Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:09 pm

Thanks-if I can located the 6.5 media, would I have a better chance of it working?

bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:09 pm

Thanks-if I can locate the 6.5 media, would I have a better chance of it working?

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby uunix » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:10 pm

Booting with 6.4 should allow you to mount the disk and remove the password.
Do you need instructions for this?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:11 pm

Probably so-I thought I'd found them online, but I can't seem to get anything I type to work.

I'm sorry to pester you all with what are probably simple questions.

bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:47 pm

Okay, found a 6.5 disk and booted off of it-it seemed to mount the HDDs fine.

robespierre
Posts: 1555
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby robespierre » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:52 pm

It's also possible that the 6.4 media (the miniroot on the 6.4 CDROM) doesn't understand the version of the filesystem that's on the boot disk. If you use new enough install media it should understand it fine.

you can use the "shell" option from the install program to get a prompt, and then "vi /root/etc/passwd" to edit the passwords.
You said you were familiar with OSX command line stuff, but I don't know if you also know vi; you can move the cursor to the letter after the first : in "root:...:0:0:..." and keep hitting x until you clear that field. (so it reads "root::0:0:..."
the cursor keys are hjkl
then type :wq to save and quit

However, if the first field after root is literally "x", then you need to edit /etc/shadow instead

With the root password cleared, you can boot "single" and then change the other accounts passwords with "passwd username"
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby uunix » Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:03 pm

So what was the outcome? Are you in?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby Geoman » Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:20 pm

http://www.felixnmr.com/requirements.htm


System Requirements
SGI: IRIX 6.5.19-6.5.24 on R10000 and higher
• Linux: Red Hat Enterprise Linux WS 2.1 and WS 3.0 on Intel Pentium III and higher (32-bit support only)
• Linux Graphics: NVidia Quadro4 980 XGL and Quadro4 FX1100 graphics cards using appropriate drivers from
NVidia
• Windows: Windows 2000 SP3 and SP4, XP SP1 and SP2 on Intel Pentium III and higher (32-bit support only)


Complementary Software
• NMR Refine DGII, NMR Refine Advanced, and NMR X-PLOR (all of which are Insight II modules that are available
only on SGI and not on Linux)

NMR Refine DGII provides an entry-level option into NMR refinement software with capabilities for generating
structures from NMR-derived distance and dihedral restraints.
NMR Refine Advanced expands the refinement capabilities found in NMR Refine DGII to include simulated
annealing and restrained molecular mechanics and dynamics (MD Schedule), refinement of NOE intensities
using hybrid-matrix approaches (IRMA), direct refinement of NOE volumes (NOE-MD), an interface to back-
calculating 2D NOESY crosspeak intensities (NOE Simulate), and a spreadsheet method of analyzing NMR-
related structural and dynamical molecular parameters (Query).
NMR X-PLOR streamlines the steps in structure determination of biomolecules using NMR derived data.
• CNX-NMR


8-)
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby uunix » Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:33 pm

:o
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:31 pm

uunix wrote:So what was the outcome? Are you in?

Not yet-haven't had another chance to "play" with it.

User avatar
zagnut
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 8:35 am

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby zagnut » Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:13 pm

I can't provide any insight, but nice to know I'm not the site n00b anymore. :D

Welcome to Neko Bunn....these folks are pretty cool and helpful.

Aaron

User avatar
noth
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:57 pm
Location: Lausanne

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby noth » Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:42 pm

Linux should be able to mount those XFS partitions and then you can aim john the ripper at the passwd file in last recourse. OS X can't mount XFS partitions.

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4881
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby jan-jaap » Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:54 am

noth wrote:Linux should be able to mount those XFS partitions and then you can aim john the ripper at the passwd file in last recourse. OS X can't mount XFS partitions.

Not necessarily.

Linux only understands the XFS v2 'on disk' format, the default since ~ IRIX 6.5.14. If these systems shipped from the factory with something older they will have the older on-disk format and Linux will not mount it, even if the Octanes currently run a more recent version of IRIX.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

bunnspecial
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby bunnspecial » Thu Jul 16, 2015 7:38 am

Okay, I apologize again for asking what are probably stupid and obvious questions, but I feel like I'm quite a bit out of my element on this one even though I'm not a complete Unix noobie.

I was able to boot from an Irix 6.5 disk and it was reported to me that the drives mounted okay. Here's where I'm stuck-I spent a bunch of time yesterday typing in commands and trying to find the password file, but couldn't get to it. I decided to start fresh, and would appreciate it if someone might be able to give me some guidance.

The OS is on drive 0(bottom bay), and as best as I can tell all the user accounts on drive 2(topmost bay). I know that when I pulled the top drive, I was prompted with a login scree with no accounts visible and also got an error about accounts not being found. The computer would not boot at all when the drive currently in bay 2 was put in bay 0 and the other drive removed completely.

IMG_1717.jpg


I'm just hoping that my "prize" from all of this work might be a(currently not working) O2.

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Trying to "Hack" Into an SGI Octane

Unread postby uunix » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:16 am

The user password file should be located on the root drive /etc/passwd & [/etc/shadow??]

You only need worry about the root password at first, since once logged in you can change all others.

The fact that you can see no user accounts with the top drive removed, may because the user login accounts profile/area is stored in the top drive?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest