My O2 can't see it's hard drive, but it claims to have 5 CD-ROMs

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

My O2 can't see it's hard drive, but it claims to have 5 CD-ROMs

Unread postby Dodoid » Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:56 am

Trying to get my O2 working today. I have tried it with a 36GB disk, and a 4GB disk, but it sees neither. Instead, it sees 4 CD-ROMs, along with my external CD-ROM drive. I hear that the fourth CD-ROM is the internal one, but how come there are 3 other ghost CD-ROMs, and my hard drive is nowhere to be seen? FX on the Installation Tools disc sees the CD-ROMs, but obviously can't partition them. Taking the hard drive out has no effect on the ghost CD-ROMs, nothing changes. What's going on?
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: My O2 can't see it's hard drive, but it claims to have 5 CD-ROMs

Unread postby uunix » Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:53 am

SCSI id ?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: My O2 can't see it's hard drive, but it claims to have 5 CD-ROMs

Unread postby Dodoid » Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:57 am

uunix wrote:SCSI id ?


That seems to be it. I took the CD drive out and now it boots. Will see if I can get it set up so that the CD drive can be in.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: My O2 can't see it's hard drive, but it claims to have 5 CD-ROMs

Unread postby foetz » Wed Aug 17, 2016 1:54 pm

Dodoid wrote:My O2 can't see it's hard drive, but it claims to have 5 CD-ROMs

so you have a cd-jbod o2, cool :D

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: My O2 can't see it's hard drive, but it claims to have 5 CD-ROMs

Unread postby Dodoid » Wed Aug 17, 2016 4:37 pm

uunix wrote:SCSI id ?


Hello! It works now, posting this from O2 right now. Hello from my O2. :O2:
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests