New octane does nothing

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby LarBob » Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:25 pm

uunix wrote:Seems we have run out of options, but is it the XBO or the MB?

Shame, you don't live close old chap, I have plenty of stuff to test.

It's a shame. Maybe I should just get a board like this one and try it like vishnu suggested?
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby uunix » Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:28 pm

LarBob wrote:
uunix wrote:Seems we have run out of options, but is it the XBO or the MB?

Shame, you don't live close old chap, I have plenty of stuff to test.

It's a shame. Maybe I should just get a board like this one and try it like vishnu suggested?

Doesn't state its worked or working?

As a thought, have you cleaned the XIO connectors?

How much money have you spent so far?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby LarBob » Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:23 pm

uunix wrote:
LarBob wrote:
uunix wrote:Seems we have run out of options, but is it the XBO or the MB?

Shame, you don't live close old chap, I have plenty of stuff to test.

It's a shame. Maybe I should just get a board like this one and try it like vishnu suggested?

Doesn't state its worked or working?

As a thought, have you cleaned the XIO connectors?

How much money have you spent so far?

Over 400 dollars so far...

edit: Okay, so I took it apart again and cleaned all of the connectors to no avail. Should I just try a new board or what? I'm kind of at a loss
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1384
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:08 am

I have a 1.3 XBOW I can sell for cheap, as I said. But I think you may have a bad MB here. Or bad RAM . I dunno.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby LarBob » Thu Jun 22, 2017 1:54 pm

Raion-Fox wrote:I have a 1.3 XBOW I can sell for cheap, as I said. But I think you may have a bad MB here. Or bad RAM . I dunno.

Thank you. :) I tried a different set of RAM. I think it might be a bad mainboard, it seems like the most likely thing to me (but I have no experience with these machines so I don't know). It would be kind of crappy to pay $75 for a mainboard on ebay and it not work...
I don't know what would be wrong with the xbow/frontplane, I would think it would be the mainboard. Would it be wise to try that first?
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1384
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:45 am

Yes, try that first.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby uunix » Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:11 am

What Colour are the skins on your Octane, Green or Blue?
[Edit] I think it's green by the looks in the video.

You sort of want to be careful about how much money this absorbs from you.

Since you have come this far though, you may as well go for a MB.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby LarBob » Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:46 am

uunix wrote:What Colour are the skins on your Octane, Green or Blue?
[Edit] I think it's green by the looks in the video.

You sort of want to be careful about how much money this absorbs from you.

Since you have come this far though, you may as well go for a MB.

So I should just go for that board? Alright. Thanks
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:14 am

LarBob wrote:
uunix wrote:What Colour are the skins on your Octane, Green or Blue?
[Edit] I think it's green by the looks in the video.

You sort of want to be careful about how much money this absorbs from you.

Since you have come this far though, you may as well go for a MB.

So I should just go for that board? Alright. Thanks

Did you ever manage to ohm out your serial cable? I'd do that before anything, just clip off the leg of a resistor and stick that into the sockets (since you said your ohmeter leads are too big to reach in there).
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby LarBob » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:59 pm

vishnu wrote:
LarBob wrote:
uunix wrote:What Colour are the skins on your Octane, Green or Blue?
[Edit] I think it's green by the looks in the video.

You sort of want to be careful about how much money this absorbs from you.

Since you have come this far though, you may as well go for a MB.

So I should just go for that board? Alright. Thanks

Did you ever manage to ohm out your serial cable? I'd do that before anything, just clip off the leg of a resistor and stick that into the sockets (since you said your ohmeter leads are too big to reach in there).

I just put a paperclip in pin 2 on one end and pin 3 on the other and it did work, pin 2 in one and pin 2 on the other and nothing... so it is a null modem cable. I guess the machine is just toast!
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:25 pm

LarBob wrote:I just put a paperclip in pin 2 on one end and pin 3 on the other and it did work, pin 2 in one and pin 2 on the other and nothing... so it is a null modem cable. I guess the machine is just toast!


That seems a reasonable conclusion, but the fact that the XIO indicator leds come up correctly would indicate that not everything is toast. :roll:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby LarBob » Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:27 pm

vishnu wrote:
LarBob wrote:I just put a paperclip in pin 2 on one end and pin 3 on the other and it did work, pin 2 in one and pin 2 on the other and nothing... so it is a null modem cable. I guess the machine is just toast!


That seems a reasonable conclusion, but the fact that the XIO indicator leds come up correctly would indicate that not everything is toast. :roll:

Well I meant the system board.. my bad. Poorly worded :P
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:14 pm

LarBob wrote:Well I meant the system board.. my bad. Poorly worded :P


Though I fear your machine is becoming the Oak Island of Octane restoration projects, there is still an 030-0887-005/B system module on Ebay for a measly 75 smackers...
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
LarBob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Kentucky, US

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby LarBob » Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:47 pm

vishnu wrote:
LarBob wrote:Well I meant the system board.. my bad. Poorly worded :P


Though I fear your machine is becoming the Oak Island of Octane restoration projects, there is still an 030-0887-005/B system module on Ebay for a measly 75 smackers...

I might get it, thanks.
:Octane: Aezora - 2xR10k 250 MHz - 1 GB RAM - 6.5.30

User avatar
Dalplex
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: New octane does nothing

Unread postby Dalplex » Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:52 am

Would you please measure the output from power supply, no matter what kind or brand, they should supply the same voltage for 5, 12. Etc.

When I had trouble of Indigo, I suffered similar struggle until I found the power supply would move out from the 24 pins socket whenever I pluged the powercord in. Once I seated properly, everything is okay.
:Indigo: :O2: :Octane: :Octane:


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kubatyszko and 3 guests