How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
EmpireAndrew
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: NYC, USA

How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby EmpireAndrew » Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:08 am

I have an R4400-150SC Indy running 6.5.22 and I have two external SCSI CD-ROM drives I can use:

1. Apple 600e which has stereo RCA jacks on the back. This would be my preferred choice.
2. An old TEAC in an external 4 bay enclosure so no audio jacks.

I used the TEAC to boot from CD do the install of Irix etc...

I burned an Audio CD, just a handful of tracks totalling 45 mins or so, no CD-TEXT or anything.
It plays fine in my modern Mac and PC.

But the Indy says it can't mount it, and both CDMan and CDPlayer report no media in drive, whether I use the TEAC or the Apple.

I knew I wouldn't get mp3 playback working on such an old processor (did try but it stutters badly), but I honestly thought Audio CD's would be easy enough.
I don't mind having to connect the speakers to the back of the Apple drive as I wasn't expecting the audio data to come down the SCSI cable.
But I can't get anything working.

Is this a compatibility issue with the two drives I have, in that Irix can't even send a play command to them for standalone operation?

Or is there some other app I should be using?

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby uunix » Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:12 pm

chkconfig .. do you have mediad, autofs, automount turned on? (I can't actually recall which of these would impact it).
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

EmpireAndrew
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: NYC, USA

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby EmpireAndrew » Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:54 pm

chkconfig -s reports mediad as being on.

autofs and automount aren't mentioned.

If I try and do chkconfig on for either of them it doesn't let me as it doesn't know about them?

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby uunix » Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:00 pm

I can test this out when I get back to work, in the meantime though, I have two FUELS, I've just thrown a JAM CD in and both recognized that there are audio Discs in as the icon changes (Internal drives I know, but just wanted to check).

Have you tried with a non-copied disc? IE Genuine?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

EmpireAndrew
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: NYC, USA

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby EmpireAndrew » Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:13 pm

I don't own any real CD's any more, I ripped them all then binned them before moving internationally...
I'll grab something from a thrift store tomorrow...

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3006
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:51 pm

What ripper software did you use? And what platform did you rip them on? I've never had a problem playing regular (i.e. commercially bought) audio CDs on my Octane using an external Teac but to the best of my recollection I've never tried playing a CD that had been ripped.
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

EmpireAndrew
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: NYC, USA

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby EmpireAndrew » Thu Mar 16, 2017 6:05 am

They were ripped to mp3, using iTunes on a Mac.
I burnt them back as Audio CD format using Toast Titanium 15 on a Mac.

The CD plays in an old real Cd player I have, plus on said Mac and a PC.

I seriously doubt the burnt CD is at fault, although it's a (weak) possibility the Apple 600e SCSI CD drive doesn't like burnt Audio CD;s (although it reads burnt data CD's just fine).

But I will try it with a real CD.

I still think the problem is Irix or the included CDPlayer program.
Or even more likely perhaps is that there is something I need that is not included in a standard 6.5.22m install.
This is a fres install on a new HDD via June(?) 98 6.5 and the 6.5.22 overlay.
install was "standard" and "prereqs".
That's it.

On later machines with internal CD drives (not that that should matter) what happens when you put an Audio CD in? Does Irix recognise it as such and mount the disc or is it only accessible via a special player?

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2584
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby dexter1 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:38 pm

Playing Audio CD's with an Indy will only work with external Toshiba/Pioneer SCSI CDROM/DVDROM drives with specific firmware which support Audio-over-SCSI. See for instance viewtopic.php?t=16719432
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :O200: :O2000: :Onyx2:

EmpireAndrew
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: NYC, USA

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby EmpireAndrew » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:05 am

I tried a real CD in it but it didn't work either.

I looked at that link and have a 305s drive on the way from eBay, we'll see if that works with audio over SCSI.
I had never expected audio over SCSI but that the SGI app would have just sent a play command to the drive for it to playback and decide itself to its own audio out RCAs but sadly not...

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3006
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: How to play Audio CD's on an Indy ?

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:19 pm

There are at least three HP A9879-67001 for sale on ebay right now, tempting! I know jan-jaap said playing DVD movies didn't work when he tried it in 2009, but if we could get a recent version of mplayer running on Irix, I wonder... :?
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests