Can't Connect to Internet on O2

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
jmcollier

Can't Connect to Internet on O2

Unread postby jmcollier » Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:27 pm

So I'm fairly new to my O2 / Irix and I'm having some trouble connecting to the internet. I know a decent way around Unix systems, but not enough to manually set up Internet. I used the "Set Up and Start Networking" tool in the System Manager to set up the connection, using DHCP. I also made sure to add my two DNS servers using "Modify Networking Settings".

I then followed this guide http://software.majix.org/irix/network-setup.shtml to make sure everything was set correctly, I wasn't sure what to put for "Setting the default route", so I put the IP of my router, which is 192.168.2.1. I was able to ping other devices on my network, but I'm unable to connect to anything outside of my home network. Here's what I get when I startup.

Code: Select all

Configuring ec0 as IRIS
Network daemons: portmap.
Name services: nsd.
NFS Daemons: nfsd biod.
Other NFS daemons: statd lockd autofsd.
Internet daemons: inetd.
IP Addresss Configuration:
   Starting DHCP client on Primary interface ec0
No Gateways defined.
No DNS server defined.
No NIS servers defined.

It's says no dns server defined, but I quite clearly defined the two dns servers for my internet in /etc/resolv.conf. Could I be missing something else that I need to do?

foetz

Re: Can't Connect to Internet on O2

Unread postby foetz » Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:31 pm

don't use dhcp

uunix
Donor
Donor

Unread postby uunix » Tue Jul 12, 2016 12:52 am

I'll disagree a bit here with foetz, DHCP is fine, if your DHCP server is setup correctly, and you clear the existing stuff. Saying that, I've had many instances where it has forgot to set up the gateway.