DNS and Indy

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
marmotta
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 1:18 am
Location: Gambolò (Italy)
Contact:

DNS and Indy

Unread postby marmotta » Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:07 am

I have a strange issue... I have fresh installed Irix 6.5 in my Indy, configured all... Dns not work! I able to ping only ip address's, not names!

This is the situation:

-The problem is with ping, netscape ecc...
-My resolv.conf is ok and the nameserver is the ip of the router (i have custom nameserver on it)
-My nsswitch.conf is "Hosts = files dns"
-NIS is off
-Gateway is ok and is the same address of the dns server
-I tried to use google nameserver (8.8.8.8) without success

If I insert a ip address of one of my servers is ok, if I insert names... no. :cry:

I have another Irix machine, one Octane with 6.5.30 and dns resolution work without problems...

What I missed on the way?

marmotta
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 1:18 am
Location: Gambolò (Italy)
Contact:

Re: DNS and Indy

Unread postby marmotta » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:30 pm

Solved!

resolv.conf want domain or search path! But the GUI configuration don't add it.... I have inserted the search path and now is all ok ;-)


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest