000 (not even during installation).

Do you have Windows 2000 installed on yours? And does it run stable for you?


I do run Windows 2000 on the system and it has dual PIII 1 GHz processors fitted. It does seem to run stable, but I don't use the machine that often, so I cant say that its completely stable.

It's stable enough to play games tough! :D

Here are some pics showing the system information:

IMG_2371.JPG


IMG_2373.JPG


IMG_2372.JPG
Image................. Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image; Image...... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image;
Image Image; Image........... Image; Image... ImageImage Image.... Here they are: :arrow:

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Irinikus » Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:35 pm

Hombre71 wrote:For your (and mine) entertainment.
Noisy scsci harddisk and fan, but otherwise nice spec.
Now to find a1600sw adapter for the box...


You've got a really cool machine, now all you need to do is find a Pair of 1 GHz PIII's and your system will run like a machine! :D
Image................. Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image; Image...... Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image;
Image Image; Image........... Image; Image... ImageImage Image.... Here they are: :arrow:

Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Hombre71 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:49 am

Finding the matched pair of PIII Slot 1's @100mhz will also take some time. Good for my wallet also :)
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:

Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Hombre71 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:51 am

HurricaneJames wrote:I have been looking for a reasonably priced MLA for a while, been thinking about trying to hacking something together with an LVDS board (ex. http://www.ebay.com/itm/161320408901 ). Maybe one day, when I have time to play around again.


What would that entail? Interesting looking board. With the scareness and prices for the MLA a small batch might be interesting for some here....
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:

Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Hombre71 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:20 am

johnnym wrote:
Irinikus wrote:
johnnym wrote:Say, could you have a look on the used VRM to check who manufactured it and what P/N it has?


The VRM in my machine is a: Celestica 073-20770-01 if this helps.

So a 073-20770-01 actually also works for the Visual Workstation 320 with dual CPUs installed. That's good to know. I remember that FlasBurn tried such a VRM in his VW 320 without luck - no stable SMP operation with Windows 2000 (not even during installation).

Do you have Windows 2000 installed on yours? And does it run stable for you?


According to this table:

http://www.frontlinemedia.de/sgi320/vrm.html

That the 20770 works is an expected outcome :)
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: My first 320

Unread postby johnnym » Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:41 am

Hombre71 wrote:According to this table:

http://www.frontlinemedia.de/sgi320/vrm.html

That the 20770 works is an expected outcome :)

I remember this table, but the page is not very explicit in stating that the VRM types listed in the table are working or were tested in a VW 320. But maybe I misunderstand/stood it in the past, because the last sentence could as well be understood that way, i.e. that all VRMs conforming to VRM 8.3 or VRM 8.4 specifications are working for dual 1 GHz Pentium III in the VW 320. :?
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Hombre71 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:51 am

johnnym wrote:
Hombre71 wrote:According to this table:

http://www.frontlinemedia.de/sgi320/vrm.html

That the 20770 works is an expected outcome :)

I remember this table, but the page is not very explicit in stating that the VRM types listed in the table are working or were tested in a VW 320. But maybe I misunderstand/stood it in the past, because the last sentence could as well be understood that way, i.e. that all VRMs conforming to VRM 8.3 or VRM 8.4 specifications are working for dual 1 GHz Pentium III in the VW 320. :?


Just had a closer look at the mainboard, it has the stickly label and is
revision 117....B! 29-mar-1999 say the other sticker.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:

Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: My first 320

Unread postby Hombre71 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:00 am

johnnym wrote:
Irinikus wrote:
johnnym wrote:Say, could you have a look on the used VRM to check who manufactured it and what P/N it has?


The VRM in my machine is a: Celestica 073-20770-01 if this helps.

So a 073-20770-01 actually also works for the Visual Workstation 320 with dual CPUs installed. That's good to know. I remember that FlasBurn tried such a VRM in his VW 320 without luck - no stable SMP operation with Windows 2000 (not even during installation).

Do you have Windows 2000 installed on yours? And does it run stable for you?


The vrm in my 320 is a Celestica 073-20742-30 Rev:F
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest