Page 1 of 1

My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:09 pm
by scottE
So I've managed to bork X windows on my Indy, possibly by following these instructions here, but probably not to the letter.

So when I rebooted Helicoprion, I get the usual screens on startup, and then an unhelpful black frame once it logs into the user account.

I've been … away, so it's hard to remember what I can/should do at this point. So I tried fiddling with sash from the PROM Monitor. But I can't for the life of my figure out how to copy over the edited Xservers file with my backup, made just before I fiddled with stuff.

This would be easier if I could put it on a network, but I cannot in this case. I also do not have access to anything that could function as a dumb terminal (one of the things I was actually trying to do was get the Indy to have cu installed to fulfill that function, but I was distracted before I could get that to work).

So from the stand alone shell it's not:

Code: Select all

cp /var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup /var/X11/xdm/Xservers
or
cp dsk(0,1,0):/var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup /var/X11/xdm/Xservers
or
cp dsk(0,1,0):/var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup dsk(0,1,0):/var/X11/xdm/Xservers
or
cp dsk(0,1,0)|/var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup dsk(0,1,0)|/var/X11/xdm/Xservers
or
cp /var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup:dsk(0,1,0) /var/X11/xdm/Xservers


Or any variation thereof, and help in sash is really useless.

Anyone know how I can fix this?

Re: My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:30 pm
by Black Cardinal
Even if X isn't working, you should still be able to remotely log in over the network, or use the serial console. From a regular shell prompt shut down the Xserver with /usr/gfx/stopgfx, copy the backup files into place, and then restart X with /usr/gfx/startgfx.

Re: My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:19 pm
by scottE
Black Cardinal wrote:you should still be able to remotely log in over the network, or use the serial console.


Alas, neither of these are an option.

Re: My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:38 pm
by miod
Why not boot single user ("stop for maintainance" on powerup, then get a prompt and enter "single"), mount your disks, and cp from the single-user shell?

Re: My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:22 am
by scottE
miod wrote:Why not boot single user ("stop for maintainance" on powerup, then get a prompt and enter "single"), mount your disks, and cp from the single-user shell?


Perfect! Thank you! That solved the issue. (Though I didn't have to mount anything, just log in. And I used mv instead of cp.)

To be honest, I'd long forgotten that was even an option. But I've been trying to bring up Carcharodon, and I lack access to a terminal of any sort.