Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:24 am

uunix wrote:The fact that you can see no user accounts with the top drive removed, may because the user login accounts profile/area is stored in the top drive?


I think that's the case. In any case, I'm off to try again. Thank you!

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4882
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby jan-jaap » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:24 am

From the Admin> menu in the photo, choose '6' (sh)

You now have a shell in the installer environment

You can chroot into the harddisk using:

Code: Select all

chroot /root /bin/sh

(this assumes the hard disk is mounted under /root)

Once you're chrooted into the system disk, issue

Code: Select all

passwd root

and change the password to your choice.

Type cntrl-D (or 'exit') twice and you're back in the 'Admin>' menu

Reboot the system and boot from hard disk.

Log in & enjoy

PS: Don't forget to create (and use!) a normal account for daily use.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:26 am

Okay, I found both passwd and shadow in the /root/etc/ directory. When I type in either of these, I get "permission denied"

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby uunix » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:35 am

Is vi available at that point?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:39 am

jan-jaap wrote:From the Admin> menu in the photo, choose '6' (sh)

You now have a shell in the installer environment

You can chroot into the harddisk using:

Code: Select all

chroot /root /bin/sh

(this assumes the hard disk is mounted under /root)

Once you're chrooted into the system disk, issue

Code: Select all

passwd root

and change the password to your choice.

Type cntrl-D (or 'exit') twice and you're back in the 'Admin>' menu

Reboot the system and boot from hard disk.

Log in & enjoy

PS: Don't forget to create (and use!) a normal account for daily use.


Perfect!

Thank you!

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby uunix » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:43 am

:D Hooray :D
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:54 am

And, I'm in! I ended up just resetting the passwords on existing accounts rather than creating new ones.

IMG_1718.jpg


Thank you all again for your help. I'll probably be coming back for help with the O2 :)

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby duck » Thu Jul 16, 2015 9:22 am

Excellent, now back up everything in /var/flexlm/ :-)
:Octane: halo, octane Image knightrider, d i g i t a l AlphaPC164, pond, soekris net6501, misc cool stuff in a rack
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby uunix » Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:38 am

and pm it to me for safe keeping ;)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby vishnu » Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:39 pm

With a cryptohash of its mac address, sgi serial number and the address of the manufacturing facility in Chippewa Falls Wisconsin... :lol:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby SAQ » Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:04 am

jan-jaap wrote:
noth wrote:Linux should be able to mount those XFS partitions and then you can aim john the ripper at the passwd file in last recourse. OS X can't mount XFS partitions.

Not necessarily.

Linux only understands the XFS v2 'on disk' format, the default since ~ IRIX 6.5.14. If these systems shipped from the factory with something older they will have the older on-disk format and Linux will not mount it, even if the Octanes currently run a more recent version of IRIX.


Bingo. Linux also does not properly recognize the IRIX logical volume managers if one of those are in use. Keep in mind that though XFSv2 was the big bump there have also been changes in 5.3+XFS->6.2 and 6.2->6.5, I've never used 6.3 or 6.4, but it wouldn't surprise me if they updated XFS a bit in each release, or at least 6.2 -> 6.(3,4) -> 6.5. XFSv2 was unusual in that it was the first big "intra-major-release" XFS update.

Regarding the comment about one being the "master" - it probably means that there are NFS, floating licenses or NIS services on it. It looks like licensing might have been touched on, but check out /etc/exports to see if there are exported NFS filesystems being served to the other boxes (Network Filesystem).
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest