Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby s0ke » Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:02 pm

So my Fuel has been chugging along nicely for that last few years. Minus the machine not keeping the date when its unplugged. A minor issue and I have been meaning to replace the dallas chip to fix that. However today I have no graphics on the machine. It boots up fine and I can ssh into, but zero shows up on the screen. I connected a serial cable to see the output:

Code: Select all

IP35 PROM SGI Version 6.210  built 02:33:51 PM Aug 26, 2004
Running in DDR mode
*** Skipping diags as requested by kernel
*** Diag level set to None (2)
Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
Copying PROM code to memory ...............             DONE
Discovering local IO ......................             DONE
Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........
Local hub NUMAlink is down.
*** Local network link down
DONE
Found 1 objects (1 hubs, 0 routers) in 30358 usec
Waiting for peers to complete discovery....             DONE
No other nodes present; becoming global master
Global master is /hw/rack/001/bay/01
Intializing any CPUless nodes..............             DONE
Checking partitioning information .........             DONE
No other nodes present; becoming partition master
Loading BASEIO prom .......................             DONE

BASEIO PROM Monitor SGI Version 6.210  built 02:30:38 PM Aug 26, 2004 (BE64)
1 CPUs on 1 nodes found.
Automatic update of PROM environment disabled
Installing PROM Device drivers ............
Base I/O Ethernet set to /dev/ethernet/ef0
Installing Graphics Console...
graphics install: searching for pipe 0

Walking SCSI Adapter 0, (pci id 1)
1+ Device Vendor Product: FUJITSU MAM3367MC
2- 3- 4- 5- 6- 7- 8- 9- 10- 11- 12- 13- 14- 15- = 1 device(s)


Walking SCSI Adapter 1, (pci id 1)
1- 2- 3- 4- 5- 6+ Device Vendor Product: TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-M1711
7- 8- 9- 10- 11- 12- 13- 14- 15- = 1 device(s)

Initializing PROM Device drivers ..........             DONE
odsy: frame buffer/fullscreen accum config causes oversubscription of sdram.
odsy: frame buffer/fullscreen accum config causes oversubscription of sdram.


I came across another reference to this in forum post: viewtopic.php?t=16725016. Down at the very bottom there was a link to another page that looked like a vpro replacement was needed.

Is there anything else I can look at? Or has my gfx board been done in.

Thanks
:Fuel: REFUSE
R16K 700: 2GB: V10: Noctua Fans

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4867
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby jan-jaap » Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:26 pm

s0ke wrote:

Code: Select all

odsy: frame buffer/fullscreen accum config causes oversubscription of sdram.

Sounds like a garbled configuration rather than a hardware problem. Did you try to reset the PROM variables and/or reset the graphics configuration, e.g. /usr/gfx/setmon 1280x1024_60
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby s0ke » Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:46 pm

Yes sir. Still just a black screen. I don't even get the boot splash screen anymore.

Found this in the SYSLOG:

Code: Select all

WARNING: odsy board 0: dma: o2p:2 csv:0x2


Not 100% what that means.

The plot thickens:

Code: Select all

Graphics diagnostics

Odyssey board #0 found on nasid 0
Running Odyssey xtalk sanity diag...
        Board version 1 - Buzz revision 2B
        On board sdram size: 32 Mb
        Cas latency: CAS 3
        4 banks by sdram module
Running Odyssey Buzz registers diag...
Device passed diagnostics

Installing PROM Device drivers ............
enet_ssram failed: Failed address walk test
RSLT enet_ssram     FAIL                diag_rc = 102 Failed address walk test
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00000 Recv: 01010
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00101 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00202 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00303 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00404 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00505 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00606 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00707 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00808 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00909 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00a0a Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00b0b Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00c0c Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00d0d Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00e0e Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00f0f Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 01010 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: IOC3 ssram test failed ....
enet_all: SSRAM test failed.
Base I/O Ethernet set to /dev/ethernet/ef0
Installing Graphics Console...
graphics install: searching for pipe 0
:Fuel: REFUSE
R16K 700: 2GB: V10: Noctua Fans

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4867
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby jan-jaap » Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:35 pm

s0ke wrote:Yes sir. Still just a black screen. I don't even get the boot splash screen anymore.

A 'resetenv' has reset the console to the serial port. A 'setenv console g' will fix that.

s0ke wrote:Found this in the SYSLOG:

Code: Select all

WARNING: odsy board 0: dma: o2p:2 csv:0x2


Not 100% what that means.

Me neither.

s0ke wrote:

Code: Select all

enet_ssram failed: Failed address walk test

This, on the other hand, is more serious. 'enet_ssram' is associated with the ethernet port. I had to toss an IO6G for an Onyx2 once which developed this problem. Of course in this case it's on the mainboard, but if the ethernet port is really cooked you can always install a gigabit ethernet card in a PCI slot. I even think I still have one of those ;)
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby s0ke » Sun Feb 21, 2016 3:21 pm

Thank you. I will attempt to reset it if I can get it back in working order again. Things seem to be gradually getting worse by the minute:

Code: Select all

SGI SN1 L1 Controller
Firmware Image B: Rev. 1.22.6, Built 08/07/2003 12:56:31


001a01-L1>
001a01-L1>
entering console mode  001a01 console, <CTRL_T> to escape to L1
Starting PROM Boot process
no response from  001a01 CPU0, system not responding
no response from  001a01 CPU0, system not responding


I'm going to re-seat everything and hope for the best.

So apparently my prom was fragged. After following this excellent post: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16727613&p=7359114&#p7359114. The system boots back up, but alas the gfx still doesn't work.

I ran the following:

Code: Select all

setenv console g


And I also set the gfx back to 1280x1024_60. And HUP X. Still black. Even tried a different monitor and nada. So while I'm bummed the gfx doesn't seem to work anymore, at least its not the entire board.
:Fuel: REFUSE
R16K 700: 2GB: V10: Noctua Fans

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby Trippynet » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:54 am

Reseating everything can be a good idea. My Fuel became increasingly flaky last year (at around the same time as the batteries were dying). Eventually, it started completely freaking out, failing to boot at times, randomly turning on and off, crashing whilst in use - often with weird graphical corruption, sometimes booting but not giving a display, etc.

After replacing both batteries, the sporadic behaviour continued. I then pulled it completely apart and reseated everything apart from the CPU. After putting it back together, it promptly fired up fine, and it's been running 100% rock solid for the last few months without a hiccup.

Of course, YMMV...
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby s0ke » Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:52 am

I will have to re-seat the vpro when I'm back home. I put my old fans back in as well after having swapped them for the Noctuas. Thinking that may have been the cause but didn't seem to matter at all.
:Fuel: REFUSE
R16K 700: 2GB: V10: Noctua Fans

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby Trippynet » Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:49 pm

It's possible that whilst installing them something may have been knocked/disturbed. Fuels can be finicky like this unfortunately. Hope you get it sorted and end up with a quiet and working Fuel! If you do replace the batteries, it's not too much of a faf - but do note the comments from others on here about it. I fully agree with jan-jaap's finding that a removal tool makes it a LOT easier to change them!
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5439
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby recondas » Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:56 pm

s0ke wrote:.....the machine not keeping the date when its unplugged.
Along with the other fixes suggested, I'd suggest putting replacing of the timekeeper on the top end of the to do list. The Fuel originally used an a ST M4T28-BR12SH1 Lithium timekeeper battery, but several here have successfully used the compatible/higher capacity ST M4T32. Details are available in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16728064&p=7363678&#p7363678
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby s0ke » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:21 am

Yes I have been meaning to fix it. It's generally not much of an issue as I usually leave the machine plugged in, but it recently made a move from the closet to under my desk.
:Fuel: REFUSE
R16K 700: 2GB: V10: Noctua Fans

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby s0ke » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:54 am

TOD chip replaced. So far system works fine (and keeps the date now :) ) but gfx still won't work. Only thing I see during boot:

Code: Select all

WARNING: odsy board 0: dma: o2p:2 csv:0x2


Code: Select all

enet_ssram failed: Failed address walk test
RSLT enet_ssram     FAIL                diag_rc = 102 Failed address walk test
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00000 Recv: 01010
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00101 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00202 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00303 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00404 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00505 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00606 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00707 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00808 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00909 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00a0a Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00b0b Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00c0c Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00d0d Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00e0e Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 00f0f Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: ssram address walk error. Exp: 01010 Recv: 2ffff
enet_ssram: IOC3 ssram test failed ....
enet_all: SSRAM test failed.


I have a gigabit ethernet card so I'm not as worried about that.

I guess I'm gonna have to bite the bullet and get another v10 or maybe the ebay gods will take pity on me and put a v12 in my path.

But is there any other troubleshooting I could do aside from swapping different parts? It just seems strange to me that the gfx pass the diags (not that the diags are worth much) and the system sees the card.
:Fuel: REFUSE
R16K 700: 2GB: V10: Noctua Fans

mopar5150
Posts: 535
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby mopar5150 » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:28 am

PM me your address and I will send you a V10 for the cost of shipping. $12
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:

User avatar
opcode
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby opcode » Wed Aug 10, 2016 8:24 am

I came for the tits but stayed for the fix! Now I need to know what happened! :)
:PrismDT: :Tezro: :Onyx2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :320: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Octane2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Fuel: :Fuel:
Stolen! :4D310: :Crimson:

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby s0ke » Mon Oct 03, 2016 11:53 am

Honestly I'm not sure but the new v10 fixed it right up.
:Fuel: REFUSE
R16K 700: 2GB: V10: Noctua Fans

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Re: Did my Fuel gfx go tits up?

Unread postby s0ke » Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:09 pm

Well hell. Now the front disk fan and gfx card fans stopped working. Is it possible for those pins to just die on the board?

Edit:
Thank god my Noctuas had some extra molex connectors bypassed the jumper on the board and connected directly to power :) all is well.
:Fuel: REFUSE
R16K 700: 2GB: V10: Noctua Fans


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest